Customer Reviews for

The Rosie Project

Average Rating 4
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

The book was absolutely delightful. I didn¿t want to put it down

The book was absolutely delightful. I didn’t want to put it down once I started reading. The author has done an outstanding job creating realistic likeable characters, or in one case, a true scuzzball. All of the main characters grow and develop over the course of the s...
The book was absolutely delightful. I didn’t want to put it down once I started reading. The author has done an outstanding job creating realistic likeable characters, or in one case, a true scuzzball. All of the main characters grow and develop over the course of the story as they learn from their experiences. I found myself rooting for Don, the main character, and Rosie each step of their journey to find a wife for Don and Rosie’s biological father. I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a book with endearing but also complex characters and a story that is inspiring without being sappy.

Don is a professor of genetics at a university. He is also definitely on the autism spectrum although he does not seem to realize that he is. He wants to find a wife but the problem is he has never even been on a date. So in his usual methodical manner he decides to create the Wife Project, a sixteen-page questionnaire designed to find his perfect partner. It does not go over well with the women he meets. Another professor at the university, one of his two friends, takes a look at the questionnaire and its results suggests that he send Don a candidate. He sends Rosie to meet Don. Rosie is one her own quest to find her biological father and needs help from a geneticist. Don decides very quickly that Rosie is not a potential wife but he offers it help her try to find her father. The two of them embark on a whirlwind adventure of discovery mostly about who they really are and how you can’t decide ahead of time who you will fall in love with.

Disclosure: I received this book as part of a Goodreads giveaway on the premise that I would review it.

posted by MomcatKL on October 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Meh. That's how I feel about The Rosie Project. This book receiv

Meh. That's how I feel about The Rosie Project. This book received 4.11 stars on Goodreads. I usually really trust the star rating on Goodreads ... I use it constantly to give myself an idea of what to expect from a book and this time, I felt betrayed. I expected a four...
Meh. That's how I feel about The Rosie Project. This book received 4.11 stars on Goodreads. I usually really trust the star rating on Goodreads ... I use it constantly to give myself an idea of what to expect from a book and this time, I felt betrayed. I expected a four star book and I was saddled with a 1.5 star book. I decided to go ahead and give the book the extra half a star because at least the author was grammatically correct throughout the entire thing.

When I first heard about The Rosie Project, I was really excited. I thought that the premise was adorable and I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. To my surprise, I won an ARC of the book through a Goodreads giveaway and I would get to read it before everyone else (insert nana-nana-na-na).

My excitement was quickly extinguished once I cracked open that book and read the first page. BORRRRING! Hell, I know that sounds so rude but it's what is going through my head. I would hate to sugarcoat things and spew sunshine and rainbows when that's not how I feel.

The main character is Don Tillman ... this Don character was a freaking nut job. He micromanaged his life down to the second. He is so stuck in the routine of his life that he doesn't actually live. He just exists. That's fine ... be anal retentive. Be weird. I have no problem with that. I have a problem with it a book being written like the back of a shampoo bottle. It was boring and I just couldn't wait for it to be over.

Every single person that Don met, he would calculate their BMI. Every. Single. Time. It got old. Really quickly. Don also pointed out a persons faults in his head. Every time he spoke to someone. I found myself saying, "OH, MY GOSH" quite frequently because after a while of reading about these weird things Don does, it just became annoyingly annoying (that's the worst kind of annoying).

It makes me wonder ... are books like children? Do they just want attention, no matter what kind it is? Good attention, bad attention ... kids don't care one iota, they just want attention. Is bad attention for a book good as well? By writing this scathing review, am I sending people to pick up this book? Will I be held responsible if someone drops into a coma because of my review?!? I sure hope not. Because there won't be enough hospital beds for the victims.

posted by LittleMissBookmark on September 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The book was absolutely delightful. I didn¿t want to put it down

    The book was absolutely delightful. I didn’t want to put it down once I started reading. The author has done an outstanding job creating realistic likeable characters, or in one case, a true scuzzball. All of the main characters grow and develop over the course of the story as they learn from their experiences. I found myself rooting for Don, the main character, and Rosie each step of their journey to find a wife for Don and Rosie’s biological father. I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a book with endearing but also complex characters and a story that is inspiring without being sappy.

    Don is a professor of genetics at a university. He is also definitely on the autism spectrum although he does not seem to realize that he is. He wants to find a wife but the problem is he has never even been on a date. So in his usual methodical manner he decides to create the Wife Project, a sixteen-page questionnaire designed to find his perfect partner. It does not go over well with the women he meets. Another professor at the university, one of his two friends, takes a look at the questionnaire and its results suggests that he send Don a candidate. He sends Rosie to meet Don. Rosie is one her own quest to find her biological father and needs help from a geneticist. Don decides very quickly that Rosie is not a potential wife but he offers it help her try to find her father. The two of them embark on a whirlwind adventure of discovery mostly about who they really are and how you can’t decide ahead of time who you will fall in love with.

    Disclosure: I received this book as part of a Goodreads giveaway on the premise that I would review it.

    36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Great Read

    I highly recommend this book. I loved it. It is told from the point of view of Don. He is a professor and has Asperger's. It a funny, lovely romance. Don did not think he would ever be able to find a wife for himself as he is not good in social situations. As he says at the beginning of the book, he has 2 friends, Gene and his wife, 4 if he counts their children. But another tells him he would make a good husband so he creates the "Wife Project". This in turn leads him to Rosie. Please read this book if you like funny romances with a bit of a twist.

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Loved every quirky page

    You're in for a real treat with this one! No spoilers...just kick back and enjoy. Hilarious and moving, ya gotta love it! One of the most original love stories I've ever read! Enough said...read it!

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    Such an amazing book!! A must read...

    This is not just an amazing read but it is also brilliantly written. The main characters quirkiness will win your heart and you will find yourself rooting for him thru the entire book. "Rosie" is masterfully written character. She is trendy, smart, savy, and surprisingly perfect. In today's crazy,odd, scary world of dating "Dons" approach and follow thru is genius. This is a quick read so it makes it perfect for a vacation book or a simple long weekend mind getaway. I read, also, Sony has optioned it for a movie! This would be amazing on the big screen. Happy reading!

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    LOVE THE BIG BANG THEORY? READ THIS!

    Fantastic read that is perfect mix of science, drama, comedy and romance. I would best descibe it as what it would be like if Sheldon Cooper was trying to find a wife. Science and structure rule over the main character Don, but his world gets flipped topsy when Rosie comes into the picture. Funny read with plenty of sarcasm and wit and just the right amount of mush. Side note: met the author at a book signing in Nashville TN: incredibly nice bloke. Just as funny as you'd imagine. You should buy his book. It is a fabulous read.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Exceptional

    A 10 on a scale from 1-5! One of the best books I've read in years! It's perfect for both a casual reader and a university classroom.

    23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Funny and clever

    I didnt want it to enD!

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    Excellent book. Enjoyable, quick read.  I was rooting for Don th

    Excellent book. Enjoyable, quick read.  I was rooting for Don throughout. Some strong language was the only negative in my opinion. 

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Good read!

    I have clients with ocd and issues like these characters, so it was written realistically. Very cute book, only thing is, I saw a lot of the situations ahead of time, so the author needs to not 'telegraph' the next scenario so well, before it starts.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Loved it!

    I was learly of buying this book due to poor reviews, but since it was only a couple bucks, I took the chance. So glad I did! If you don't know/work with people with ASD, you might not "get" this book, and that would be your loss. A great exploration of how sometimes it is us "neurotypicals" who are the ones that are REALLY screwed up.

    I don't usually write reviews, but this book deserved one!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Best read in a long time!

    I can literally count on both hands the number of "page-turners" I've read in my nearly 40 years of life. This book was one of them...I could not put it down! A compelling and smart romantic comedy, The Rosie Project will delight anyone who is a romantic at heart!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Loved it.

    Love this book. Not your normal love story. Really hated that I finished the book. Some parts are laugh out funny.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    A great read!

    Such an unusually clever story that tugs at all your emotions. You are intrigued, amused and literally invested in the main character and his journey from the first page. One of those books where you hate to reach the last page. I'd recommend this book for readers who enjoy interesting characters,observational and often unintentional humor and a fresh, non-formula story.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Well Bill Gates rated it his top 6 so I had to read.!!!....fabul

    Well Bill Gates rated it his top 6 so I had to read.!!!....fabulous and agreed could not put it down!!! Need a movie but who would play the main!???? Great read

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Laugh out loud funny.

    Laugh out loud funny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Delightful and fun; when I first read it I thought it was unlike

    Delightful and fun; when I first read it I thought it was unlike anything else I'd read but maybe it fits the John Irving mold a bit (his better earlier ones). But in this one you genuinely laugh out loud in a number of scenes. Will never think of a virgin margarita in quite the same way...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    A hilarious book, so fun and heartwarming. I've recommended it t

    A hilarious book, so fun and heartwarming. I've recommended it to friends, and all agree!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    This was a very entertaining book. You know from the beginning t

    This was a very entertaining book. You know from the beginning that The Wife Project will probably be a disaster, but it was fun to see how it led Don to interact with a variety of women he normally would not have even spoken to. The Father Project adds an element of mystery that keeps you guessing throughout the book. I enjoyed seeing Don's character change as he realized he wanted more out of life and that it was worth making the effort to win over Rosie. There were also some heartbreaking moments before it was all said and done.

    It helps if you've seen Sheldon Cooper on The Big Bang Theory to get an idea of Don's speech patterns and mannerisms, but Don definitely has his own personality. The character may be a stereotype, but it does give you an appreciation for the challenges faced by people on the autism spectrum.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Recommended Reading

    What can you say about The Rosie Project that has not been expressed by others? This book made me laugh out loud which was a perfect antidote to holiday stress. Very engaging characters and an enjoyable plot. I look forward to more from this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    A great find!

    Not what I expected, but oh so good. Sometimes you have to get off the beaten track of mysteries, etc. This book took me there with very enjoyable twists and turns. Well done, and enlightening about Aspergers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8