Customer Reviews for

The Scandal Before Christmas: A Holiday Novella

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Scandal Before Christmas by Elizabeth Essex It all starts w

The Scandal Before Christmas by Elizabeth Essex

It all starts with a tyrant of a father telling his son (Ian) he has to marry to produce an heir because his brother has been injured, the son then lies and says he is already married and then it is a race against time to...
The Scandal Before Christmas by Elizabeth Essex

It all starts with a tyrant of a father telling his son (Ian) he has to marry to produce an heir because his brother has been injured, the son then lies and says he is already married and then it is a race against time to find a bride. In a chance meeting in a pub Ian meets an old ship mate and tells him his tale and what type of wife he is looking for, and just by chance his ship mates daughter fits the bill. The story then goes on to their meeting and how you can not read a book by its cover, as he assumes Anne is plain and he ges onto find out she is everything he wants and needs. This is a very enjoyable historical novel, well worth a read. 

posted by caitlinallycesmum on November 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is the first book I've read from this author.  It's the fir

This is the first book I've read from this author.  It's the first Christmas book I've read this season. I needed a short story for the day and it was just right. Elizabeth did a great job developing her characters and she came up with an interesting plot. There is Anne...
This is the first book I've read from this author.  It's the first Christmas book I've read this season. I needed a short story for the day and it was just right. Elizabeth did a great job developing her characters and she came up with an interesting plot. There is Anne, a shy and mousy girl who everyone believes is plain and boring. There is Navy Lt  Ian Worth whose Viscount father has decided to make Ian his heir as his brother is seriously injured. The plot thickens. It took me about 4hours to read this book today. I was sad it was over but seeing as it is a Christmas story you know it will end happily. But how will it end? Buy this book and you will enjoy this story too.  

posted by celticmaggie on October 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    The Scandal Before Christmas by Elizabeth Essex It all starts w

    The Scandal Before Christmas by Elizabeth Essex

    It all starts with a tyrant of a father telling his son (Ian) he has to marry to produce an heir because his brother has been injured, the son then lies and says he is already married and then it is a race against time to find a bride. In a chance meeting in a pub Ian meets an old ship mate and tells him his tale and what type of wife he is looking for, and just by chance his ship mates daughter fits the bill. The story then goes on to their meeting and how you can not read a book by its cover, as he assumes Anne is plain and he ges onto find out she is everything he wants and needs. This is a very enjoyable historical novel, well worth a read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book I've read from this author.  It's the fir

    This is the first book I've read from this author.  It's the first Christmas book I've read this season. I needed a short story for the day and it was just right. Elizabeth did a great job developing her characters and she came up with an interesting plot. There is Anne, a shy and mousy girl who everyone believes is plain and boring. There is Navy Lt  Ian Worth whose Viscount father has decided to make Ian his heir as his brother is seriously injured. The plot thickens. It took me about 4hours to read this book today. I was sad it was over but seeing as it is a Christmas story you know it will end happily. But how will it end? Buy this book and you will enjoy this story too.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reckless Brides Book 3.5. Ian Worth is a Lieutenant in His M

    Reckless Brides Book 3.5.




    Ian Worth is a Lieutenant in His Majesty's Royal Navy, but his father wants him to come home and take over his injured brother's place as heir.  Ian has other ideas.  He enlists the help of a former comrade-in-arms to find a bride before Christmas.  Anne Lesley is a quiet girl, but she has so many words floating around in her mind.  Can she get them out to preserve the match she hopes to make with Ian?




    If you're looking for a quick Holiday read with heart, this is the story for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Not worth your time

    After reading the first book in this series, I purchased this one as a short, fun read. The characters are not developed well, and the story progresses too quickly to be believable. The heroine is uninteresting, with few redeeming qualities, which makes the story seem overly contrived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    It was OK.......................................................

    It was OK......................................................................................
    If you can buy the premise that the girl went from a painfully shy recluse to a sex kitten in 3 day.  Well, Ian seemed pretty hot so maybe it could happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    I find it refreshing to occasionally read a story that isn¿t ful

    I find it refreshing to occasionally read a story that isn’t full of angst and Essex manages to bring readers an enthralling story that is simple, heartfelt and engaging but without a lot of issues, lies or misunderstandings.

    The Scandal Before Christmas is full of warmth, humor and romance, and I was quickly enamored by Ian and Anne. They are both odd ducks in their families, but find that the family they could create together might just be the perfect place for them. I haven’t read any of the other “Reckles Brides” books (or another Elizabeth Essex book that I know of) but I can definitely say I have been missing out.

    Full review avialable at Romantic Reads and Such on wordpress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Bland

    Bland heroine, common storyline, predictable ending, no chemistry, no humor or action. Not a bad book but very bland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    GovernessInRed's Book Review: 4.5 stars! You can never ever go

    GovernessInRed's Book Review:

    4.5 stars!
    You can never ever go wrong with a book (or novella!) by Elizabeth Essex. There is substance to her writing. It’s seductive and oooh-so-satisfying. 
    I adored this novella! It’s fast paced, well written and fun. I love novellas like this. Ms. Essex writes exquisitely and I found myself lusting after Lieutenant Ian Worth.  He grabbed ahold of my heart and wouldn’t let go. Who doesn’t love a hard, rough & tough navy guy? Seriously.
    The characters are compelling and the storyline is engaging. The passion between Ian and Anne is slap-your-panties-to-the-wall-and-let-them-stick hotness! It was a while before I could cool down. *whew*
    I love when characters in a book realize looks aren’t always everything.  Love is good. Trust is even better.... and when you find someone who makes you be honest with yourself, every bit of yourself, that’s a keeper.  That’s why I loved this novella. 
    I read several reviews from readers who didn’t like it. I think they had given up quicker than a fat cop chasing a teenager. Read it all the way through, ladies. You’ll be so glad you did.
    Find a perfect excuse to immense yourself in this story. It won’t take you long. It’s escapism at it’s finest.  Do you really need another reason?
    So, huzzah for Anne and Ian! It’s been one heck of an enjoyable read.
    ***ARC graciously provided by St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Beautiful flowing prose seduced my senses as the hero seduced his hesitant bride. A must read.

    Ms. Essex weaves a lovely story as a reluctant naval officer is forced by his father to marry quickly. The shy young woman with a strong inner strength is delivered as promised and the officer isn't impressed. Conversation and a little private time help. Both use their intelligence to banter and seduce with words until love blooms and passion ignites.

    Have yet to read a poorly written story from Ms. Essex - Always a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A very sweet holiday read, The Scandal Before Christmas was a wo

    A very sweet holiday read, The Scandal Before Christmas was a wonderful historical romance novella. I really enjoyed reading this sweet book. Loved it!

    Anne was shy, plain, and has been painfully aware of her flaws for her entire life. That has made her very self conscious. Add to that, living with an overbearing mother and far too many siblings, and Anne never had a chance to be herself. So, she starts off the book as very timid. But, over the course of the story, she gained confidence and proved that she had her own quiet brand of strength. By the end, I really liked her. I thought she proved herself as a heroine. 

    Ian was also wonderful. He came off as a bit callous and shallow at first. But, then we see that he was really sweet and very devoted to those he cared about, be it his brother or his maybe-fiance. I really liked him, as well.

    The romance was super sweet. Anne and Ian were so adorable together. The romance between them was just absolutely lovely. There was a sprinkle of spice, but this was a mostly sweet read. I thought these two were a perfect couple.

    The plot was well paced. I was hooked the entire way through. I really enjoyed this sweet story and the ending was just lovely.

    The Scandal Before Christmas was a wonderful historical romance. I absolutely loved this holiday novella. It was fantastic. Lovers of romance, this is a novella you don't want to miss.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Cute

    It's short so of couse things happen fast. Likable characters and a sweet story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Another exceptional read from Miss Essex As always Ms Essex has

    Another exceptional read from Miss Essex
    As always Ms Essex has produced a story that is wonderfully entertaining and impossible to put down. Our hero Ian had me from the first line and simply never let go. Bravo Ms. Essex!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1