Customer Reviews for

The Rockin' Chair

Average Rating 4
( 427 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Well-written and poignant. This story delves into the reality of

Well-written and poignant. This story delves into the reality of what family is, what is hidden and what is said. Fans of genealogy might enjoy this book. Readers will find this book both uplifting and incredibly sorrowful.

posted by eheinlen on August 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Frustrated writers?

Are all of you wordy, long winded "reviewers" really just frustrated writers who have to retell the story over and over? Just askin...and thanks to those of fewer words who were able to encourage me that its worth reading,without blabbing on and on!

posted by kat6364 on September 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Plot spoilers!

    All the reviews were plot spoilers and waaaaaay too long. A waste of time even reading them!!

    15 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Boring, syrupy

    No depth, fluffy story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    I'm not sure what masochistic impulse led me to finish reading t

    I'm not sure what masochistic impulse led me to finish reading this book. I was hoping for a rural family story filled with simple wisdom, and that is indeed what "The Rockin' Chair" tries to be. Unfortunately, if fails.

    Grampa John's family is Deeply Troubled. Coming together to mourn the family matriarch are his three grandchildren: journalist Evan, reeling from a romantic break-up; alcoholic and drug additct Tara (with her toddler daughter); and Army ranger George, returning from Afghanistan with a guilty conscience and a fine case of PTSD. Also present are Grampa John's estranged son Hank, who lives within walking distance but hasn't set foot in his father's house in years, and Hank's saintly wife Elle.

    Realizing that the family is Deeply Troubled, Grampa John sets out to make everything all right. No problem seems to be so bad that a session of barn chores and a good talk with Grampa John, followed by a bout of healing and cleansing tears, can't make it right. (A sample of Grampa John's wisdom: the insight that a rainbow is there even when you can't see it!) I never really understood why Grampa John, all full of wisdom and of the love of G-d, mucked up his relationship with his own son so thoroughly.

    The structure of the book is maddening. Character A's problem is presented with an appropriate flashback, followed by the talk and cry with Grampa John, and the Healing Begins. Lather, rinse, repeat. The story does not form a coherent whole.

    Finally, there is the clumsy writing itself. A few sample sentences: "Like a moody lass, the wondrous river could be soothing one minute, then rage out ferociously the next." "Crawling back into the canoe, eagerly preparing to conquer one last boulevard of rapids, the sun's warm hands held George's wind-burned face." And a personal favorite: "Trees intertwined--much like all living things--holding the hands of each other."

    I had hoped for an enjoyable story along the lines of "The Yearling", but this book is essentially a marzipan-coated Hallmark card. Not recommended for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Forced

    I feel like I was reading a different book than the one other reviewers did. I felt like there was too much forced sentimentality. I thought all of the characters lacked depth. I usually make it a habit to finish every book, even if it's not holding my interest, but I won't be for this one. I guess it's just not my style book, but halfway into the book, I couldn't care less what happens to any of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Says buy but wont bring up blurb

    Again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Predictable and simple

    A series of problems with son and grandchildren all somehow resolved with a kind word, wisdom, maybe just a look, followed by a timely death falling to sleep in his chair, going to join "squaw". Oh yes, they gathered to rebuild a small barn too, that was quite healing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Not my favorite book.

    I had to force myself to finish this book. It was a good story in the beginning, but turned into a sugary sweet hard to believe mess somewhere in the middle and the ending was very predictable. I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Sob Story Deluxe

    Every Cliché about every sad story you ever heard.
    Stopped reading it before the dog died...I assume the dog dies

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Don't Bother Wasting Your Time

    This is one of the most inane stories I have ever read. It reads like an English 101 paper and the characters are trite and staid. It always amazes me that drivel like this can be published. It was a free book, and that is exactly what it is worth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Predictable

    Borders on maudlin

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Boring

    Dull and uninteresting.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Weird saturday wont bring up burbs reviews

    Unarchieve or search this was yesterdays what is with nook this is on two nooks so its not just mine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2