Customer Reviews for

The Right Wrong Number: A Short Story

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun read.  Good story.  Now, I am ready for the next part of the

Fun read.  Good story.  Now, I am ready for the next part of the story.  Thank you for the free Nookbook!

posted by Queen100 on May 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This short story is a great fast read that any reader could enjo

This short story is a great fast read that any reader could enjoy while waiting for a simple doctor’s appointment. In a quick moment, Carly made a call that might change her life, I mean what women wouldn’t love the sound of a deep sexy voice belonging to a man. I know ...
This short story is a great fast read that any reader could enjoy while waiting for a simple doctor’s appointment. In a quick moment, Carly made a call that might change her life, I mean what women wouldn’t love the sound of a deep sexy voice belonging to a man. I know that I wouldn’t complain.  The Right Wrong Number describes the struggles that Carly must face in order to hear from this mystery sexy man once again. This short story was an easy read and could be finished in one setting. From the work introduced in this short story I would read more work created by Barbara Delinsky any day.  The Kindle version of this story also includes a preview to Sweet Salt Air. The only thing negative about this story is the length; I feel that this would have been an incredible romance novel if only Barbara decided to go on with their relationship. My rating 3 ½ stars! 

posted by thislittlebookworm on June 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Cute

    Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is probably the best short story I¿ve ever read! From the f

    This is probably the best short story I’ve ever read! From the first letter to the last I was glued to the words and was so wrapped up in the story that nothing broke my concentration.  Even though Carly and Charlie didn’t know each other, their conversation flowed smoothly and it sounded like they were perfect for each other. I loved the story line and even though the ending left me wanting more, I was more than glad I read it.




    I checked the reviews, and can’t understand why there are so many people complaining about this book. It clearly states it’s a short story and there are only 30 pages (there is actually a little more than that), plus it was free. Sure, I’d have liked for the story to go on so I can see how things went with them, but since I went in knowing it was short, I figured it would leave you wondering.




    The only thing that would make this short story better would be for the author to make this a full length novel. I can’t wait to check out her other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Good reading

    Loved the characters and how the story played out. I like happy endings:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Great short read

    Really enjoyed this book. Nice fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    This is a terrific short story about Carly who dials a wrong num

    This is a terrific short story about Carly who dials a wrong number and tells the person all about the company who wants to buy her business without realizing that she isn't talking to the friend she thought she called.  She has a great chat with Charlie of the wrong number, then drops her phone in a bucket of water, loosing the call and his number.




    Even though it is a fast read, I wouldn't recommend reading it while waiting for an appointment because you will hate to stop reading when it's your appointment time.




    Barbara Delinsky has a smooth writing style that clearly shows the reader the story.  While I would love to know more about Carly and Charlie, I also like letting my imagination fill in the rest of the story.  With what we already know about them and their lives, it isn't hard to do. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    I never read anything by Barbara Delinsky before, and saw that t

    I never read anything by Barbara Delinsky before, and saw that the Wrong number was free so I decided to give it a chance. I loved it. And I love that it included excerpts from Sweet Salt Air. I was so engrossed. I definitely want to buy it now and continue reading it and buy Barbara's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Short story.

    Very short story of romance with a twist of mystery. A quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Enjoyed reading but, it was too short. I recommended this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Ok

    20 pages, and it could have been longer...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Loved it - Too short

    Loved it, but left me wanting more. Please don't leave us hanging and give us more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Cute

    Nice quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Needed to be longer

    This was a really good book but the ending left you hanging. Hope there is more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Okay

    This e book is split between a short story and a book excerpt. The book excerpt was longer than the short story. Character development was excellent but I found the beginnings of both books to be overly detailed and I had a hard time getting into the stories. Once I started to get interested, the short story suddenly ended. The excerpt seemed like it was headed in a predictable direction and didn't draw me in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Only fifteen pages long. The rest of the 57 pages are "filler."

    WARNING!!! Only 15 pages of story. The rest of the 57 pages is "filler". Consists mostly of a phone conversation between strangers, when one of them dials a wrong number. I was so disappointed, I thought this was one of Delinsky's novels. Not only was it short, it was't very good.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Great story - extremely short

    Excelent plot and character developement for a story that is so very short. Easily invested in the story but it felt more like the end of the first few chapters than the end of the story. I would love to see it developed into a coplete novel with this serving as part one. Still worth the read as a stand alone, so long as it remains free. Too short to spend money on but a lot of fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Cute short story

    It is a cute fluff story, 56 pages long. The ending made me smile even though it was cheesy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Good story

    Good sotry. Wish it was a longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Ok

    I was kind of disappointent should have been longer it was ok though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4