Customer Reviews for

The Rockin' Chair

Average Rating 4
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Well-written and poignant. This story delves into the reality of

Well-written and poignant. This story delves into the reality of what family is, what is hidden and what is said. Fans of genealogy might enjoy this book. Readers will find this book both uplifting and incredibly sorrowful.

posted by eheinlen on August 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Frustrated writers?

Are all of you wordy, long winded "reviewers" really just frustrated writers who have to retell the story over and over? Just askin...and thanks to those of fewer words who were able to encourage me that its worth reading,without blabbing on and on!

posted by kat6364 on September 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    IMPORTANT OMG TO ALL

    Let me tell you a story about the first "s**clan". I know what you are thinking: <br>
    What? There was another? Oh wait, I don't care. <p>
    Well you should. Because the story goes that the leader commited suicide and the clan was taken over by assasins and cats that acted like rainbows. Then they named it BubbleClan and killed all of the s**clan members. So If you don't want to become a bunch of scattered piles of fur and bones, I suggest you run. Faster than your legs can take you, with your wimpy little tails tucked and your ears bleeding from the agony my words cause. <p>
    ~A Someone

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    "Hallmark" Read

    Family problems all end up "peachy" keen at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Long unnecessary descriptions

    Way too much description

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Very Sentimental Account of a Family

    For the most part, this is very treacly--the family through the years--good and bad--but mostly good. It starts as the wife is going downhill with Alzheimer's and reveals various rifts between the family members. One grandson has served in Afghanistan, and the granddaughter got caught up in drugs. There is a section where the author tells how the character improved his racing pigeon flock by strangling the weak ones. I find this sort of thing exceedingly repulsive--certainly put me off this book! I would not read any other book by this author--or recommend it to a book group.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    OK, BUT TOO SIMPLISTIC

    I love my grandparents as much as the young adults in this story did; but, while prayer and conversation can help you solve many problems, this story seemed too idealistic. Still, in many ways, some of the ideals are what families should strive for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Nothing New

    It was an easy read but there was nothing unusual or new. Very predictable with a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Very disappointing

    After reading the revues I thought this book would be great. It just depressed me. I thought it would pick up but it never did. i will not be looking for his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    OK

    It was just OK, not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Easy overly sentimental read.

    The theme of this book seems to be that you can make up for a lifetime of abuse by turning into a lovable geezer at the end of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Not the best I've ever read

    I was very disappointed when I had read all of the comparisons to Nicholas Sparks. It was more like Silas House. It was a good story, but don't build expectations by comparing it to Mr. Sparks. It would make for good discussion for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    So dull

    I really could not get attached to the characters, and the storyline was DULL! Don't waste your $

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Has potential

    This is a family drama. The story had potential, but (in my opinion) was hampered by two things.

    First, the dialog was a bit too "folksy". Having been a city person all my life, its possible this is just my ignorance of how people in this situation really speak. However, I found it a bit over the top.

    Second, there is a lot of references to "The Lord". Normally, I don't have a problem with religion being an aspect of a story, as long as the story can stand without it. In this case, it seemed gratuitous.

    With the exception of Grandpa John and Hank, the other characters were too superficial.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    slow glad it was free

    A little slow read I don't know that I would be reading anything by the Author again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    ?

    A sappy yarn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    I wish life were that simple

    I wish a few words from an old man had the power to change the lives of people in pain but it doesn't work that way. I also didn't really bond with any of the characters, I thought they were one dimensional and annoying. I thought it was naive and overly simple and it pissed me off that they made the dog sleep outside no matter the weather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2