Customer Reviews for

The Rising (Darkness Rising Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

Ive read The Darkest Powersvand The Darkest Rising and fell in love with both series.
I literally squealed when i read the reapperance of Chloe and Derek(my boyfriend still teases my about that)because i just loved them.
I will admit that the ending was a little disappo...
Ive read The Darkest Powersvand The Darkest Rising and fell in love with both series.
I literally squealed when i read the reapperance of Chloe and Derek(my boyfriend still teases my about that)because i just loved them.
I will admit that the ending was a little disappointing and rushed. I mean after sometime of running,from both groups,they just gave up so easily. That didnt make any sense to me,but im understanding why they did.
And also how Maya switched from Rafe to Daniel was not really surprising but rather shocking. It was predictable she'd be with Daniel in the end,but it happened a little too fast for my liking.
I hope Kelley will continue to write for this series because neither me nor the series are done yet. Im not ready for it to be over with because the ending left me hanging. The series cant be finished yet because their story cannot end with them as prisoners,they all need to fight back for their freedom,and i want to be able to read through their most exciting battle.

posted by 17673714 on April 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I've read all of Kelley Armstrong's Otherworld books and short s

I've read all of Kelley Armstrong's Otherworld books and short stories. I loved the Darkest Powers series and fell in love with the characters. I was excited for the Darkness Rising series but found that the first book fell flat. The second one was great so I was exceed...
I've read all of Kelley Armstrong's Otherworld books and short stories. I loved the Darkest Powers series and fell in love with the characters. I was excited for the Darkness Rising series but found that the first book fell flat. The second one was great so I was exceedingly excited for the the third one but this one too fell flat.

To be honest it felt like Ms. Armstrong had already given up on the series. There was no more character development so the characters seemed completely transparent. Some of the main characters didn't seem to have many lines. The character Ash was a total waste of time acting like an immature 8 year old and really not developing anymore through out the book. There was no steady setting and the author seemed to not really care how it ended as long as it did. The final solution was a total cop out and in the original series no one would have gone along with it. But now everyone simply nodded their heads said "That seems logical even though it goes against everything we've done in the previous books so uh...let's just do that." I was excited for the meet up between the two series characters but it was short and the original characters didn't act or even seem like themselves. I felt no personal connection to any of the characters in this book. Even ones that I had liked before. Live or die I didn't really care because it was like reading about cardboard cutouts.

This seems harsh but I'm simply being honest. I love love love Ms. Armstrong's work and The Darkest Powers serious was fantastic and so fast paced I suppose I was just very disappointed when this book didn't live up to her name. It honestly felt like she'd just given up and wanted to get it over with. I'm not saying don't read it. If you've read the Darkest Powers and/or the Darkness Rising series go for it. You'll want to see how it ends. Just don't expect a very satisfying end. I literally finished the book and went "That's it?" The book felt like it should have been #2 in the series. Put the first and the second book together made this the second then finish with another installment. I kept waiting for it to feel like the end, the final showdown like it was in The Reckoning but it never quite got there. The book skipped around from place to place never really finding where it belonged or the setting it needed to stay in. The relationships weren't great. The final explanation for Maya's feelings was just ridiculous. I'm sorry maybe you disagree that's fine but I thought that again it was a cop out. Like I said it's not a bad book but it didn't live up to expectations. It's worth a read especially if you've read her previous YA books or even her Women of the Otherworld series (which I seriously suggest if you haven't). I was just hoping for something more. It took me a while to finish it because it never really turned into a page-turner.

posted by K_Fancy on April 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    A must read!

    Ive read The Darkest Powersvand The Darkest Rising and fell in love with both series.
    I literally squealed when i read the reapperance of Chloe and Derek(my boyfriend still teases my about that)because i just loved them.
    I will admit that the ending was a little disappointing and rushed. I mean after sometime of running,from both groups,they just gave up so easily. That didnt make any sense to me,but im understanding why they did.
    And also how Maya switched from Rafe to Daniel was not really surprising but rather shocking. It was predictable she'd be with Daniel in the end,but it happened a little too fast for my liking.
    I hope Kelley will continue to write for this series because neither me nor the series are done yet. Im not ready for it to be over with because the ending left me hanging. The series cant be finished yet because their story cannot end with them as prisoners,they all need to fight back for their freedom,and i want to be able to read through their most exciting battle.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    I've read all of Kelley Armstrong's Otherworld books and short s

    I've read all of Kelley Armstrong's Otherworld books and short stories. I loved the Darkest Powers series and fell in love with the characters. I was excited for the Darkness Rising series but found that the first book fell flat. The second one was great so I was exceedingly excited for the the third one but this one too fell flat.

    To be honest it felt like Ms. Armstrong had already given up on the series. There was no more character development so the characters seemed completely transparent. Some of the main characters didn't seem to have many lines. The character Ash was a total waste of time acting like an immature 8 year old and really not developing anymore through out the book. There was no steady setting and the author seemed to not really care how it ended as long as it did. The final solution was a total cop out and in the original series no one would have gone along with it. But now everyone simply nodded their heads said "That seems logical even though it goes against everything we've done in the previous books so uh...let's just do that." I was excited for the meet up between the two series characters but it was short and the original characters didn't act or even seem like themselves. I felt no personal connection to any of the characters in this book. Even ones that I had liked before. Live or die I didn't really care because it was like reading about cardboard cutouts.

    This seems harsh but I'm simply being honest. I love love love Ms. Armstrong's work and The Darkest Powers serious was fantastic and so fast paced I suppose I was just very disappointed when this book didn't live up to her name. It honestly felt like she'd just given up and wanted to get it over with. I'm not saying don't read it. If you've read the Darkest Powers and/or the Darkness Rising series go for it. You'll want to see how it ends. Just don't expect a very satisfying end. I literally finished the book and went "That's it?" The book felt like it should have been #2 in the series. Put the first and the second book together made this the second then finish with another installment. I kept waiting for it to feel like the end, the final showdown like it was in The Reckoning but it never quite got there. The book skipped around from place to place never really finding where it belonged or the setting it needed to stay in. The relationships weren't great. The final explanation for Maya's feelings was just ridiculous. I'm sorry maybe you disagree that's fine but I thought that again it was a cop out. Like I said it's not a bad book but it didn't live up to expectations. It's worth a read especially if you've read her previous YA books or even her Women of the Otherworld series (which I seriously suggest if you haven't). I was just hoping for something more. It took me a while to finish it because it never really turned into a page-turner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    urghgh!!!! Seriously, anonymous, april 15, 203 person!!! I was g

    urghgh!!!! Seriously, anonymous, april 15, 203 person!!! I was going to read the book, you didn't hav 2 give it away!! ughhhhhhh! U suck

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Finally having a chance to end the series, I¿m very happy with t

    Finally having a chance to end the series, I’m very happy with the way that it ended.
    First off, the plot dives right back in where the last book left off. Action-packed and lots of fun, the author did a great job in closing up all loose ends and  making the plot work. There is even some surprise guest ( characters from the first series) that I was very happy to see. To see them all come together, connecting pieces and of course kicking butt, I totally loved it!
    The love interest, I was very interested in since I wasn’t sure which way it could go. Both guys are very good to her and to be honest I think any of them would be worthy of her. Her choice in the end, is a good one. I’m happy that Maya made the right choice for her and didn’t allow others to sway her choice. The ending is a very good happily ever after that I am absolutely satisfied  with.
    The Rising is a great ending to one great series. It steps out of the box, capturing the reader and taking them for a great reading adventure.  An awesome story, The Rising is wonderful!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Soooo, please answer !!!

    So who ends up with who!?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    A good ending to a very entertaining trilogy

    I believe that Kelley Armstrong knew what she was building us up to the entire time, and that she ended it well. I would've changed some details, but the way she did it was acceptable. It really just depends on which guy you were rooting for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    I'm giving this BOOK a lower rating not the SERIES. I loved the

    I'm giving this BOOK a lower rating not the SERIES. I loved the other books in the series and felt the story was really building up to a great ending. I bought the book way in advance and read it in one night. I didn't care for the way the series ended and the sudden (and I mean sudden) switch of love interest. It all felt rushed and at the end your scratching your head going Really! Serious! a Compromise?! It fell flat. I really would have liked to see an ending that matched the great writting in the first three books. I would tell people to read the Darkest Powers and the first book in the Darkness Rising series and just get the last two from the library. However, I do LOVE the authors books and would recommend her to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great, fast-paced, wonderful conclusion to the two trilogies. T

    Great, fast-paced, wonderful conclusion to the two trilogies. The ending could have been a couple of chapters longer though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Hilema Rafe Lover!!!!!!!""

    Omg these are the best series ever if you like romance and action you need to read this book. Rafe and Derek are my favorite characters i love rafe because of his happy go lucky attitude. And love Derek because of the way he protects Chloe and his attitude towards everything. Ya'll should read this series!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Good but not great

    Ending felt a bit too rushed and with the introduction of several new characters more than halfway through, I had a hard time wondering why we should care. The whole compromise thing felt out of character, as well as Mya's relationship choice at the end. Although sweet, it was a bit unexpected. Other than that, still a good series but I feel like there could have been more here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Good. And bad. And wonderful. And horrible.

    I absolutely love this book, and the rest of thseries, and also its companion trilogy, Darkest Powers. But the Rising had such an unexpected and heartbreaking ending for me. I dont want to spoil it for anyone, but i want to express how disapointed and just plain sad I am. It skipped through so much too speedy about everything. I just always counted on this series, and in the end, it let me down. But i still definitely recomend that anyone who has read the other books, should read this one. They might like the outcome better than I did. And even with whhat im saying, i finished the book all in one day. Although all these things i dont like happened all at the end, way too fast. Ive heard that kelley Armmstrong is going to write another trilogy, based on the same characters, amd i am sooo excited about that, but im afraid i wont be able to handle the new way of things.
    Read it though, if anyone is like me, they may cry a lot, but so you will regret it if you dont read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    I love this book of how they went through to find Chole, Derek,

    I love this book of how they went through to find Chole, Derek, and the rest. However, I gave 4 stars because the end seemed rushed.
    Throughout the series Maya and Rafe are getting together and become boyfriend and girlfriend (kind of) then all of the sudden near the end she realizes she actually liked Daniel. Not only that they give in at the end when they've been running this whole time. It seems too easy, to be wrapped up into one book.
    Other than that it's a very good book and I recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Amazing, absolutely amazing!

    I've read The Darkest Powers series and I loved it. At the start of The Gathering, I wasnt sure how I felt about the new characters, but after reading The Calling I knew I liked the series. I purchased The Rising the day it came out and just finished it, I couldnt put it down. The characters were great, the ending really answered any unanswered questions, and it left a possibility for another book in the future. I hope Kelley Armstrong keeps writing, I love the two series and I reccomend them to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Hell yeah

    I was waiting to read this book the last book in the darkest powers trilolgy i think their can possibly be another series that connect the series like they did with the other series baecause it left off with the series saying long road ahead and its only the start or something like that so its possible to have another book for the series cant wait loved every page from word to word

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    I loved it, this book didn't disappoint! I loved the ending too!

    I loved it, this book didn't disappoint! I loved the ending too!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think when people finish the book for some its going to be bittersweet, but I loved it. The way that Kelley Armstrong wrote it she gradually and subtly tied up all the loose ends in the book and achieved the ending she did. I would love it if she happened to write another novel that takes place a few years after this ending, just for fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    The bomb diggedy

    This book is amazing hands down. I recomend tgis book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Jaybreeze

    I can't find camp!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Darkness

    Result 10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Redstars warrior den no bloodclanners

    U can kiss my as<_>s fu<_>ckers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Amazing book!!!!!!!

    I love this ,book, and all the auther's books in the young adult books I love the ending but want to see the battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3