BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Rise of Nine (Lorien Legacies Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 630 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(476)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

CAN'T WAIT!!!!

I've read the first 2 books in this series, and I simply love them. The Rise of Nine is going to EPIC.

posted by 18556300 on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

The reviews heretofore predate the novel's release. Fans of the

The reviews heretofore predate the novel's release. Fans of the series,
including me, expected a lot of Rise of Nine. It fell well short of my
expectations. Gone is the heroism of the lead character John Smith; he
spends much of the book brooding and getting bullied by ...
The reviews heretofore predate the novel's release. Fans of the series,
including me, expected a lot of Rise of Nine. It fell well short of my
expectations. Gone is the heroism of the lead character John Smith; he
spends much of the book brooding and getting bullied by the title
character. "Nine" lacks the noble qualities of the other
Lorien--he expresses contempt for humans and argues that the Loriens
should abandon their princiipa human allly. I'm not sure how he rises in
keeping with the title. My major criticisms of this installment center
on poor character development, a plot that, for all the excitement
doesn't get very far, the disappearance of my favorite character Sam
from the story, and an ending that doesn't wind the story down. Indeed
the book doesn't end as much as the author simply broke off writing
without fallling action. Rise of Nine conspicuously lacks the epic
qualities that make the series so appealling. The fourth novel in the
series will have to carry extra weight to make up for the slightness of
this installment. Can the author bring back the soaring quallity of the
first two novels, or will the characters and action remain stuck in a
rut? I'll await the fourth book eagerly, but if it is more like the
third than the first, more discerning readers will move on to
better-written series.

posted by Southender on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 476 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    CAN'T WAIT!!!!

    I've read the first 2 books in this series, and I simply love them. The Rise of Nine is going to EPIC.

    48 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book. Surprised that number 8 was a boy. Hope 4 can forget

    Great Book. Surprised that number 8 was a boy. Hope 4 can forget sarah though.

    37 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG!!!!!!!

    I cannot wait im SO FLIPPEN EXITED!!!!!!

    36 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Please make it fast

    Waiting sucks

    28 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Oh yes;)

    Im so pumped to read this book!!!

    21 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Im have a spaz atack i just cant wait for this book!!!!

    Wooooooohoooooooo books are fun

    19 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    AHHHHHH

    Cant wait!!!!!!!

    19 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    can wait for this book !!!

    I can't wait 4 this book-

    14 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    I CAN'T WAIT!

    I CAN'T WAIT! IT IS A TOTALLY AWESOME BOOK! OMG!

    12 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Movie?

    Are they making a movie off the power of six and the rise of nine? Cuz i am number four was great!

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    FAVORITE BOOK IN THE SERIES!!!!!!!

    This book was absolutely my favorite in the series and maybe my favorite book Iv'e ever read! There was so much action ans suspense throughout the entire thing book. I really liked how the Garde really came together and tested their strength against all the Mogadorian soldiers and there leader. They almost didn't make it through but they pulled it together to make a stand. There were many challenges with coming together but they made sure that they made it. This book was over all an amazing installation in the series and i am very excited to read the rest of the series when they come out!!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Elder

    Pittacus is the main elder on the other planet. So she should be able to make the release date of the rise of nine sooner!

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Hi

    This book is, so far, my favorite. All the the chapters are action packed and full of suspense. And I can't wait to finish it and read the next three books when they come out! This series is pretty amazing. I usually don't read scifi or books with aliens, but these books are so different from the few cifi books I've read. I'd reccomend this to teens who don't or do like scifi.

    P.S. To the person who said it was a new author, it's not. There were two authors, James Frey and Jobie Hughes, who wrote I Am Number Four amd The Power of Six. Now it's just James Frey.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    I ALSO WROTE "SO FREAKIN' AWESOME!!!"

    We still have a long tjme to wait though. Chows! $_$

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    I Read The Boooks

    I thought the "The Rise of Nine" was so cool. I read all three books and I'm waiting for the next book because the author left me on a really bad cliff hanger that makes you think " No don't end yet tell me more"! This has been the best book i have ever read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Best book ever

    I just got bone the book and my jaw droped!!!!!!! I was so shocked and amazed at how good this book was. I read all three and this was by far the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It had so much action and it left me on the edge if my seat. When i got to the last chapter t i was screaming just wanting to find out what happed.
    The caracters in this book are so well put together it is to hard to decided which one you like. This book is by far the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you like to read you would love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Rise of nine

    This book is down right the best book ive ever read. Better than the power of 6 by a long shot. Great read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    My eyes were glued to this book!

    I am a huge fan of Pittacus Lore's books. I just completed reading "The Rise of Nine" and am hapopy to know that this book is not the last one, but I am also at the edge of my seat wondering what will happen next.

    I am a Soldier in the U.S. Army and so I can relate to fighting an enemy, but nothing as exciting as these books. Great book!!! I had to fight myself to put it down and get some sleep. I won't tell the story of what happens but it kept me glued to the pages of my Nook from cover to cover. I hope us the FANS will not have to wait another year for the next book, but I will.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Let me read this book already!

    Come on and let me read this book already! The suspense is killing me!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    COOL

    I will give 5 bucks to the person that uses all 3500 characters
    (not really)

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 476 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24