Customer Reviews for

The Rope (Anna Pigeon Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

How it all began...

Fans of Nevada Barr's long-running series of novels about park ranger Anna Pigeon are in for a slight but enjoyable detour with "The Rope." Instead of advancing the series in time, it takes us back to the beginning, when Anna, in 1995, first gets involved in ranger work...
Fans of Nevada Barr's long-running series of novels about park ranger Anna Pigeon are in for a slight but enjoyable detour with "The Rope." Instead of advancing the series in time, it takes us back to the beginning, when Anna, in 1995, first gets involved in ranger work as a seasonal employee on the shores of Lake Powell. The novel opens with Pigeon's co-workers wondering why she's disappeared, and some thinking she skedaddled back to New York after finding the work too difficult.

The truth is far different. Anna is lying naked, her head aching from a blow and one arm dislocated, at the bottom of a "jar" -- a smooth-sided canyon that can only be accessed or escaped by a ladder that Anna doesn't have. As the sun beats down, she finds what appears to be a miracle -- a canteen containing water. Anna drinks it and sleeps -- the water was drugged. When she wakes, she finds the word "whore" carved into the flesh of her thigh.

How Anna escapes her prison and unravels the clues to find the identity of her assailant form the basis for a mystery that keeps the reader's interest, whether a first-timer to the series or a fan who's read all of the Pigeon books. Going back to the beginning, The Rope establishes Anna's self-reliant personality and the ways it is tested by her ordeal in the desert and her dealings with others. Supporting characters are also well-defined, as well as details about the not-so-glamorous life of a park ranger. It's a good read.

posted by EileenGalen on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good book, interesting plot, couldn't stop reading it, HOWEVER,

Good book, interesting plot, couldn't stop reading it, HOWEVER, seriously under edited. I had to skip a lot of boring repetitive dialogue and musings to keep my interest.

posted by 144988 on May 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    How it all began...

    Fans of Nevada Barr's long-running series of novels about park ranger Anna Pigeon are in for a slight but enjoyable detour with "The Rope." Instead of advancing the series in time, it takes us back to the beginning, when Anna, in 1995, first gets involved in ranger work as a seasonal employee on the shores of Lake Powell. The novel opens with Pigeon's co-workers wondering why she's disappeared, and some thinking she skedaddled back to New York after finding the work too difficult.

    The truth is far different. Anna is lying naked, her head aching from a blow and one arm dislocated, at the bottom of a "jar" -- a smooth-sided canyon that can only be accessed or escaped by a ladder that Anna doesn't have. As the sun beats down, she finds what appears to be a miracle -- a canteen containing water. Anna drinks it and sleeps -- the water was drugged. When she wakes, she finds the word "whore" carved into the flesh of her thigh.

    How Anna escapes her prison and unravels the clues to find the identity of her assailant form the basis for a mystery that keeps the reader's interest, whether a first-timer to the series or a fan who's read all of the Pigeon books. Going back to the beginning, The Rope establishes Anna's self-reliant personality and the ways it is tested by her ordeal in the desert and her dealings with others. Supporting characters are also well-defined, as well as details about the not-so-glamorous life of a park ranger. It's a good read.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Awesome Weekend Read. Loved it from beginning to end

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Loved it!

    As in all her work, Navada Barr brings the sights, sounds, smells and textures of her local to vivid life. The story is peopled with quirky characters and a very special little animal. There is relentless tension with a creepy undercurrent of psychosis close at hand. I love the character, Jenny. I hope Ms. Barr will write another retrospective Anna Pigion novel so we can more of her.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Good book, interesting plot, couldn't stop reading it, HOWEVER,

    Good book, interesting plot, couldn't stop reading it, HOWEVER, seriously under edited. I had to skip a lot of boring repetitive dialogue and musings to keep my interest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Keeps you guessing! I'm a big fan, and was glad to see some soli

    Keeps you guessing! I'm a big fan, and was glad to see some solid back-story on Anna Pigeon. Some parts felt a little stretched, but all in all a great story and a really good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    I've read all the Anna Pigeon books but this could be the last o

    I've read all the Anna Pigeon books but this could be the last one I read. Anna's actions after she escapes the "jar" defy all logic. There's absolutely no reason for her to place herself in the position she does. I had to suspend belief at that point and just finish the book because "that's what I do!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Great book

    This is a winner. Exciting to know about Anna's start!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I have read all the Nevada Barr books in the Anna Pigeon series, and I thoroughly enjoyed all of them. This prequel is no exception--it was excellent. On a scale of one to ten, I would give it a ten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    Any Nevada Barr Fan Shouldn't Miss This!

    The story is really a "pre-quel" to the Anna Pigeon books. The character studies, including those of Anna and the other rangers is well delineated and interesting. Some parts of the book are exciting and thrilling The identity of the criminal is not a secret but the way he is brought to justice adds to the drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    Nevada Barr keeps getting better!

    This novel fleshes out Anna Pigeon's character and makes her more real. A great mystery, loads of information about the setting - everything that makes me love her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Think Twice!!

    This book was so boring I didn't even finish it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Best Anna pigeon yet!

    An excellent and interesting read to help the reader understand many of Anna's motivations and memories that make her such an interesting character. She has had many adventures, but none quite as desperate as this, yet her courage never really wavers. No great mystery, but still a wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Honestly, I have never read a bad book by Nevada Barr. Every sin

    Honestly, I have never read a bad book by Nevada Barr. Every single novel has been absolutely awesome. This one was especially good in that it shows her first experience with a mystery in a national park. Excellent book and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    The Rope

    Very good - 340 pagrs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    This is a good one. 

    This is a good one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Indomitable Anna's Origin

    A "prequel", if you will, from Ms. Barr of Anna Pigeon's beginning with the National Park Service. For those of you who've read all the rest of the series, this book goes back to when Anna has recently lost her husband, in her mid-30's, and feels the need to get away from New York, and those memories, as far as possible. She is fragile, and weak, and gets into one physical mess after another. She eventually realizes that she's stronger than she thinks, and despite repeated attempts on her life, she ultimately prevails. I really liked the concept, of going back with Anna. It'd had been several years since the last book, and I think Barr may have wondered where she would go with Anna. If you're a fan of Anna Pigeon, you will definitely like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    Having enjoyed the rest of the series, I was very disappointed i

    Having enjoyed the rest of the series, I was very disappointed in this one. Plot was totally ridiculous, both in terms of Anna's actions and especially those of the other rangers. One more like this and she's lost me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Alice

    Walks in wearing a tight white shirt. I dont care if ur male or female i just want some;)

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Sky to Chandler

    Hey Sexy! Im ready anytime you are ;) meet e a mirrors res 6 :) ill be waitig

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Cylia to Chandler

    She shakes her boo.bs back and forth in his face inviting him to suck her ti.ts. he doesnt notice but her hand slips down toward his sh.aft. when she grabs hus shaft he moans and she jams it in her puzzy she bends down and rips it out he gasps as she sucks it hrd she c.ums and it drips over his c.ock and on her fingers she puts them in his mouth and his eyes widen at tye taste she goes back in for more sueezing his c.ock its rock hard as she pushes it deeper and deeper she moans hard baby faster she sways back and forth grind me f.uck me so hard i want more she howls like and animal and kisses him with cu.m covered lips and her tongue dances wildly in his mouth she torques with his c.ock still in her puzzy he cu.ms and sh moans harder faster f.uck me baby she screams

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4