Customer Reviews for

Rogue Pirate's Bride

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Fun, Fresh, Fascinating!

    The mark of a truly talented writer is not seeing their mark at all. Fantastic writing takes years of hard work and perfected skills. A fantastic writer makes it all look effortless. Shana Galen shows that kind of talent in the pages of this fabulous February release, THE ROGUE PIRATE’S BRIDE.

    This is the third book in Sons of the Revolution series, but the first that I’ve read, so let me tell you now, you will thoroughly enjoy this book even if you have not read the first two. In fact, I venture to say you might even enjoy it more.

    As a lover and eternal student of writing craft, it’s rare to find a book that takes me away. Consciously or unconsciously, I look for style, technique, voice. Within a few pages, I knew Shana Galen’s THE ROGUE PIRATE’S BRIDE had it all. But I quickly discovered it had one hell of a lot more, too. I read this book from the first page to the last and couldn’t tell you where I stopped noticing all Shana’s clever techniques, because I lost myself in Raeven and Bastien’s world.

    The book begins with a heroine I couldn’t help but love—spunky, determined, courageous and foolish in the name of love, which I found completely endearing. Raeven believes Bastian, the hero, has killed her fiancé in a battle at sea and is determined to avenge his death. Bastian is impossibly intriguing. Dark and mysterious, dubbed a pirate, he is definitely in that yummy bad boy class. He’s strong and capable, arrogant and cunning. Together the two shoot sparks across the pages.

    With chemistry like that, Shana’s got a hot start. But Shana amps the sexual tension when Bastien tires of Raeven’s diligence and takes her as a prisoner of sorts to play cabin girl for him aboard his ship. The combination of the interplay between the characters and the situation is fabulous fun – and never a dull moment when Raeven, the clever sprite, escapes the ship.

    When the two meet again, Raeven still bent on revenge and Bastien searching for the man who killed his mentor, the two collide in another burst of lusty sparks and quick wit. Adventure, snarky dialogue and hilarious situations ensue as they are chased by Bastien’s enemies, and ultimately Raeven is caught up in Bastien’s personal fight.

    But Bastien’s got another fight on his hands because not only is Raeven is a spit-fire who pushes all his buttons and challenges him in ways no other woman ever has, but she’s the daughter of a British Navy Admiral who will stop at nothing to get his daughter back from this thieving pirate.

    While the entire book skipped at a fantastic pace, the last third was a can’t-turn-the-pages-fast-enough read. Shana writes action with skill, turns plot in unexpected and thrilling ways and designs fresh and fascinating characters.

    One intriguing twist to Bastien’s background – if you’ve read the first two books in this series, Sons of the Revolution, you already know what this is – which is developed toward the end of the book unravels into a thoroughly satisfying conclusion, providing not just a happily ever after, but a nearly fairytale ending I found extremely fulfilling.

    THE ROGUE PIRATE’S BRIDE is a true romantic adventure—fun, fresh and fascinating.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Good series end (LVR)

    Pirate romp ends a faced-paced series about family separated by French Revolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

     What happens when a headstrong woman is bent on avenging her fi

     What happens when a headstrong woman is bent on avenging her fiance's death? Captain Cutlass finds out and would do anything to rid himself of the woman, but the cherry scent calls to him. Sebastien is surprised when a young boy challenges him with a sword. Once he finds out the boy is in fact a beautiful young woman, Bastien is smitten.  Raeven will make Captain Cutlass pay for killing her fiance.  If only he weren't so handsome.  The two of them are in for a rough ride.




          The solid story picks you up on a wave of action and never lets you down. Characters you'll enjoy and are well defined make this one a joy to read.  I found the action and romance to be equal throughout.  You'll definitely indulge in your pirate fantasies with this one.  Shana Galen gives us strong women who aren't afraid to taste life, but who have a lot of love to give.  Get this book and enjoy!!
       
         I found no issues with this one.




         I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I loved the idea a woman could hold her own with a pirate!   Copy of book provided by author in exchange for a fair review~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Shana Galen delivers again with "The Rouge Pirate's Bride.&

    Shana Galen delivers again with "The Rouge Pirate's Bride." This story is the third installment of the "Sons of the Revolution" series and is packed with action, adventure, betrayal, greed, and clever characters. Sebastien Harcourt has found his way in the world as a pirate, but has he met his match with Raeven Russell, an admiral's daughter, who proves she's just as resourceful as any of Sebastien's crew? I've read the previous stories in this series, and I enjoyed them very much. I was looking forward to reading Sebastien's tale and for me, this story did not disappoint.

    Set in 1802, Sebastien has escaped the turmoil in France only to become the captain of a pirate ship. He's on the hunt for another pirate, Jourdain, who killed his mentor. Raeven Russell is an admiral's daughter who wants revenge on Sebastien for killing her fiancé in a ship battle. The novel opens with plenty of excitement as Raeven, disguised as a man, challenges Sebastien. He gets the best of her, but not before revealing she's a woman, causing the sparks to fly between the couple. They meet again, several months later and it appears time has not lessened the sparks between them. Can Sebastien and Raeven tame their attraction or will it prove their undoing?

    Galen's writing is full of witty dialogue, vivid descriptions, and effortlessly plunges the reader into Sebastien and Raeven's world. The plot moves at just the right pace, leaving the reader breathless.

    The most rewarding part of the story is the rich characterization. Sebastien is full complexities, hurt over losing his family and mentor, yet so very giving with Raeven. Raeven is a spitfire, not afraid to look danger in the eye, and is full of tricks, yet her heart is wounded as well.

    The story has several love scenes that are tasteful and embody the sensuality that Sebastien and Raeven share. "The Rogue Pirate's Bride" is a page-turner, full of emotion, danger, suspense and heartwarming romance. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    A fitting end to a series

    The last brother gets his own story. If you like Pirates, then this is your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Raeven Russell has had an unusual upbringing spending her life o

    Raeven Russell has had an unusual upbringing spending her life on ships with her British admiral father. She has learned many skills typical of sailors even better than the men. She plans on using her talent to seek revenge against the pirate responsible for her finance’s death. Of course things do not go as she planned when Captain Cutlass, a.k.a. Bastien, realizes that the boy fencing with him is actually an attractive woman. The story is predictable as the characters’ lust for each other changes to something deeper. Bastien’s past puts their relationship in danger, but also maybe their salvation. Despite the productivity and some incredulity, this story delivers on its promise of action, adventure, and a sexy love story. Now I have to go back and read the previous in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Historical Pirate Romance

    Great read! This is a third in the series and it continues the story with the last brother very well. I love a good pirate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    You're gonna love this one too!

    If ever there's a time when you need a reminder of what makes a great relationship, read one of Shana Galen's books. Her latest book Rogue Pirate's Bride, of the Valere brothers books, is fresh, new and yet stays with the theme of the prior two books The Making of a Gentleman and The Making of a Duchess. Loved this series and am hoping the publisher and author will write one more book for the lovely dowager duchess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A must-read for historical romance fans!

    A dashing historical romance that completely swept me away! I will definitely be looking for from this new-to-me author and checking out the previous books in The Sons of the Revolution series. 4.5/5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Adventure on the high seas ... prepare to be sucked in!

    For full review, please visit Reader's Edyn where you can view excerpts and dialogue highlights. ~~~ readersedyn (dot) blogspot (dot) com ~~~ Review: I am in love with a Pirate and his name is Bastien. *le sigh* Is that not one of the best dialogue highlights you have ever read? I KNOW! It is fabulous! I can see the characters in the scene. Their expressions, their playful banter, their smoldering desire for one another. And I felt this way – this engaged – throughout the book in its entirety. This is my first Shana Galen book. I do own a couple of her books already, but have not had a chance to read them yet. *whispers* I’m thinking I will have to change that monumental mistake right quick. *runs to change reading order* ~~~ So Raeven is on a mission for vengeance. She has set out to take the life of the infamous pirate, Captain Cutlass. The Pirate has been implicated as the one responsible for the death of her fiancé when their ships tangled with one another on the high seas. Raised on a ship from a young age, Raeven has a bit of an odd upbringing and consequently she fears little. She knows her abilities, but perhaps isn’t so good at knowing where to draw the line and concede. Nor did she except to get knocked off her socks as soon as she came face to face with Bastien (Captain Cutlass). ~~~ Bastien is immediately intrigued by this boy child who has challenged him. Did I mention she meets him in a tavern in disguise? You are intrigued, no? So Raeven’s cover is blown fairly quickly, which only intensifies Bastien’s interest in her. His plans include punishing her by making her serve his as his cabin girl. But he doesn’t know Raeven and she has no such intention of complying with him. She makes her escape, but is immediately planning her next encounter with the murdering … breathtaking … underhanded … lust-inducing … well, you get the idea. She’s a bit conflicted within the emotions Bastien inspires. ~~~ I enjoyed getting to know both Raeven and Bastien and I liked that they both were unwilling to admit their love for one another. While they eventually admitted it to themselves, they found it difficult to believe that the other would open up to the possibility of being hurt again and consequently kept their deep feelings buried for a time. The secondary characters were also enjoyable. We did not get to know them very far below the surface, which worked out well because it kept the focus on the main characters. But part of me wished we had something to go on with at least one secondary character so that I could look forward to time spent with Bastien and Raven in the future. Unfortunately I don’t see that happening. I can only hope that Ms. Galen has another adventure on the high seas awaiting us somewhere down the road, if even with different characters. ~~~ Prepared to be sucked into a world of danger, intrigue, humor, romance, and the thrill of the high seas. It’s swashbuckling! What does that word even mean? I have no idea, but it is fabulous, is in not? It says so much. It makes you smile. *raises brow* Don’t be acting like I’m all crazy and you have no idea what I am speaking of. You know you agree. *nods* But seriously, readers and lovers of historical romance will love and adore Ms. Galen in no time. She easily rivals the writing of Lindsey, one of my all time favorites, and is without-a-doubt a sure read for me. (advanced copy paperback provided by author for review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Wonderful

    What a wonderfully written series!! Read each book in a day/night and it was well worth the loss of sleep and lack of house keeping... the chatacter development was fantastic and the stories were clever and well thought out! Kept me on the edge of my seat, rooting for the Valeres' and their women! Full five stars for this! I will definatly be purchasing more from this author! Bravo Ms. Galen!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended - A Must Read

    This is the third and final book in Shana Galen’s “Sons of Revolution” series and I for one am sad to say goodbye to these brothers.

    Bastien, The Marquis de Valere has lived a successful life on the high seas, as a rogue privateer, since the French Revolution stole his home and his family. When his mentor and second father is callously killed, Bastien seeks to avenge his death. And nothing or no one is going to stop him.

    Raeven Russell is the daughter of a British Admiral and only knows life aboard a boat. She believes Bastien is responsible for her fiancee’s death and, like Bastien, she seeks to avenge his death.

    In a French bar, Raeven challenges Bastien to a duel. They do more than cross swords, they share one hot kiss before she escapes from Bastien’s ship.

    Meeting again at a ball six months later, Raeven sees this as her chance to finish what she’d started months ago – if only she wasn’t tempted to share more kisses with him. They soon find themselves fighting together to save each other’s lives, and giving into the attraction that simmers to life between them.

    As Bastien and Raeven travel across the seas they come to realise seeking revenge isn’t the only possibility life holds, learning to love and trust can be more fulfilling than revenge.

    In this high seas adventure Shana blends action, with humor and of course romance. This is a must read for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2