Customer Reviews for

The Rosie Project

Average Rating 4
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

The book was absolutely delightful. I didn¿t want to put it down

The book was absolutely delightful. I didn’t want to put it down once I started reading. The author has done an outstanding job creating realistic likeable characters, or in one case, a true scuzzball. All of the main characters grow and develop over the course of the s...
The book was absolutely delightful. I didn’t want to put it down once I started reading. The author has done an outstanding job creating realistic likeable characters, or in one case, a true scuzzball. All of the main characters grow and develop over the course of the story as they learn from their experiences. I found myself rooting for Don, the main character, and Rosie each step of their journey to find a wife for Don and Rosie’s biological father. I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a book with endearing but also complex characters and a story that is inspiring without being sappy.

Don is a professor of genetics at a university. He is also definitely on the autism spectrum although he does not seem to realize that he is. He wants to find a wife but the problem is he has never even been on a date. So in his usual methodical manner he decides to create the Wife Project, a sixteen-page questionnaire designed to find his perfect partner. It does not go over well with the women he meets. Another professor at the university, one of his two friends, takes a look at the questionnaire and its results suggests that he send Don a candidate. He sends Rosie to meet Don. Rosie is one her own quest to find her biological father and needs help from a geneticist. Don decides very quickly that Rosie is not a potential wife but he offers it help her try to find her father. The two of them embark on a whirlwind adventure of discovery mostly about who they really are and how you can’t decide ahead of time who you will fall in love with.

Disclosure: I received this book as part of a Goodreads giveaway on the premise that I would review it.

posted by MomcatKL on October 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Meh. That's how I feel about The Rosie Project. This book receiv

Meh. That's how I feel about The Rosie Project. This book received 4.11 stars on Goodreads. I usually really trust the star rating on Goodreads ... I use it constantly to give myself an idea of what to expect from a book and this time, I felt betrayed. I expected a four...
Meh. That's how I feel about The Rosie Project. This book received 4.11 stars on Goodreads. I usually really trust the star rating on Goodreads ... I use it constantly to give myself an idea of what to expect from a book and this time, I felt betrayed. I expected a four star book and I was saddled with a 1.5 star book. I decided to go ahead and give the book the extra half a star because at least the author was grammatically correct throughout the entire thing.

When I first heard about The Rosie Project, I was really excited. I thought that the premise was adorable and I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. To my surprise, I won an ARC of the book through a Goodreads giveaway and I would get to read it before everyone else (insert nana-nana-na-na).

My excitement was quickly extinguished once I cracked open that book and read the first page. BORRRRING! Hell, I know that sounds so rude but it's what is going through my head. I would hate to sugarcoat things and spew sunshine and rainbows when that's not how I feel.

The main character is Don Tillman ... this Don character was a freaking nut job. He micromanaged his life down to the second. He is so stuck in the routine of his life that he doesn't actually live. He just exists. That's fine ... be anal retentive. Be weird. I have no problem with that. I have a problem with it a book being written like the back of a shampoo bottle. It was boring and I just couldn't wait for it to be over.

Every single person that Don met, he would calculate their BMI. Every. Single. Time. It got old. Really quickly. Don also pointed out a persons faults in his head. Every time he spoke to someone. I found myself saying, "OH, MY GOSH" quite frequently because after a while of reading about these weird things Don does, it just became annoyingly annoying (that's the worst kind of annoying).

It makes me wonder ... are books like children? Do they just want attention, no matter what kind it is? Good attention, bad attention ... kids don't care one iota, they just want attention. Is bad attention for a book good as well? By writing this scathing review, am I sending people to pick up this book? Will I be held responsible if someone drops into a coma because of my review?!? I sure hope not. Because there won't be enough hospital beds for the victims.

posted by LilMissBookmark on September 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 165 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    I highly recommend The Rosie Project. It was original and well

    I highly recommend The Rosie Project. It was original and well written. I loved every minute of it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Wonderful

    This book is tender, creative, touching, and very well written. The growth of the main character is believable but astounding. Highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    wonderful

    Well written abd engaging

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book. It was not what I was expecting at

    I absolutely loved this book. It was not what I was expecting at all. The book is written from Don's (the main character) point of view. He is completely lovable and hilarious. You find youreself rooting for him and groaning with all of his missteps. This is one book that I would love to see turned into a movie. I could not put this book down. I was really shocked to see reviews where people called the book boring. I was absoluelty riveted. The main character almost reminder me of the character Stuart Pritchard from the HBO series Hello Ladies.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    I found the book as much about obsessive -compulsive disorders a

    I found the book as much about obsessive -compulsive disorders as I did Asperger's Syndrome. The tedium that some readers will experience has as much to do our lack of empathy with anyone different than ourselves. Don was beautifully portrayed as the individual he is, with Rosie turning his world upside-down. She is the perfect foil.
    Thanks for a great read! And yes I paid retail for my copy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    I wasn't sure about reading this book. I had heard so much talk

    I wasn't sure about reading this book. I had heard so much talk about it but for some reason it didn't seem like something I would pick up. Much to my surprise and delight, I LOVED THIS BOOK. it grabbed me from the very beginning and I couldn't put it down. The characters were so much fun and quirky. It is a story about relationships and what we all seem to expect from them. Don and Rosie are the main characters of this book. Don is s follow the rules, very schedule orientated kind of guy. He doesn't like to deviate from this schedule. Rosie is an out there kind of girl. She dresses wild and says what she wants and she shakes Don's life to the core. Their journey is fun and laugh out loud hilarity. I read it in one sitting and I am sad that it is over. I definitely recommend this book for everyone. It is not just a romance it is so much more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    excellent

    Laugh out loud funny with wonderful insight into the characters motivations and quirks.
    Highly recommended

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Too Funny!

    This book was an interesting and funny look into someone who is determined to pick a mate based on a scientific method only to find that love doesn't quite work that way. If you know anyone with OCD or Asperger's, you'll really "get it.'' It was a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    This book is a beautiful love story and the voice is one I've ne

    This book is a beautiful love story and the voice is one I've never heard before. It's just lovely. Reminds me of ONE DAY by David Nicholls.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    A great fun story. I can really relate to the characters and me

    A great fun story. I can really relate to the characters and meet a number of academics that seem a lot like Don. We need stories like this
    to divert us from all the heavy stuff we get from the media.

    I am really looking forward to the sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    This is a laugh out loud book that has the fast pace of Big Bang

    This is a laugh out loud book that has the fast pace of Big Bang Theory with the internal character dialogue and introspection that only a book can give. It’s a fast enjoyable read, adoptable by all ages. My mother loved it, and recommended it to her book club. Now they are all fans. And my daughter snatched my copy of the book and is sharing it with her friends.
    The main characters are intelligently created. They are likeable and realistic with a captivating adventure story that is never dull. Don is just like that IT geek in the office; and Gene is just like that manipulating boss you try and avoid. These vivid characters work their magic through a story that is light hearted “boys own” adventure.
    Only downside is that I want to know what happens next

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    In my student days I shared a house with a near duplicate of Don

    In my student days I shared a house with a near duplicate of Don Tillman, so The Rosie Project has particular resonance. While many difficult and often exasperating situations arose due to the Asperger Syndrome, what surprised me was how this person was able to get on with life, very successfully as it turns out, by anyone's yardstick, and that society was sufficiently resilient to accommodate their eccentricities. There will be many people whose relationship with mainstream society is not harmonious, every teenager for example, who will be able to identify with Don and be uplifted by his unlikely successes. While Don is a perfectly accurately drawn and realistic individual, his character also works as an amplified version of many an average Joe's sense of alienation. An awfully large percentage of the population will be identifying with Don. His extremes will make them feel less strange. Combined with an entertaining plot and often hilarious situations, here is a novel with very broad appeal, and well worth the single sitting in which many people I know have devoured
    the novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    This is a wonderful story! I couldn't put it down and at the sam

    This is a wonderful story! I couldn't put it down and at the same time, I didn't want the story to end.  Bravo, Graeme Simsion!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Delightful characters, quirky, well developed. Unique premise- wife shopping using a list of " must have" characteristics. Introduction to Aspergers Syndrome. Sympathetic viewpoint. Portrayed. Thoroughly enjoyed by all members of my book group.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Annonomous

    Wonderful book ! If you know a person with Asperger's. You will really appreciate it even more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this story! I did not know quite where it was going in t

    I loved this story! I did not know quite where it was going in the beginning, but i started to get a good feeling
    about  Don,  who obviously has a personality disorder. I am glad I did not give up because the story grabbed
    my heart , I laughed and cried. I thought it was a delightful and very interesting story.
    I look forward to the next one! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    I really liked this quirky romance. I felt like I was reading a

    I really liked this quirky romance. I felt like I was reading about another Doc Martin type, and found it fresh and funny.


    I usually pick
    serious historical fiction books to read, but this was a nice change. I did not find the things Don does annoying, but then I am open to new things, and have a quirky sense of humor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Highly recommended - everyone must read!

    My book club had read a couple of heavy downer kinds of books so we had decided to just choose from a selection of 4 books that had been mentioned at our meeting. My friend called me and told me she was reading The Rosie Project and if I wanted an enjoyable read I should get it. I love a book that can make me laugh out loud and this definitely did that for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Good book

    Loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    A delightful book

    If you need some out loud laughter this is a book for you! Our book club is reading it this month. This is a rare treat with prose that goes on like a super hiking trail. You don't want the adventure to end because everyone is lively and living life in their own crazy way. The protagonist thinks and acts with such character. Read it! You'll love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 165 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9