Customer Reviews for

The Rockin' Chair

Average Rating 4
( 404 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Well-written and poignant. This story delves into the reality of

Well-written and poignant. This story delves into the reality of what family is, what is hidden and what is said. Fans of genealogy might enjoy this book. Readers will find this book both uplifting and incredibly sorrowful.

posted by eheinlen on August 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Frustrated writers?

Are all of you wordy, long winded "reviewers" really just frustrated writers who have to retell the story over and over? Just askin...and thanks to those of fewer words who were able to encourage me that its worth reading,without blabbing on and on!

posted by kat6364 on September 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 404 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well-written and poignant. This story delves into the reality of

    Well-written and poignant. This story delves into the reality of what family is, what is hidden and what is said. Fans of genealogy might enjoy this book. Readers will find this book both uplifting and incredibly sorrowful.

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    John and his son Hank had a falling out years before and have ne

    John and his son Hank had a falling out years before and have never mended their relationship, but John and Alice stayed close to Hank’s wife Elle and their children. Grandpa John loves his wife Alice more than life itself, and when she’s nearing her death he sends for their grown grandchildren, who have moved to other states, to come home. They do come, but sadly they don’t make it in time. The tensions between John and Hank, and Hank and his kids disrupt what should be a very solemn, loving time.




    This is a story about family. It’s a message that no matter the problems you have with a loved one, no matter how long the rift has been there, relationships can be restored if someone takes the first step toward mending what caused the problem. After losing Alice, John realizes how precious life  is and  is determined to mend all the problems his family members have, and in doing so he brings everyone closer.




    I loved the part about the rockin’ chair. I wish I’d have had one and done what Grampa John did. What an amazing thing to pass down from generation to generation.




    This is a book that most anyone would enjoy. It’s full of sadness, relationship problems, anger and forgiveness, but mostly love.




    It was a fairly short read, but packed full of stuff that keeps you reading until the last page.




    I would definitely read this author again.

    25 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Frustrated writers?

    Are all of you wordy, long winded "reviewers" really just frustrated writers who have to retell the story over and over?
    Just askin...and thanks to those of fewer words who were able to encourage me that its worth reading,without blabbing on and on!

    24 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Plot spoilers!

    All the reviews were plot spoilers and waaaaaay too long. A waste of time even reading them!!

    15 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love Conquers a Multitude of Faults

    “The Rockin’ Chair” is the story of John McCarthy, his family and the love, trials, tribulations, loss and redemption they find.

    This was one of those novels where you feel like you have traveled back in time and found days of old and you just settle in and enjoy times gone by. It was a journey that readers take with the family. You really see the restoration and the mending of the tear in the fabric of this family.

    I really enjoyed every chapter of Steven Manchester’s “The Rockin’ Chair.” I felt like I was watching a movie. What a wonderful story! I loved it and I feel like it’s a 5-star novel all the way. Keep up the great work, Steven Manchester. It was a great ride!

    Reviewed by: Lisa M.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     If you have spent anytime on book blogs this summer, I am sure

     If you have spent anytime on book blogs this summer, I am sure that you have seen this book crop up.  I am not sure what I can say about it that hasn't already been said.  It was a wonderful read, with Grampa John imparting wisdom - wisdom that should be obvious, but sometimes it takes someone to point it out to us. 




    The family has scattered across the U.S. - well, really the world - with George being in Afghanistan, but as Alice, John's wife, continues to worsen, he puts out a call to bring the grandchildren home.  Even though his son Hank lives within an arm's reach, he might as well have been across the world with the distance that has separated him and his father John for many years.




    I loved the way that the other drew everyone's sorrows out in their own time, without judgment and how Grampa John orchestrated the time they needed to share that sorrow with him.  It is a really good story about family - their struggles, their mistakes, the lines that separate and the bonds that draw us back together.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I tried not to cry all the way through, but I cried from page 174 to the last word on the last page. An excellant read.

    This book is like coming home when you no longer have hope, or anywhere else to go and are met at the door with open arms and love. It is not a happy book, but it heals your soul and makes you grateful to be alive and have what you have. 289 pages. Perfectly edited. No cursing. No sex. Some violence and substance abuse. The hardest parts of this book for me, was the graphic description of the barn burning and the way Hank did the racing pigeons. For some odd reason, this book reminded me of John Stienbeck's book, "The Grapes of Wrath". Perhaps it is the style of writting or the hardships faced by a family. I recommend this book to any reader 14 years old and up. The best Free Friday book I have read in two years.

    AD

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once again Steven Manchester has done it. He has caused me to cr

    Once again Steven Manchester has done it. He has caused me to cry quite unexpectedly without any prior warning before reading his latest novel, The Rockin' Chair. I will warn those of you that prior to jumping right into this one, grab a box of tissues as well as a notebook or highlighter. There is so much amazing quotes that you will want to remember long after you finish the final page, or if you're like me, you bookmark them by turning down the corners of your favorite pages. It makes them much easier to find!

    This is a novel that you won't want to rush through, but one you will want to find a nice quiet place and savor the story as it begins to unfold. The first couple pages are a bit confusing as the details of the story jump around a bit, like fragments of someone's memories that they are catching glimpses of, and that is just what is happening. Alice McCarthy has once again wandered away from home suffering from the long time effects of Alzheimer's and simply can't remember where she is or for that matter what age she is. Her hands convince her she is much older than her memories at the present and that is what is causing most of her confusion. Not only that but the people she meets now, she has no memory of them. Even as her daughter in law Elle, tries to convince her to come on home.

    Remaining faithfully committed to her, her husband John is overwhelmed with knowing how to properly care for a wife, that seems more comfortable with her childhood memories that all the love they have shared over the years. Fearing that she may in fact be living in her last moments before the illness completely consumes her, he reaches out to the estranged family members and tells them it's time to come home and say goodbye to Alice.

    This is a wonderful heartwarming novel that takes you by the hand into each of the family member's lives now that they have since moved away from the family farm in Montana. John and Alice were only blessed with one child, Hank. He married Elle and they had three children, George who is now serving in the armed forces, Evan is searching for a way to make a big break in the world of publishing, and Tara is searching for the stars in the Big Apple hoping to become one of them. As time draws short, we get a sense that the family wishes to be closer than it is, and the relationships between father and son, and even father and his children are at best strained. The only close relationships are between Elle and John, who has spent as much of her time helping John care for Alice so he can still get work done around the farm.

    I received The Rockin' Chair by Steven Manchester compliments of Partners in Crime Tours and The Story Plant Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review. This is such a beautifully written story because I believe we all have had times in our lives where our own family relationships were at odds, where past issues kept us apart instead of allowing us to work through them even though both sides wanted them worked out. There is literally something for everyone to be found within the pages of this novel. Perhaps some of my favorite parts were the ones written from both sides of the Alzheimer's illness. We get a peek at what Alice is dealing with as well as what it is like from John's eyes. Yet the one thing that remains through all the relationships is a deep seeded love for one another even if they can't always see it. This is my third book by Steven Manchester and he is already on my must read list as everything I've read from him has been life-changing. He makes me simply forget I'm reading a novel and am instead living it. In my opinion that makes it a 5 out of 5 stars in my book.

    10 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    Homespun wisdom from the grandpa everyone wishes they had....won

    Homespun wisdom from the grandpa everyone wishes they had....wonderful story

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    My Review: Yup another emotional journey from Mr. Manchester! I

    My Review: Yup another emotional journey from Mr. Manchester! I was tearing up after only 7 pages and got chocked up several time throughout the book. I loved the characters and the setting, both were so rich (and I kind of want another book about John & Alice's life and how they met because I adored them both). There are so many little life lessons in The Rockin' Chair that you could spend hours highlighting them but you forget to because you are too absorbed in the story. Some of the lessons that Grandpa John gives are ones that you don't fully comprehend until they smack you in the face. I do love Grandpa John's tough love but non-judgmental approach to issues that arose in the family, reminds me so much of my own grandfather and my parents. I think there is at least one character in this story that each reader can relate. I would also like a follow up story for Evan, I want to know what he accomplishes with his writing! I could probably follow the McCarthy family through all their paths and never get tired of reading about them.



    My Rating: I guess this is a classic case of leave them wanting more! I so enjoyed the story and characters that I want more of them, more time with them, and more of their stories. I had a hard time putting this book down (even while at work and having to hide the tears and sniffles as allergies). I give it a rating of Four Paws.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I was asked by the author to review this book-I received no comp

    I was asked by the author to review this book-I received no compensation other than a copy of the book.

    I enjoyed the book. It was look a good old movie(meant as a compliment). It was for the heart without being overly sentimental.

    I would say the book is about the problems that a family that come to surface when the matriarch of the family suffers from dementia.

    I would read another book by this author.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of those stories that will break your heart...yet st

    This is one of those stories that will break your heart...yet still help you piece it back together again with love, trust, and the best of intentions.  It's beautiful.  It's magical.  It's simple in storyline, but wrought with so much emotion and life lessons that one can't helped but be moved by this manuscript.




    John is a wonderful and caring narrator.  Through him we learn to love with all our hearts, trust with our full beings, and share a smile, a kind word even, with each person we meet, because we never really know when our last days will come.  Do you want to spend your "ever after" lost in regret, what ifs and shoulda wouldas?  Or would you rather be able to say...I LIVED.  After all, life may not always be perfect but it's those imperfections that make it a path worth following.  Share it with the ones you love....as it should be.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of those books that give you chills as you read it.

    This is one of those books that give you chills as you read it. The pieces fall into place as you go, but the entire picture isn't revealed until you get closer to the end.

    Steven does a great job at using death as a instrument to bring generations together. Unfortunately, that is a reality for a lot of people- it isn't until someone dies that they take the time to get together and remember the good ol' days.

    This book really touched a part of me. I've had death around me since a very young age, some of those closest to me have passed from this world into the next (close family friends, my sister, my mom, my dad, all of my grandparents, several aunts, several uncles). I've always felt like we should celebrate life and not just focus on the deaths. You see this in the book with the memories.

    I think that Steve has done an amazing job with this book and the difficult topic that he's chosen to write about. I recommend it for those that like family orientated stories.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    This is my first Steven Manchester book but it definitely won't

    This is my first Steven Manchester book but it definitely won't be the last! I am so in love with his writing style, the thought and feeling that he puts behind the words as he builds a story so wonderful you are sucked in deep and left as emotionally drained as the characters.

    "Evan, if a fella has a hundred pigeons and loses them and another fella has only ten pigeons and lose them, who do you figure loses more?"

    Evan almost laughed at the childish riddle. It was so easy. "The man with the hundred pigeons, of course!" he answered.

    Grampa John smiled. Placing the red cap onto his shiny head, he was almost at teh storm door when he looked back. "I ain't ever been big in the brains department, but if you ask me, I'd say the both lost everything they had." With one push on the door, he was gone from the house. The real work had just begun.

    Evan paused briefly in front of the mirror where Tara had received her first lesson. Taking a long look at his face, he chuckled. "Wow," he whispered, "the old man's right." Pain was merely relative to one's own experiences.

    That was one of my favorite quotes from the book. At the end of our lives, we are left with our memories. When John's wife Alice is robbed of those memories due to Alzheimer's , he is left to remember them for the both of them. As Alice passes away, the family is finally all called home and John realizes that he needs to help each member of the family come to terms with their own memories before he can be at peace to join Alice. He immediately sets to work giving little lessons to each and realizes that perhaps he needs a few lessons himself.

    This story is about the love of a family. While many things can tear it apart, love and memories can help heal all. From returning from war with guilt of a decision he can't live with, to losing one's dreams, to alcoholism and drug addiction. John has a hard fight ahead of him to help each member of his family overcome their bad memories and help put them in the past to move on.

    Many have described Steven Manchester as another Nicholas Sparks. I can wholeheartedly agree. I thought no one could make me cry like Nicholas Sparks, but I was wrong. Steven pulls you into the story so that their pain is your own. I laughed, I cried and I sighed with contentment. It's a wonderful story that everyone should read and appreciate the lessons taught by Grampa John.

    5 + Stars!! * I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. *

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A complete fami

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    A complete family drama where the grandparent and grandchildren relationship take more of a forefront, but the immediate children relationship is still there.  Grandpa John has recently lost his wife to a debilitating illness and calls his grandchildren home to help heal the family and because they each need to come home to recenter.  

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A poignant tale of love and family, I enjoyed Grampa John immen

    A poignant tale of love and family, I enjoyed Grampa John immensely. He wasn't a well educated man but he was a very wise one.I loved the lessons he imparts to his broken family. And yes you will cry while reading this book. I liked it so much I stayed up all night reading it and that's saying something.

    * I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This was a very moving book. I recommend keeping tissues near

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Loved it

    I really enjoyed this book. I like it when people own up to their mistakes and even when it is family, try and set things right. Be prepared to shed a few tears.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    The book read so beautifully. I've never cried in a book. I've r

    The book read so beautifully. I've never cried in a book. I've read 10's of 1000's and this is the first time I cried. One of my favorite books. A lot of life lessons for one to take away. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    Found this on free Friday and from the moment I started reading it, I couldn't stop. Enjoyed meeting the characters and was drawn into their lives. Moving story particularly focused on the father and son relationships though I cared for all the characters and smiled and cried at the memories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 404 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21