Customer Reviews for

The Scandal in Kissing an Heir (At the Kingsborough Ball Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

B,

ByoAg

posted by Anonymous on January 15, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

slow and unresolved ending

slow going and left major story points unresolved... maybe all will be revealed in the next book? seems really unfinished"

posted by Eezybelle on January 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    slow and unresolved ending

    slow going and left major story points unresolved... maybe all will be revealed in the next book? seems really unfinished"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Scandal

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    The Scandal in Kissing an Heir by Sophie Barnes
    Book Two of the At the Kingsborough Ball series
    Publisher: Avon Books
    Publication Date: December 31, 2013
    Rating: 3 stars
    Source: eARC from Edelweiss




    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    He is the next Marquis of Wolvington…
    She is a lady with nothing but beauty and wits…
    Together they share a forbidden kiss.




    Lady Rebecca is determined to find a husband on her own terms, rather than marry any of the aging suitors her greedy aunt and uncle foist upon her. Her chance comes at the Kingsborough Ball, where she meets several potential grooms…yet no one compares to the dangerously handsome Daniel Neville.




    Daniel Neville, notorious rake and heir to the Marquis of Wolvington, is in need of a bride, but finding a lady who’s willing to accept his past, is an entirely different matter. When he spies a stunning woman across the ballroom, Daniel believes he’s found her…until scandal erupts around them. How can he convince Rebecca to take a chance on him…and on the love that could be theirs forever after?




    What I Liked:




    Book one of the series is based loosely on the story of Cinderella (I believe it is - that's what I think, but I don't know for sure), and I believe that this book, book two, is based on the story of Rapunzel! I thought that was so cool! Rebecca was stuck in a tower for two years - everyone believed her to be mad. In reality, she was faking madness to put off getting married, because her aunt and uncle would have arranged a marriage for her long ago.




    Well, after Rebecca gets caught at a ball (where she and Daniel meet), she is forced to face marriage. With the prospect of marrying the slimy Duke of Grover thrown in at her, she agrees to marry the title-less Daniel Neville - they will elope. It's a good plan, because Rebecca wants to get out of marrying the Duke of Grover, and Daniel needs to get married to show his uncle (a marquess) that he is quite serious about inheriting the title of the Marquis of Wolvington.




    Of course, things don't always go according to plan. Even if they do get married, Daniel and Rebecca will cause great scandal, causing the ton to go in an uproar, angering the Duke of Grover, Rebecca's uncle and aunt, Daniel's uncle and aunt... lots of things could go wrong. And they do.




    For the most part, I enjoyed this book. Daniel and Rebecca's relationship is definitely not typical of a historical romance novel. They have it a little backwards - they want to get married first, and then get to know each other, and fall in love. It works, in this book. I didn't always feel the chemistry between these two, but by the end of the book, I could definitely understand that they were in love.




    I wasn't super pleased with the plot of this novel - I thought it dragged (see below), but I did finish this novel, so I consider that a success. It was interesting to push me to finish the book - I was invested enough in the story to want to know what happened in the end!








    The end was a really nice end. Everything wrapped up extremely nicely. I keep forgetting that this book runs directly parallel to the first one - both books start in the same scene (the Kingsborough ball). Well, the beginning is very cool, and the end of this one is a great ending.




    What I Did Not Like:




    For the most part, I enjoyed this book, and got through it pretty quickly, but one of the things that bothered me was that this book definitely dragged along, especially in comparison with the first book. I was a little bored at times, and it made it difficult to keep reading. I put this one down several times, because I didn't think I had it in me to finish. 




    It's not to say that I wasn't interested in this book - overall, I really wanted to know how Barnes would wrap up this story. Maybe it was the timing in which I decided to read this novel, or maybe it was the novel itself, but it wasn't as interesting - scene to scene - as most historical romance novels that I've enjoyed are. Like, each scene couldn't hold my attention. In general, this book caught my attention, and I enjoyed it, but the specific scenes and events of this novels weren't that interesting. 




    Like, I feel like there was a lot of internal monologues, descriptions, contemplation, etc., but not enough dialogue, action, and quite frankly, chemistry/hot scenes. I didn't really feel the chemistry between Rebecca and Daniel until the actual scenes, and then it was an explosion of chemistry.




    Also, the dialogue seemed weird. It was almost too modern at times. Like, I understand that the author doesn't want to ALWAYS use stuffy Old English speak, but you can't just insert modern-day slang into a historical romance novel. Keep the anachronisms out of the speech!




    Would I Recommend It:




    This one is definitely worth the read, if you read the first book and enjoyed it. But I wouldn't mark this one as a MUST-READ-OR-ELSE. It's definitely not one of my favorite historical romance novels of the year, so it wouldn't be a go-to recommendation (like its predecessor), but it's still a good read.




    Rating:




    3 stars. Not as amazing as the first book, but still a pretty good novel nonetheless!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Love this author

    This book is great. It's pace is perfect however I do agree that there should be more clarity where the shooter at the ball is concerned. Otherwise this book is very enjoyable to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Ummm soiler alert

    Whoshot her.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Rapunzel, anyone? (LVR)

    This second book in the series still exhibits the author's lack of familiarity with Regency period language and historical accuracy. Also, we're, perhaps purposefully, still left hanging about why the heroine of this book was shot in the first book. The writer has an annoying habit of revealing vital insight into the characters' backgrounds in retrospect. I also notice she includes more sex scenes with each new book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Great read.. Love this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    This is the 2nd book in this series and I love it. Both the her

    This is the 2nd book in this series and I love it. Both the hero and heroine are interesting characters with enough fire between them to make the book truly enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    B,


    ByoAg

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    Sophie Barnes has a winner in my opinion! I thoroughly enjoyed t

    Sophie Barnes has a winner in my opinion! I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and was entertained throughout. I love all the characters, well except for the three evil ones. Daniel the rake, of course was a rascal, but as most rakes tend to be, they too have feelings of chivalry. Lady Rebecca for me is the true hero in the story, for once you've read nearly to the end I think you'll agree that it was she that rescued Daniel, and not the other way around. Sophie Barnes has written their story so well, what I mean by that is, when I'm reading I'm not stumbling through sentences. Sophie tells a story that makes me laugh, want to cry, want to add my "2 cents worth"! She also provides the hot romance where it is called for. Very Well done Sophie Barnes, The Scandal in Kissing an Heir, a MUST READ. I will enjoy reading this one again, and recommending to all my friends. (Oh, and I love the fairies by the way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Great read

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Fun

    It was a fun story. I liked that the hea wasn't the wedding day but sometime after as they get to know each other. Dont know or care if she maintains period authenticity, just an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Check it out!

    A great series, from different points of view, but each book was well written! Cant wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    Yes I would recommend this book

    But as for me it needed to be a little more spicy near the end, quick read
    wanted more love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Okay read.

    This is my first book by Ms. Barnes. It is about 560 pages. The book has the female doing most of the thinking. The story is intriguing but boring. There is not much romance. I probably will not buy from this author again anytime soon. I like the alpha male type stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Wonderful Story

    A review is what one thinks of a story and its writers. I think it unfair for people to write a review and tell the story. The point of giving a review is to allow others to give their own without giving away the story. With that being said I enjoy this story it fast pace and keeps one not wanting to put it down until the end. 276 pgs was a bargin indeed. Thank you Ms. S. B. This is not the frist book I read of yours and it will not be my last. To those who are thinking of buying. You will be happy you did. Ms. D from Bronx, N.Y.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    The second book in Sophie Barnes' elegant series, At the Kingsbo

    The second book in Sophie Barnes' elegant series, At the Kingsborough Ball, which take place at the same time, with connected characters who attend the same masquerade ball. It’s a clever concept that I have seen done successfully before in Juliana Gray’s Affairs by Moonlight trilogy and also her new Princess in Hiding series.  I read the first book, The Trouble With Being a Duke last year and enjoyed it very much.
    It’s always interesting to read about the depiction of etiquette and decorum in historical romance. Appearances are everything and anything that strays from that is considered scandalous. So when Daniel Neville, notable rake, first sees Lady Rebecca in a glorious red dress—when unmarried young women usually wore pale colors, preferably white—he assumes she’s no innocent. Likewise, Daniel’s reputation precedes him based mostly on gossip, giving Rebecca her own opinions and first impressions.
    So when these two meet, they are delighted to find some of their presumptions shattered. Both are seeking a spouse, he to satisfy his uncle, a marquess, and to keep his income, she to escape her smothering (and scheming) aunt and uncle who are practically keeping her prisoner until they can marry her off to a man of their choosing.
    Lady Rebecca is different from other milk-white English misses. She has striking dark hair and olive-toned skin, something her waspish aunt finds appalling. She’s also refreshingly direct. When she asks Daniel if he has “the French disease,” I burst out laughing. 
    Daniel intends to marry, but he doesn’t intend to fall in love with any woman after the disastrous example set by his parents. In fact, he has cultivated a rakish image of insouciance to keep women (and therefore love and its risks) at bay. But of course, Rebecca changes all that. That she expects him to continue his promiscuity despite their marriage disturbs him deeply. He comes to consider her his “closest friend” as well as his lover.
    I recently read Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase and I was struck by the similarities in the childhoods of both Daniel and Lord Dain. But this book is much more lighthearted. And Daniel is, at heart, a very kind and sweet hero. Though Daniel has a notorious past—what rake doesn’t?—he promises Rebecca that he will remain faithful to her. 
    Secondary characters here are delightfully portrayed. Laura, Rebecca’s maid, is a protective and kind servant, while Rebecca’s aunt and uncle are evil step-parents, almost over the top. The two aged suitors they line up for Rebecca to marry are a girl’s nightmare—dirty old men who only want an heir. The duke, in particular, brought to mind Sebastian Grey’s lascivious uncle from Julia Quinn’s Ten Things I Love About You.  And the character of Lady Vernon reminded me of another femme fatale with the same name, from Jane Austen’s Lady Susan.
    The covers for this series are beautiful and capture the essence of the Kingsborough masquerade.
    A lovely addition to a sweet and charming series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Passion and Adventure Novel

    I am a great fan of historical romantic novels with some
    mystery and adventure in them. So I enjoyed this movel
    by Sophie Barnes.
    The plot was exciting, the descriptions of the interiors, the gowns
    the customs of the "ton" .......loved it all.
    I highly recommend this novel if you are a romantic history fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Sweet Fairy Tale The Scandal in kissing an Heir is a Rapunzel st

    Sweet Fairy Tale
    The Scandal in kissing an Heir is a Rapunzel story for lady Rebecca. She was kept in the tower by her aunt and uncle for their gaining on wealth by marrying her to higher money and Danial was one of the sweetest rake whom needed to married in a month. The story is emotional , fun and interesting. The Hero is so selfless and kind. I really enjoyed reading the second book in At the Kingsborough Ball, I can't wait to read the next in series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2