Customer Reviews for

The Roots of the Olive Tree: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Good

I had read the free excerpt of this book and decided to buy the full length version. It was very well written, proof read and edited, which was very nice. Many down loadable books are so bad about erratta, it becomes annoying. I was going to write about the plot, but t...
I had read the free excerpt of this book and decided to buy the full length version. It was very well written, proof read and edited, which was very nice. Many down loadable books are so bad about erratta, it becomes annoying. I was going to write about the plot, but this story is so delightfully complex and the lives of the multi generational women so tightly inter- woven, it was difficult to write about, without giving away the best parts of each life. Mim, Anna, Elizabeth, Calliope, Deborah, Erin and Erin's child, each held thier secrets and suffered love, loss, fear, disappointment and anger, while always searching for the special something each human looks for, to prove they have worth and purpose, a reason for being created. This book me laugh, cry and celebrate along with this diverse group of women, who all lived in the same house most of their lives. I loved this book. I think there is a second one and I am going to purchase it as well. This one, I archived for a reread.



AD

posted by 19189092 on August 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

After reading the description for this book, I expected to really like it. Why DID the women of this family live so long? Did they eat right? Was it the olive oil? Did they live moral, clean lives? Was it their strong family relationships, especially mothers and da...
After reading the description for this book, I expected to really like it. Why DID the women of this family live so long? Did they eat right? Was it the olive oil? Did they live moral, clean lives? Was it their strong family relationships, especially mothers and daughters? The book was nothing like I hoped for. It was a downer, depressing and I was sorry that I had wasted time reading all the way to the end.
I love to read and rarely write a negative review. There are so many wonderful stories out there. I do not recommend this book.

posted by jpcoggins on September 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Good book

    Overall a good book. A little hard to follow at times, but once I realized the woman's names were alphabetical by age, it got easier to keep track of who was who. Sometimes it felt like the author would get ahead of herself,I would be confused, but then she would explain a few sentences later.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    AN INTERESTING SUBJECT

    THIS BOOK WAS INTERESTING IN SUBJECT MATTER. THE AUTHOR HAS A RICH IMAGINATION, THE STORY MOVED ALONG NICELY, BUT I FELT IT SHOULD HAVE HAD MORE OF A NON FICTION FEEL TO IT DUE TO THE SUBJECT MATTER. IT WAS JUST A BIT SYRUPY AND SOAP OPERAISH FOR MY TASTE. THE ENDING GAVE ME THE IDEA THERE COULD BE A SEQUEL. HAVING LIVED IN CALIFORNIA I DID ENJOY THE STORIES OF THE OLIVE TREES AND SOME OF THE FACTOIDS TO MAKING OLIVE OIL. THE TREES ARE QUITE BEAUTIFUL IN A NON TRADITIONAL WAY.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Great read. Surprises til the end!

    Very detailed characters. I loved the interaction between the five generations. Kept me interested as little family secrets kept cropping up until the very end. Good book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings It was hard at

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    It was hard at the beginning to remember the lineage, but once I established the order, the family became this one living being with quite a history.  I loved when a piece of their personal history was shared and it made the reader realize why the character is reacting the way they do and how the generations decisions before them affected them.  This was definitely a story that revolved around characters that had to have depth and soul and the author did just that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    In Roots of the Olive Tree we follow five women as the navigate

    In Roots of the Olive Tree we follow five women as the navigate their life's challenges and secrets.  Anna, the matriarch, simply wants to live long enough to be the oldest person alive.  When a geneticist arrives looking to discover the secret to both their longevity and their good health, she withholds perhaps the biggest secret of all.  Bets, Anna's daughter, keeps the secrets and soothes the hearts of everyone but her own daughter.  Callie, Bet's daughter, lives a life of emptiness. After a airplane crash that changes Callie's life forever, Callie relies on prescription pills to get her through life.  Deb, Callie's daughter, has been in prison for the last twenty years wanting to be free to be with her daughter.  And finally, Erin, Deb's daughter, finds herself with an unplanned pregnancy and a void from growing up without her parents.  The women grow up and older together but separate as they don't always understand the choices of the others.  Amid a story about generations of women, we find an understated history of the importance of the olive tree to the Keller women.




    It's very difficult to describe and review a book such as this, but I enjoyed every turn of the page.  I didn't love all of the women but I loved the premise.  I loved that Anna was 112 years old and that her perspective and history contrasted with Erin's 22 year old life and decisions.  Every time I opened the book, I never really know what would happen next.  Everything happened in a quite way.  Even major events seemed written to be understated and simple.  Sometimes I had to reread a paragraph to ensure I really did read it right.  Every few chapters or so we'd see the next part of the story told from a different point of view until we had traveled the story through the lens of all the women.  I liked this method but not all of the characters were created equal so I enjoyed some perspectives more than others.  Additionally, each switch in perspective also corresponded in a jump in time.  This felt unnecessary and I started to feel like I was just being moved along.  Each character usually ended on some dramatic note, yet the reader didn't get to pick up where the character left off.   It left me feeling unsatisfied.  The historical aspect and flashbacks were one of my favorite parts of this read.




    Overall, I enjoyed the premise and felt like this read stands out leading to an enjoyable reads.  It certainly could have been more fleshed out but I'd still recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2015

    Overall, I really enjoyed this book.  When I opened the book and

    Overall, I really enjoyed this book.  When I opened the book and saw the circle diagram with the five generations of women and a short biography of each, I was intrigued by two questions: 1) Why would someone name their four sons Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, and then name their daughter something like Calliope? 2) What was the story behind the women who had shot her husband?  It turned out that my first question wasn’t answered until the very end, and the answer to the second question was the most brutal part of the book.  But the stories of these women had already hooked me in by the time I got to those answers.  It was a very believable story, despite the fact that these women were healthfully living into their 110’s.  
    With each woman, the most interesting and telling parts of their character, to me, seemed to be the relationship that mattered most to them in their life, and the secrets that they had kept.  Each woman was practically defined by a specific relationship in her life that defined all of her other relationships.  I would go into detail, but I don’t want to give away the book.  Each woman had some kind of secret as well that pained them and made them behave differently around different people.  It made me think about the relationships in my life, and which ones were the defining ones and if I had any secrets that make me who I am.  I think we all do, to a degree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Well worth reading!

    I actually enjoyed this book, in spite of some reviews I'd read about folks not resolving issues by the end. Life doesn't always resolve issues, and the learning is in the journey; some folks get there, others not. But I found their struggles to be interesting, and having a few "strong" oldest daughters in my family, I could relate to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'The Roots of the Olive Tree' is a lyrical and beautifully writt

    'The Roots of the Olive Tree' is a lyrical and beautifully written story about a family's saga through the women that hold the secrets and heart throughout the years. It tells the tale of Anna, the matriarch, along with her daughter, granddaughter, and great-granddaughter, and also her great-great-granddaughter. The author expertly weaves together tales and memories from each of the women's lives, along with the history of the town and the home that holds them all together - Hill House. The writing is so incredibly vivid and descriptive with an abundant talent that it's almost unbelievable that this is her debut novel. The story delves into the personal details, family secrets, family ties and the love that holds them all together throughout the generations. The writing is incredibly well done and expertly weaves together several smaller story lines and manages to cross time barriers with seamless perfection. This is a fantastic novel that bridges several genres including literary fiction, historical, women's fiction, chick lit, and general fiction. It's well constructed plot and the effortless flow of the writing will surely appeal to fans of all genres. A highly recommended novel for those who wish to delve into the love, secrets, lies, and family ties that bind us all together.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    A MUST READ

    This is a well written and wonderfully executed story about a family told through the perspective of 5 generations of the women in the family.
    Each woman has her own story but her lifs, and story, is impacted by the women who preceeded her. There are secrets unreveiled, but real, in each generation that carry on to the next generation.
    The unraveling of these secrets is empowering for each family member to realize how they have been impacted. You will grow to love each of the characters individually, but my overwhelming conclusion is the family systems perspective that every individual story influences the next generation and the total health and wellbeing of the family as a whole.
    This is the first novel that this author has punlished and I am anxious to see her next! I certainly would recommend this novel for a book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Fascinating family

    Each character was developed and the interactions and secrets were all interesting. The premise of 5 generations under one roof attracted me to the book and I wasn't disappointed. The information about the olive trees could have been a little more and the ending was a little vague, but overall I liked it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    great read

    Interesting family dynamics and surprising twists & turns. Hard to
    put down. Will hold your curiosity to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Recommend for an enjoyable easy to read story.

    I enjoyed the book a lot. It brings past present and future together for a long line of women. Sharing their triumphs, tragedies and how they are able to put up with each other. Takes place near Sacramento, one of my favorote places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Interesting book

    Family dynamics at their most interesting. A little far fetched, but an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1