Customer Reviews for

The Ring Bear

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    Ring Bear

    Wow, what a fun and insightful story! My kids love it. The illustrations are outstanding-- striking and whimsical, they add depth the story. Not that the story needs it. It speaks to how children need time, support, love and imagination to deal with difficult changes, and how given those aids, they can come through with strength and resilience. It has as much to say to adults as to children. This is the second picture book by David Slater on my shelf, and I hope he has many more on the way soon! He teaches valuable lessons with humor and suspense, without being the slightest bit preachy. The Ring Bear gets an A+ from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    Fabulous!

    Avast ye mateys! Join Captain Westley (the Wicked) on his voyage of adventure when he finds, to his great dismay, that his mother has plans to re-marry. Rollicking dialogue, masterful wit, and vivid illustrations take you on the voyage from Westley's reluctance to the eventual acceptance of this new pirate in his life. A must for any school library or family entering into a new marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    Ring Bear

    This is an amazing book. In a visually stirking way, the author has externalized a boy¿s struggle to deal with an impending family change. In Westley¿s eyes, he transforms into a rascally bear (i.e. he grows hair to fend off an intruding male). The layers are dizzying, but irrelevent to children, of course, who will simply love this story. Watch how Mom averts total disaster with an act of compasion so brilliantly illustrated by her first appearance in Westely¿s imaginative world. And watch Stan, the step-father-to-be getting on-board at the very last moment, quelling the mutiny once and for all. I expect both this author and illustrator are on the cusp of a major breakthrough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    A BEARY GREAT BOOK!!

    This book is an absolute gem. It's touching and sweet, and delivers a nuanced message¿but from inside an imaginative interior adventure story that will capture the attention of the most demanding child readers. I expect every single parent ready to re-marry to rush out to grab this book to help ease the transition for their children, but they better get in line behind us the rest of us who just want a beautiful book for our kids. The illustrations are stunning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Ring Bear

    The Ring Bear gently and humorously shows a young child's confused and angry feelings about his mother's remarriage. It wonderfully portrays how the child only knows that he feels angry. He acts out his anger because the feelings are too complex for him to put into words. Great book for children, parents and therapists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    Ahoy matteys!

    A cute story that shows how easily children misinterpret what they hear. Children will connect with the pirate theme, the play on words and the rascally bear that Westley becomes. Delighful illustrations that reflect all of the emotions that Westley and his family go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Ring Bear

    I find it extremely important to buy books that not only entertain the little people in my life, but myself as well! David Slater's second book, The Ring Bear, is another excellent example of his ability to portray easily relatable experiences in an insightful and humorous manner, satisfying both children and adults. The Ring Bear and Cheese Louise now reside on my shelf, so when's the next one comming out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    Outstanding

    Having had first hand experience with the peculiar joys and challenges of being a step parent, I highly recommend this latest work by David Slater. The deft humor and perceptive insight into the world as seen through a child's eyes makes this fun reading even if you are not now or in the future considering step parenthood. Kudos also to SG Brooks for delivering in every way on the complexity offered by Slater's text. Slater has a great knack for delivering positive life lessons in a humorous way so that his work is both entertaining and educational. His first book, 'Cheese Louise', is one of the funniest picture books I've ever read but it also contained a charming message about self confidence. The Ring Bear also has genuine humor in it, but at the same time offers important insights on what can be very difficult times for both children and parents. The Ring Bear immediately assumes status as The Book to buy for a child whose parent is getting married. For parents, it is a great reminder of what the world looks like from a child's perspective. I know it has become a favorite around our house and I can't wait to see what Slater comes up with next. Whether for your own children or as a gift for someone else you will be glad you bought this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1