Customer Reviews for

The River

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

An incredible story that inspired me deeply. I would encourage

An incredible story that inspired me deeply. I would encourage all to read...

posted by Anonymous on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

N

Well here is another book ruined by these excessive plot revealing posters. Why cant they understand that ppl want to read a book and be surprised by what happens, not have it told to them like we are blithering idiots too stupid to read? Another sale lost bn.

posted by 8888649 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    This amazing narrative of Gabriel's life and powerful allegory o

    This amazing narrative of Gabriel's life and powerful allegory of God. The River pulls you into the book as if you were there. It was well written and a refreshing story. The River is a easy read, a time to sit back and relax. 
    The River is a allegory. What is a Allegory?
    A story, poem, or picture that can be interpreted to reveal a hidden meaning, typically a moral or political one.
    From the back cover :"You were made for The River..."
    My own words: You were made for God and to experience his goodness in your life. 
    Gabriel Clarke is drawn to The River, just like we are drawn to Our Father. This river is a ribbon of frothy white water carving its was through steep canyons high in the Colorado Rockies. The rushing waters beckon him to experience freedom and adventure. 
    But something holds him back-the memory of the terrible event he witnessed on The River when he was just five years old-something no child should ever see. 
    My own words: Our own past has been a challenge but knowing we can rest in His plan and purpose for our lives. The River brings this to home through the pages of this book. 
    Chains fear and resentment imprison Gabriel, keeping him from discovering the treasures of The River. He remains trapped afraidto take hold of the life awaiting him. 
    My own words: I know for my personal life I had a lot of fear and chains that needed to be broken and Jesus has done that.And he will do that for you. We need to just trust and rest in him. I'm thankful for The River to give me a visual picture. 
    When he returns to The River after years away, his heart knows he is finally home. His destiny is within reach. Claiming that destiny will be the hardest and bravest thing he has ever done. 
    My own words: Your destiny is before you. The River shows you how to be brave and strong like Gabriel, Its as if you are there with Gabriel going through the same trials. I felt empathy for Gabriel as if I was his friend. Jesus carries our burdens and that exactly what Jesus was doing in The River. Gabriel makes peace with The River. We have to rest in His Peace on a daily basis. 
    I was inspired to read The River because Micheal Neale is part of our church and He did this Allegory show at our church of The River. It was awesome to see this book in real life. It inspired our son(10 years old) to read the book too. I'm thankful for reading The River. 
    God is so good!!!!
    If you are looking for a loving read, then you would enjoy The River. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Gabriel is mysteriously drawn to a river, but the memory of the

    Gabriel is mysteriously drawn to a river, but the memory of the terrible event he had witnessed on The River was something that no child should see. He then returns to The River after many years and there he finds his destiny.




    It is a heart-filled book about losing the one you love, and trying to overcome The River that took your loved one from you. I can imagine that the hardest thing to get come to terms with is losing one of your parents or a loved one, and on top of that having to face that river, plane, or car.  All the characters will be kept in your heart form generation to generation.




    My favorite part of the book was when Gabriel went back to The River. He faced and over can his fear. And it is an lessen to us all that we can to overcome anything if we set our minds to it. 




    The book kept me somewhat entertained.  Maybe I am just used to reading about vampires. But the characters came to life. I would love to pass this book onto one of my family members. I know others would cherish this book too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Excellent story!

    I enjoyed The River by Michael Neale very much. It was a heart-stirring story and quite captivating. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Enjoyable read

    This is not a book I would normally read, but something drew me to it. It quickly became a page turner. It reminded me that things always happen for a reason and we are many times guided through life by those who love us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Very well written, this book flowed like the title. I would highly reccomend it to any one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Heartwarming

    Light reading for tens to seniors about what is iimportant in life


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Rating says it all

    I give four stars for the end part. Best part. Lines are wise and moving. You got to read everything between the lines to appreciate this work of art. Now I feel like I wanted to raft.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    " The River" by Michael Neale was a comfortable read,

    " The River" by Michael Neale was a comfortable read, the opening lines in the prologue really describe how I felt about this book," it's hard to explain how a powerful story can resonate within us on so many levels, but it's often the way they speak with passion, heartache or even joy. Maybe it's the way they unknowingly reach into our hear of hearts with their words." A story that allows us to glimpse the journey that a boy takes on his way to manhood. Gabriel Clark was forever changed when he saw his father drown in the River. It changed his life forever, he became angry, and steered clear of any real challenges, instead always opting for safe and comfortable while growing up in Kansas. When he gets an opportunity to go on a trip that will allow him to face his fears, he decides that it is time to face his past in the hopes of a new future.

    This book was a quick read, one that really makes the reader think. There are several spiritual messages woven into the story, and the greatest one for me had me examining how I handle my own problems. A great story for anyone who needs a bit of spiritual encouragement.


    A copy of this book was provided by Booksneeze for review.All opinions are my own.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1