Customer Reviews for

The Rose and the Beast: Fairy Tales Retold

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Opinion Now and Then

I first read The Rose and the Beast when I was in seventh grade. I was a pretty sheltered child, and in 7th grade I was just learning about sex and rape and drugs and murder. I read said book thinking I was gonna get a treat like Donna Jo Napoli's Beast--- a beautiful, ...
I first read The Rose and the Beast when I was in seventh grade. I was a pretty sheltered child, and in 7th grade I was just learning about sex and rape and drugs and murder. I read said book thinking I was gonna get a treat like Donna Jo Napoli's Beast--- a beautiful, different telling of my favorite fairy tale. OH NO. This book was filled with sex, something that was then foreign and very dirty. My favorite fairy tales were ripped apart by the things that MADE them fairy tales. A world without sex without love, murder without justice, and mostly only good people. And so I threw it out of my mind. BUT...now that I've read it again, I LOVE IT. This book calls to the dark side of us that know fairy tales and the real world are two completely different things. And yet, there's something tragically poetic and emotionally stirring in these cryptic tales. At least give it a shot. You never know!!

posted by Lovely-Dovely on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Aweful retellings

I read fairy tale retellings alot because I love the old tales. Usually I also like the retellings...I was seventeen when I read the book, and after three stories I put the book down. The content of the stories made me wonder at first if the book had been put in the wr...
I read fairy tale retellings alot because I love the old tales. Usually I also like the retellings...I was seventeen when I read the book, and after three stories I put the book down. The content of the stories made me wonder at first if the book had been put in the wrong section, it belonges in the adult section. The book takes beautiful stories and makes them bad and trashy.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    I want my money back

    WOW! What a poorly written book, I couldnt get past the first two stories, the "book" is only 66 pgs and it was almost $10, it hope my money helps this writer get a proper education.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    A reviewer

    If you like fairy tales, don't read this. It rips them to shreads in the worst way possible. I especially do not recomend it to anyone under the age of 18. Disgusting, dishonorable and dissapointing.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Aweful retellings

    I read fairy tale retellings alot because I love the old tales. Usually I also like the retellings...I was seventeen when I read the book, and after three stories I put the book down. The content of the stories made me wonder at first if the book had been put in the wrong section, it belonges in the adult section. The book takes beautiful stories and makes them bad and trashy.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Way to ruin all the best fairy tales, Francesca Lia Block.

    It was horrible! Her demented and perverted mind bent all the beautiful stories I know and love into horrible mangled pieces of garbage. I don't think it's creative, intelligent, or 'artsy' in any way. It's complete garbage. Forgive me for not being particularly moved by bestiality and drug abuse, never mind that she completely negates the seriousness of rape and encourages promiscuity. She's filth, as far as I'm concerned. The only use for this book is kindling or potty training a new puppy.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I first started reading this I thought I was going to like it but it was terrible. She put so many curse words into the book. She puts rape into it. I agree with the other reviews. I only read half because the fairytales just go worse. I am also suprised that alot of the reviwers hated it too. If you lik fairytale books read Donna Jo Napoli or the Once Upon a time Series. Do Not read this.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    Um, what?

    I didn't like this book. But I find Block's writing to be 'either you love it or you hate it' type of stuff. This book was very trashy. It was not magical at all as I expected it to be. It wasn't even creative. Just trash, filth. I almost cried, because all the childhood stories were simply RUINED. And like other reviewers have said, it definitely tones down the seriousness of most of the issues mentioned in this book! Ridiculous. I do NOT reccomend this book. I've read Weetzie Bat, though, and that was simply a work of art. And all the books in that series. If you've only read this book from Block, I reccomend to not give up on her and check out a Weetzie Book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    What a waste of paper and money!

    I thought I was going to read a good version of the stories, instead I was reading trash! As a writer, why do you condone these types of actions especially for younger children. I'm not a child, and I'm not a prude, but I was so disgusted with the book, I tore it in little pieces, and threw it in the trash where it belonged!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Opinion Now and Then

    I first read The Rose and the Beast when I was in seventh grade. I was a pretty sheltered child, and in 7th grade I was just learning about sex and rape and drugs and murder. I read said book thinking I was gonna get a treat like Donna Jo Napoli's Beast--- a beautiful, different telling of my favorite fairy tale. OH NO. This book was filled with sex, something that was then foreign and very dirty. My favorite fairy tales were ripped apart by the things that MADE them fairy tales. A world without sex without love, murder without justice, and mostly only good people. And so I threw it out of my mind. BUT...now that I've read it again, I LOVE IT. This book calls to the dark side of us that know fairy tales and the real world are two completely different things. And yet, there's something tragically poetic and emotionally stirring in these cryptic tales. At least give it a shot. You never know!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    No matter what they all say...

    I loved it! yes, as a teen I still do love those dreamy, fairytales that you can get lost in. But in Block's way of telling the stories you can look at them in a different view, knowing there is a happily ever after in your own state of mind, not in a nonrealistic book. I think people could relate to at least one of the nine stories in some way, shape, or form. I loved this book, and not once did i ever think of the story literally, I tried to imagine the story deep within the text.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Ok

    I didn't think this book was that good. I mean, it had description and good images, but it didn't appeal to me that much. There was swearing, drugs, rape, and many other things that I think shouldn't have been there. But overall it was ok.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Love iit

    Loooooooove it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    awsome book

    the way this book is written is very intriguing. i couldnt put it down! i especially loved ice

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    At times, this book was truly wonderful, a unique perspective on

    At times, this book was truly wonderful, a unique perspective on some of our most famous fairy tales such as Snow White, Thumbelina and Beauty and the Beast. I was enchanted and could have recommended this book to young adults. It might have provided them with an alternative read to embrace.
    Then the swear words and references to drugs and alcohol began. I realize that some men and women choose to revel in this culture, destroying themselves and others around them. Nevertheless, I wouldn’t expose our youth to these cold, bitter alternatives. The lovely cover belies the treachery found within. I regret selecting this book and wish the author would have stuck to the good road instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    goodness gracious

    When i picked up this book i was really excited. i think i enjoyed one story out of the nine. each story was short and easy to read, so that was a plus, but man this book was bad. it was trashy and confusing. i will be blocking these short stories out of my mind as if i never read them so my original view of these fairy tales will not be tainted.

    if you want a good retelling of beauty and the beast read Beastly- before the film comes out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Keeps you on Edge

    The Rose and the Beast, Francesca Lia Block, is an intriguing short story book with nine different childhood stories rewritten to relate to the darker side of the 20th century. Each story uses a key part of the original fairy tale and adds a twist. Each of the nine stories is different and shocking in its own way which makes the book exciting to read. The author did a great job going into the story and each character and making it her own. My favorite of the short stories would have to be ¿Tiny¿ and ¿Beast¿. I enjoyed ¿Tiny¿ because it had a happy ending and it kept me guessing until the end. It was related to Thumbelina, but instead of using a bad guy, she makes her own choices to leave and leads herself into danger. ¿Beast¿ was also one of my favorites because although it didn't have a happy ending, it showed there can be good in all of us and turned the good ending of Beauty and the Beast into a sad ending that makes you want to try to be a better person because of people you love. My least favorite story, although hard to choose, would be ¿Ice¿ because of the heartbreak and betrayal throughout the whole story. I would highly recommend this book to mature readers that would like something new and entertaining that will keep them on the edge of their seats. Each story is written with such detail, I could imagine everything happening. Although shocking, each story has one¿s own personal moral and meaning behind the dark humor and leaves you wanting more. Young female, fantasy seekers, looking for an exciting book that uses fairy tales from childhood will not be dissatisfied with The Rose and the Beast. The tales turn each story into impacting and detailing shorter ones. This book earns high recommendation from this reviewer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Rose and the Beast: Fairy Tales Retold

    Fairy tales arentstorys for happily ever after! Thats Disneys portayal of them. Fairy tales where created to teach children about life and love. And that in every hardship there is happiness to be found. The original fairy tales have been written and rewritten to be just happily ever after mush, instead of the life lessons they where originaly ment to be. These versions of the fairy tales teach teens that the things that are deemd 'cool'and 'fun' have a harsh reality. Sort of a backwards motion then the original fairy tale's. What many seem to find 'filthy' and 'trashy'is just harsh realitys. Not the magical mystic made up world of happily ever after, but the reality oir practical thinking and truth. Those who hate it are just mad that they where shown not every story has a happy ending. Or, they are mad because they bought it for their 12 year old expecting it to be disney material. I recommend this book for 14 and above. Fairy tales think outside the box, this book thinks outside the box of the every day 'once apon a time'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Rose and the Beast: Fairy Tales Retold

    I like this book, I dont know why it is concidered a childs book, because it is more of a teen book. Fairy tales where originaly stories to teach children lessons. These tales teach skeptical teens more mature lessons. Fairys and witches dont bother the more matured mind. But the realitys of Drugs and sex do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    A very good portrayal

    This book was good! I don¿t know what people are talking about when they say this book wasn¿t good. Francesca Lia Block gives a good modern twist to each of these stories. Cause we have to face reality. Reality isn¿t always a happy ending. People die because of drugs! People do get abused! I know this is only my opinion but if there were more of these types of books out there then it would be considered a book that people would often buy. Not only does this book display realistic ideas this book was written very artistically. And I love the portrayals of little kid fairytales becoming something that teens can read at their level. I would recommend this to anyone over the age of 12. Younger kids would not understand this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    i did not like the book

    i did not like the book because there are some discusting stuff that i read in there that did not sound right. also the stories did not lound like the stories i have read. like with Snow she ends up rejecting the guy and decides to live the men that took care of her when she was little. this is a book that i do not reccremend to read for little chidren and teenagers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Genius Art

    Franscesca Lia Block proves once again that she remains one of the best storytellers of my time, through this re-writing of fairytales. The thing to remember is that before fairytales were adapted into bedtime stories, they were extremely dark and morbid. Block captures their essence perfectly, in a way that young adults can relate to. Block tackles forbidden subject matters such as rape, incest, murder, and homosexuality, twisting them into an intricate string of lyrical words that add to the storylines and don't take them away. Only a pure genius can do that, and Block is certainly one. This book is a study of unique and brilliant storytelling, and it's not just for teens. Read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3