Customer Reviews for

The Risk Agent

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

For this reader, Ridley Pearson is an author whose books I pick

For this reader, Ridley Pearson is an author whose books I pick up without even glancing at the flyleaf. I enjoy his writing and just know I'm in for a good read.
The Risk Agent is Pearson's latest release.

The American firm of Rutherford Risk specializes in 'extract...
For this reader, Ridley Pearson is an author whose books I pick up without even glancing at the flyleaf. I enjoy his writing and just know I'm in for a good read.
The Risk Agent is Pearson's latest release.

The American firm of Rutherford Risk specializes in 'extraction' - the recovery of kidnap victions and hostages. Chinese national Lu Hao is kidnapped, as is Cletus Danner - the American who was keeping an eye on Lu Hao. This operation is going to require some finesse.......and some unique operatives. Civilian John Knox is approached - he has an intimate knowledge of the country and the language. And he has specialized military training as well. His counterpart? Grace Chu. On the surface she is simply a forensic accountant, hired to follow the money. But she too has military training.

I found the background behind the Risk Agent interesting. Ridley Pearson spent a year in Shanghai with his family while teaching at a local university. This year's residence added much detail to The Risk Agent. The customs, culture, language and descriptions of the land and it's people were richly described and definitely added to the overall tone of the book.

My favourite series of Pearson's have been the Lou Boldt novels. With The Risk Agent, Ridley takes us in a new direction - espionage instead of suspense. I felt a little lost in the beginning as there are many, many characters introduced very quickly. The book hits the ground running from the first chapter and never lets up. There are layers upon layers in the plot, with everyone having their own agenda hidden below the primary objective. You'll want to be on your toes to keep track of all the machinations going on.

But the real draw are these new characters. Pearson has wisely created both a strong male and female protagonist, appealing to all readers. I enjoyed both characters, but was more drawn to John. I think his personal back story engaged me more. The Risk Agent is the first offering in a new series. I'll be looking forward to the next novel featuring this pair. Now that the stage has been set, I think there's lots of action ahead for this intrepid duo.

Fans of the Ludlum novels and those of Vince Flynn would enjoy this new series.

posted by Twink on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I agree with KenCady's review. Too convoluted, and I too was re

I agree with KenCady's review. Too convoluted, and I too was really taken aback by the Chinese corruption portrayed...did not realize China was so awful. Had a rough time keeping the various bad guys separated. I have always liked and have all of Pearson's books, but...
I agree with KenCady's review. Too convoluted, and I too was really taken aback by the Chinese corruption portrayed...did not realize China was so awful. Had a rough time keeping the various bad guys separated. I have always liked and have all of Pearson's books, but I doubt if I'll follow this series.

posted by LeeNV on July 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I agree with KenCady's review. Too convoluted, and I too was re

    I agree with KenCady's review. Too convoluted, and I too was really taken aback by the Chinese corruption portrayed...did not realize China was so awful. Had a rough time keeping the various bad guys separated. I have always liked and have all of Pearson's books, but I doubt if I'll follow this series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Risk Agent is a convoluted story taking place in Shanghai. I

    The Risk Agent is a convoluted story taking place in Shanghai. I had a strong desire to visit Shanghai until I read this. Are the Chinese really so totally corrupted? The book introduces a multitude of players and it is hard to keep track of them. I think it would have been helpful if the author used a flow chart to keep the reader more in tune with the action. As it is, we bounce from one fight to the next, never quite sure if this is the Mongolian bad guy, the Yang bad guy, or one of their employer's deceitful tactics. The Shen character is a hard one to accept. I did like Grace, and a sequel with her and John Knox where the action was a little clearer could be fun.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    For this reader, Ridley Pearson is an author whose books I pick

    For this reader, Ridley Pearson is an author whose books I pick up without even glancing at the flyleaf. I enjoy his writing and just know I'm in for a good read.
    The Risk Agent is Pearson's latest release.

    The American firm of Rutherford Risk specializes in 'extraction' - the recovery of kidnap victions and hostages. Chinese national Lu Hao is kidnapped, as is Cletus Danner - the American who was keeping an eye on Lu Hao. This operation is going to require some finesse.......and some unique operatives. Civilian John Knox is approached - he has an intimate knowledge of the country and the language. And he has specialized military training as well. His counterpart? Grace Chu. On the surface she is simply a forensic accountant, hired to follow the money. But she too has military training.

    I found the background behind the Risk Agent interesting. Ridley Pearson spent a year in Shanghai with his family while teaching at a local university. This year's residence added much detail to The Risk Agent. The customs, culture, language and descriptions of the land and it's people were richly described and definitely added to the overall tone of the book.

    My favourite series of Pearson's have been the Lou Boldt novels. With The Risk Agent, Ridley takes us in a new direction - espionage instead of suspense. I felt a little lost in the beginning as there are many, many characters introduced very quickly. The book hits the ground running from the first chapter and never lets up. There are layers upon layers in the plot, with everyone having their own agenda hidden below the primary objective. You'll want to be on your toes to keep track of all the machinations going on.

    But the real draw are these new characters. Pearson has wisely created both a strong male and female protagonist, appealing to all readers. I enjoyed both characters, but was more drawn to John. I think his personal back story engaged me more. The Risk Agent is the first offering in a new series. I'll be looking forward to the next novel featuring this pair. Now that the stage has been set, I think there's lots of action ahead for this intrepid duo.

    Fans of the Ludlum novels and those of Vince Flynn would enjoy this new series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    good storyline

    Love,love Ridley Pearson and I did like the book but...if you aren't familiar with the Chinese culture it can be a bit confusing.I would recommend the book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I meandered away from Ridley Pearson a few years ago. He has me

    I meandered away from Ridley Pearson a few years ago. He has me back with this super thriller. It looks to be the beginning of a beautiful friendship if this is a start of a new series.
    Grace Chu and John Knox are more than a mere forensic accountant (Chu) and a wandering procurer of folk art and treasures (Knox). Thrown together to make up a team to rescue two kidnap victims in China where nothing is as it seems, including the two main characters.
    Intrigue and action abound throughout, leaving the reader thoroughly exhausted, but definitely satisfied.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Ridley Pearson has done is again! He is truly amazing. The book

    Ridley Pearson has done is again! He is truly amazing. The book takes you on whipping turns and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Honestly, he has done it again! Ridley Pearson, please keep releasing books because we're all wanting to come back for more. Bravo.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Chu and Knox make a good team; amusing interpersonal relationshi

    Chu and Knox make a good team; amusing interpersonal relationship, exciting most of the time. I'm anticipating more adventures with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Whirl­wind of a Ride

    The Risk Agent by Rid­ley Pear­son is a fic­tional mystery/thriller tak­ing place in China. The book is the first of a new series.

    The Ruther­ford Risk firm has a prob­lem. They are try­ing to nego­ti­ate for a hostage which was taken in Shang­hai, but are not allowed, by law, to inves­ti­gate. The firm recruits two out­siders to bypass the Chi­nese laws, a dan­ger­ous game even when play­ing by the rules.

    Amer­i­can Jon Knox, a civil­ian with mil­i­tary train­ing, and Grace Chu, an accoun­tant with mil­i­tary train­ing, are put on the job. There are many things which are dan­ger­ous in cor­po­rate China, but fol­low­ing the money is cer­tainly on top of the list.

    The Risk Agent by Rid­ley Pear­son is a whirl­wind of a ride through the busi­ness world of China. While I don’t know enough about the busi­ness world in that part of the world, that part of the novel cer­tainly seemed authen­tic to me and made for a fas­ci­nat­ing read.

    It seems that in China many com­pa­nies, espe­cially those who are not based in China, have a habit of giv­ing incen­tives to gov­ern­ment offi­cials in order to gain the upper hand in the bid­ding process, or sim­ply just flat out to get a job. Much like elec­tions “incen­tives” (cam­paign dona­tions), the act is frowned on offi­cially but it seems to be the stan­dard oper­at­ing pro­ce­dure (SOP) with a large amount of recip­i­ents but only selec­tive victims.

    The Risk Agent is not a quick read by any means, the novel is plot­ted extremely well and takes time to digest and fol­low, but the reward of going on a great adven­ture is well worth the invest­ment in time.

    The two main char­ac­ters, John Knox and Grace Chu, are fully devel­oped and we get to know them before the final page is done. It is amaz­ing at how much char­ac­ter devel­op­ment goes into this novel while run­ning around the back­streets of Shanghai.

    I have said time and time again and one of the main rea­sons I like espi­onage nov­els is that they are mostly gray. The line dis­tin­guish­ing bad from good are often blurred and horse hair thin. The novel’s twists and turns had me guess­ing who is on whose side, what was most cer­tain is that every­one has their own agenda which made the story more compelling.

    An invig­o­rat­ing aspect of the book is the char­ac­ter of Grace Chu, a level headed accoun­tant (and an ex-Chinese mil­i­tary). Con­trast­ing Grace’s cool head and world view with John Knox’s impa­tience and impul­sive­ness added another inter­est­ing angle, as well as bal­ance, to the story. While every part­ners story has some fric­tion between the char­ac­ters, I believe that this relationship

    I believe that Mr. Pear­son has cre­ated two of the most com­plex and fas­ci­nat­ing char­ac­ters which had the dubi­ous plea­sure of becom­ing part­ners. I, for one, am look­ing for­ward to their next exploits.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    I really enjoyed the writing and the suspense. The main characte

    I really enjoyed the writing and the suspense. The main character was believable, and the descriptions were good. A great mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Sad Face

    Didn't like it. Didn't finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Excellent look at the newer China & the technical explosion that building it.

    The story it totally plausible and while the "China" that is emerging in the 21st century is ready, willing, and capable of absorbing "western" technology for its own uses, China is still the China of ages ago.
    The story is fast paced and the protagonists are all too human.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Read It Now

    Always exciting, another cannot-put-it-down book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The story involved many level of business dealing in China with

    The story involved many level of business dealing in China with many parties with different agendas; difficult to keep track in the beginning. Mr. Pearson had depicted the real situation in China with some effort but all he revealed is only the tip of the iceberg. To answer fellow reader KenCady's question, "are the Chinese really so totally corrupted?" The answer is yes and, in fact, it is much worse in real life. This is from personal experience in doing business in China. It is okay to visit Shanghai as a tourist; but making a living there is a different story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    F

    Sssucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Jj

    Jt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    ?

    Ssaiwq nbbssaaam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Need a friend

    Give me yor email and user name so we can be friends (user name means your first and last name) reply to zay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Tjukgbh

    Jgg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Su cked

    Gtjsfy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3