Customer Reviews for

The Rose and the Thorn (Riyria Chronicles Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Excellent Riyira tale!

    this was a gripping novel even though I already knew how it had to end from Riyria Revelations. I was surprised that both the thieves and the royal family featured in the story, knowing that they woudn't meet for ten years, yet the two stories interwove themselves masterfully. I was gripped with suspence knowing what had to happen, yet at the same time not knowing how it would.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Excellent

    This is the 2nd book in the Riyria Chronicles and a prequel to the Theft of Swords. Author Michael Sullivan has written them in such a way that you can read either Riyria Revelation first or Riyria Chronicles first and not become confused or feel you are missing some of the story. Michael Sullivan has developed some intriguing characters and developed a world and story that will pull you in and give you hours and hours of reading pleasure. You will not want to stop until you reach the last page of the last book and then you'll be craving MORE. These books can be read and enjoyed by anyone from 10 to 100. There is no foul language, sex or explicit violence, even though the main characters are all adults with not so savory pasts and occupations. Michael Sullivan is one of the rare authors who can write strong emotions and make you feel them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Amazing! Read this book (and series)!

    This should be the last book you read in the Riyria series. He wrote The Riyria Revelations, and this book is the last book in its prequel. Yes, you can read the prequel first... but isn't it more fun to read them in the direction he wrote them?

    Royce and Hadrian are two of the most developed characters. I fell in love with them right away. Royce and his dark evil approach, along with Hadrian and his chivalry. I honestly can't decide who I like more.

    Specifically in this book it talked about (Ruben) Hilfred. I started to like him allot in Revelations, but Chronicles just made me like him more...

    I honestly can't get over this series... Mr Michael J. Sullivan needs to keep writing things like this. Maybe more stories. Maybe more novels with unlikely heroes, since he does it so well. This is a must read and I personally highly recommended. Great characters and great adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh yes!! Whether you read the original series or not, this is a great one to learn some scary pasts and see Royce & Hadrian work their magic.

    Reuben Hilfred, a stable boy whom the Squires look down upon as he's of no money and his father never married his mother, is coming of age to enter the castle soldiers. He admires the young princess from a far never thinking he'll get close to her, until the day he is told to ride with her on her outing our of the castle grounds. Not knowing how to use a sword, he still puts his life on the line to save the princess. Reuben makes some strong friends in this act, and one who he wants to see him as more ends up blaming him in the end for not doing more when she wanted. The Autumn Gala is approaching and is Reuben's first on-duty day, to celebrate in honor of the new chancellor too.

    Royce and Hadrian return to see Gwen, who saved their lives and they can't forget, for the first time since death was knocking at their doors. To learn there is more going on than expected when Gwen had the girls turn them away. There is a man out looking for one of Gwen's girls who has not returned home, and his actions have stirred Royce and Hadrian to action. Royce's past comes to knowledge here as he does what he feels needs done to the men who have harmed Gwen, and a warning to any who might.

    We meet and see the big play in Melford history Reuben Hilfred has. His back story is very important to our characters. I knew he was important, but *whistle* this important? I never would have thought. Wow.

    We see Royce and Hadrian. Royce... wow! We see a darker side of Royce here, which I love seeing. But Royce also learns, do to results of his actions, that there is more than acting and killing. To think and use words to get action as well. Hadrian learns others aren't always "good" and innocent as he likes to give everyone credit for before really knowing them.

    There is a thread between all the characters and I like seeing the connection to Gwen's place; through Rose.

    Royce and Hadrian pick up a new associate along the way of returning to Medford. Have you read the short story The Viscount and the Witch? There is a chapter in this story that is that short story. So you will recognize it immediately. And it's great to see where that short story leads too.

    I loved seeing the Pickering's again. The father and the boys. Goodness do I love their spirit and fun. They are really kind people. It's great to see Alric and Arista young and carefree before their mother's and father's death. Simply Royal children.

    If you've not read any books with these characters by Michael, do so. You can start anywhere and grow with them in their world. For those who have read Riyria Revelations, there are still surprises we didn't know of before. Read them! This story can be read before or after the Riyria Revelations. If after, you will see all the ground work laid of the happenings in the series. You could read this one before or after The Crown Tower as well. There are hints to happenings in The Crown Tower, but not spoiled beyond what you already know is to happen. This story is strictly focused on this books happenings and does come to a close.

    Seeing the back story unfold leaves me wondering if Michael's had these written for years before the Riyria Revelations. The back story fits PERFECTLY with the series. Good grief the happenings, they bring me right back to the world and the feelings I had in the Riyria Revelations, even more worries as I know what will happen in the series. But...* speechless* Wow. To see th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Wonderful series

    The characters are so alive. I lived, fought and mourned with. Wonderful addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1