Customer Reviews for

The Rise of Nine (Lorien Legacies Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 628 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(475)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

CAN'T WAIT!!!!

I've read the first 2 books in this series, and I simply love them. The Rise of Nine is going to EPIC.

posted by 18556300 on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

The reviews heretofore predate the novel's release. Fans of the

The reviews heretofore predate the novel's release. Fans of the series,
including me, expected a lot of Rise of Nine. It fell well short of my
expectations. Gone is the heroism of the lead character John Smith; he
spends much of the book brooding and getting bullied by ...
The reviews heretofore predate the novel's release. Fans of the series,
including me, expected a lot of Rise of Nine. It fell well short of my
expectations. Gone is the heroism of the lead character John Smith; he
spends much of the book brooding and getting bullied by the title
character. "Nine" lacks the noble qualities of the other
Lorien--he expresses contempt for humans and argues that the Loriens
should abandon their princiipa human allly. I'm not sure how he rises in
keeping with the title. My major criticisms of this installment center
on poor character development, a plot that, for all the excitement
doesn't get very far, the disappearance of my favorite character Sam
from the story, and an ending that doesn't wind the story down. Indeed
the book doesn't end as much as the author simply broke off writing
without fallling action. Rise of Nine conspicuously lacks the epic
qualities that make the series so appealling. The fourth novel in the
series will have to carry extra weight to make up for the slightness of
this installment. Can the author bring back the soaring quallity of the
first two novels, or will the characters and action remain stuck in a
rut? I'll await the fourth book eagerly, but if it is more like the
third than the first, more discerning readers will move on to
better-written series.

posted by Southender on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Audio: There were three narrators for this book. Only one did a

    Audio:
    There were three narrators for this book. Only one did a good job. Neil Kaplan voiced John. He made him sound like a complete whiner. Okay, okay...John is somewhat of a whiner but not all the time. He has his moments of strength and valor and I heard none of that come through in Kaplan's narration. It was John's chapters that also included Nine. Nine I think could be a great character but again Kaplan's narration failed miserably for me. Nine was made to sound like a doped up surfer 'dude'. I cringed most of the times his character spoke.


    Marisol Ramirez narrated Six's chapters. I love Six, I think she is the best character in this series. However, Ramirez botched the reading. Her inflection was completely off and none of the feistiness of Six was heard.


    On the other hand, Devon Souvari who voiced Marina did quite a good job. Subsequently, her chapters became my favorites.


    Story:
    The story on The Rise of Nine is exactly what I've come to expect from the Lorrian Legacies. It was action packed with just the right amounts of sentiment and snark and, of course, cheesiness.

    It picks up with John and Nine roaming away from the Mogodorian base and Six heading back from Spain with her new companions.


    We learn much more about Nine, Marina and Ella and are introduced to yet another member of the Garde. And what a fun addition to this eclectic family he is. The dynamics between Garde members was entertaining to read (hear). They are so much like siblings, bickering and bantering, but when the fighting starts they are like a cohesive unit. New legacies are discovered, new friendships formed and a new determination is solidified amongst them all.


    I hate giving away spoilers and this is a difficult book to review without giving anything away, so I will keep it short. If your a fan of the series, you won't be disappointed by this edition.



    All that being said, I will not be continuing this series via audiobook. I feel like I missed a lot by not reading it. Lesson learned on this one.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Whens the projected release.

    Hopefully soon?

    6 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Eh

    This book didnt impress me as much as the others did it wasnt suspensful, it was just kind of boring in the end. The new author didnt send any good messages through tthis book. It was all just kind of predictable theyfound no chimera and no number five which highly disappointed me
    Dont get me wrong this book was good. But i was just quite disappointed in the new author.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    This was totally not what i expected and was not as good as the other books in the series. Didnt keep me at the edge of my seet. Its not completely boring just not that exciting. Plot was not well developed.

    Most of the book was spent by describing them traveling to their destination and fighting with magadorians. Other problems in this nook were barely touched or expanded on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Decent

    Not as good as the last one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    The Rise of Nine sank to 3rd place

    the first book in the trilogy was a great teen read, the second one much more complicated, but still fun. this one was a bit disappointing, obviously dashed off to continue the series. no depth of personalities, just shoot-em-up type storyline. :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    The Rise Of Nine

    This book was confusing. One chapter would be narrated by 4, then the next by 6 or 7. I didnt like it.
    Nine cusses A LOT. Those parts were terrible, in my opinion.
    The other two books are better.
    Thanks for reading,
    Jonathan Moon

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Well i guess

    I mean nine was funny but overall not that great and if another book is not coming out then i feel like this series is not that great but overall it was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Not what I was excpecting

    I was goof but not what I thought the third book would be like the first two were amazing this one was a totale let down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    To beaver1220

    The 4 book is fall of 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Ravenwing

    Thats ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Thought this was a good continuation of the series. Brings the

    Thought this was a good continuation of the series. Brings the guards of Lorian together. Thought they drug it out a bit and could have put a little more toward the plot. Over all not a bad read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Question

    Should i get it? Im 9 years old and ny sister is 17 she wont like it. I really wanno though....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    This series is very creative and has a good story line, but the

    This series is very creative and has a good story line, but the author is inconsistent. I am number four was okay, it had lots of funny things that I enjoyed. The power of six was AMAZING one of the best books that I have ever read! It got me so excited For. The next book  I was sorely disappointed. The writing seemed immature and I had trouble holding my attention to it. I found it funny that the power of six was so full of swear words and this one had not a single bad word. Definitely not a bad thing, but funny. Hope the next one is as good as the power of six!  But I'm sure not going to buy it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Great ending...

    I was leery to read this one after the last one disappointed me so much. It started off slow, but as the characters developed fully, and the action gained full momentum, the storyline became quite addicting. I love the premise of these books and the mystery that the author cloaks him/herself in. A very fun read and a nice surprise after the Rise of Six's disappointing show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    There were too many points of view to keep track of who was spea

    There were too many points of view to keep track of who was speaking and the ending or lack thereof was disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    it was okay

    There were some things I didn't like to well about this book....it never really finished the story. It puts on make believe and want you to really believe its true. Then they publish side books to fill in some of the parts not told in the 3 main books. It was really frustrating but the story and characters kept me trying. Loved the story to it, just wish it was put together better and less confusing. The ending just stopped in the middle of the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Fair, not as good as the first two

    The writing was fair, the relationships were superficial, the dialogue contrived, the plot thin and predictable, I kept finding myself putting it aside and having to force myself to keep reading to be faithful to the previous two books. Then it left us hanging for another installment rather than bringing it to closure, which it easily could have.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Good book!

    I enjoyed reading this book. I was disapointed inthe fact that #5 was never introduced. I thught the ending was left wide open. And why does it take so long for the next book to come out?
    I enjoy the series, but this was the worst of them all!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Having been with 4 and the other Garden since Paradise i thoroug

    Having been with 4 and the other Garden since Paradise i thoroughly look forward to each installment of the series. Rise of Nine did not disappoint!

    The POV of this book jumped around alot more then the previous two which is to be expected as we are now following the journey from more and more perspectives, not to mention continents. With other books i usually find this to be a distraction that can leave me dreading reading more of the story, but i didn't have that with this book. I found that the characters had a group goal and as that was their main drive the POV offered another set of eyes and another set of feelings which only drew me deeper in to the story.

    My only real issue with the book is Number Nine, boy is he irritating. Having said that i think it is a plus for the character development that i found him so irritating. He certainly isn't a wooden distraction, he is a flesh out character created to be the irksome one of the Garde.

    Throughout the book I found myself yelling outloud, verge of tears, and even wanting to reach in a slap certain characters. This is by far the best Lorien book to date. I didn't want it to end. Yes i wanted to finish the book, but part of me feared this would be the end of the Garde on Earth. I'm giving nothing away in saying i CAN'T wait for book 4.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3