Customer Reviews for

The Royal Sheikh

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    An enchanting romance

    Katheryn Lane's The Royal Sheikh was full of chemistry and passion, and my heart went out to Clare from moments of meeting her. Rafiq was mysterious and handsome, and I was pulling for Clare from the moment they first met. The vivid details took me to the Arabian Peninsula, which I thoroughly enjoyed. The characters were interesting but not too perfect, and I couldn't wait to finish reading. An enchanting romance that warmed my heart! Way to go, Ms. Lane! Can't wait to read Ms. Lane's latest novel, Her Latin Lover!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    An Exotic Escape!

    Thank you, Katheryn Lane, for the exotic adventure of Clare and Prince Rafiq of Bahir! Every girl dreams of finding their Prince Charming, Clare found hers purely by accident - those are the best kind. The setup for this story is believable. Rafiq is royalty and he's hounded by the press, but you'll soon discover in Ms. Lane's story, that despite his wealth and notoriety, he possesses the heart of a common man who's looking for 'the real thing'. He finds it, in Clare McKay. This tale is filled with conflict - some from Rafiq and Clare being from two different worlds, but also the realistic conflict of learning to trust and how easy it is to believe the worst. Ms. Lane expertly played the sexual tension between these two characters (at the risk of revealing too much, I'll leave it at that. You'll just have to read it to discover what I'm talking about). Their passion was not limited to just physical attraction - I loved how the author gave them the passion for art. The details of London and Bahir, made me want to be there to experience them firsthand. :-)) This story is sweet, heartwarming, yet sexy. You're in for a treat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by the author for review Review or

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by the author for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I had been eying this book for a while now. The title itself brings to mind the Harlequin Presents line, which always features people from far off lands, like Arabian Sheikhs. I’d just finished reading Ms Lane’s book Her Latin Lover, which wasn’t bad, just a little lackluster. So I figured I’d better give her another try by reading The Royal Sheikh. And I wasn’t disappointed.

    The book is far from perfect. I found Clare to be overly emotional for my tastes. I kept wanting to reach into my Kindle and shake some sense into her. But at the same time, given the whirlwind romance and exotic, high profile world she landed herself in, I believe that your average woman would likely be just as emotional.

    And then there’s Rafiq. He’s the image of the rich, handsome, playboy prince that every girl dreams to meet and fall in love with. It was interesting to watch Rafiq, not so much fight his feelings, but rather hide them and then stumble along as he screws up his relationship with Clare. At times I wanted to smack him as well, when his domineering, stereotypical Arab male, side made an appearance. But he made up for it in the end, so all was forgiven.

    The plot wasn’t unique, but it had enough twists and turns to make it enjoyable. I’d like to see Ms Lane work on less telling and more showing (meaning more conversation) in future books, as sometimes it felt we spent too much time in the character’s heads and not enough time actually developing them and their relationship. And a few times she veered into random peoples heads, which was unnecessary. But overall, this was a good read and I’d recommend to those who do enjoy the Harlequin Presents books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Author: Katheryn Lane Published by: K.L. Age Recommended: Adult

    Author: Katheryn Lane
    Published by: K.L.
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Rating: 4


    Review:


    "The Royal Sheikh" by Katheryn Lane was a real good romantic read for me. How this author was able to get this architect (Clare) and 'Middle Eastern Prince'(Rafiq) together was definitely a work of art. This prince had been known simply as a 'Playboy Prince'..but was this all true? "The Royal sheikh" was a light read that turned out to be very sweet and romantic... but not necessarily 'steamy.' I really did like the way Ms. Lane kept the story moving forward. The characters ...especially Clare's friend Louise was just that ...a true friend. Now, this is where I will say to find out all... you must pick up this good read to find out just what is going on in the enchanting romance with this prince.

    If you are looking for a quick light romantic read... I would definitely recommend "The Royal Sheikh" to you as a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    This is a great exotic read. Clare and Sheikh Rafiq are fantasti

    This is a great exotic read. Clare and Sheikh Rafiq are fantastic as the English career woman and the sexy rich royal! I was looking for some wonderful romance and passion and found it in this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I could not stop reading...

    Reviewed by Lisa M. for Readers Favorite

    "The Royal Sheikh" is a classic story of fantasy and fiction. Sheikh Rafiq Kahil is known as the "Playboy Prince". He is the ideal guy for many of the ladies in Arabia; he has the looks, intelligence and the cash to attract many women. Claire McKay is a self-sufficient architect intern with the goal to become a partner with her employer's architect firm. Both of them meet at an art collection and things take quite a turn. Their meeting starts off on a bumpy greeting, when Claire becomes suspicious of Rafiq's generosity. Rafiq is also suspicious of Claire when he thinks she is like most women he has known, for instance a gold-digger and a bimbo. Claire and Rafiq become amazed at how this relationship can become the best and the worst of their imaginations.

    I liked reading this story. I could not stop reading until I finished the book. The author Katheryn Lane gives vivid details of the main characters, Rafiq and Claire. The author also makes the reader imagine all the amenities of living in Arabic royalty and of the Arabic culture and customs. I think this book is a great romantic story of how a charming, tanned and handsome prince realizes that not any woman, including a Princess, is the desire of a prince, and that the characteristics of a person should be the most important factor in deciding what is the right status of becoming a princess to a prince in marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Sweet and old-fashioned

    I was advised that this was a romance classified as 'sweet' in terms of levels of 'page sizzling' content. It was indeed 'sweet', but it was also very sweet as in old-fashioned. Not that I have actually read any, but it did occur to me that this might be a very Mills & Boon/Harlequin-romance-type novel. It was probably typical in that the format was quite stereotyped and predictable - boy meets girl, falls in love with girl at first sight, does his best to find her when he fails to find out her contact details, chance and luck play their parts, then follow misunderstandings causing boy and girl to break up, but boy and girl can't live without each other, chance and luck are at it again and before you know it, it all ends...? Don't forget I did say it was predictable.

    I liked it - it was indulgently sugary, innocent, charming and gave you a warm feelgood afterglow. It wasn't taxing, it was delightfully easy to read and the author had a very pleasant and especially refreshing style. There was something very clean and crisp in the writing as a result of the author's avoidance of any contractions in the narrative (not a 'wasn't' or 'didn't' to be found). It was very hard not to care about the two main characters, Clare and Rafiq. They were both independent, knew what they wanted and the misunderstandings that gave their relationship the runaround were neatly laced into their lives, never leaving you frustrated or wishing the pace of the story would step up a gear. Not a long novel, but it was well designed.

    I think I prefer a slightly more robust romance - something in the middle of 'sweet' and erotica - but it was hard not to like this; it was light, airy and enjoyable, just right for a quick and uncomplicated read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1