Customer Reviews for

The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright: (Originally published in the e-book anthology THREE WEDDINGS AND A MURDER)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Page-turner and addicting. ~Under the Covers

    There are a few things that are very clear to me after finishing this book:
    1.I will religiously read anything Tessa Dare writes because she is now one of my favorite historical authors. Why? Because I have LOVED everything she’s written that I’ve read, period. No questions about it. Her books are always page-turners and addicting for me. I feel that I get so involved in the story, thanks to her wonderful writing, that it’s as if I’m attending the balls and getting in adventures with the characters.
    2.She can write the best characters! The heroine AND hero of this story are both so amazing. No wilting flowers here, but not excessively feisty either. Eliza Cade is the perfect blend of what I like in a heroine. She starts off young and bubbly. She’s loyal to friends and family. When she figures out what she wants, she goes after it.
    3.I realize that although we all love the bad boy hero, there’s something better…the bad boy hero who is really a good boy at heart. Mr. Wright surprised me in the end and I couldn’t help but want one of my own.
    4.The woman has a talent for short stories. This is really an art. It’s not easy to write a short story about characters we’ve never heard about, about lives we’ve never cared for before, and make us fall in love and immerse ourselves in just a short 100 pages. This is now the second time that Tessa Dare rocks with a short story that I’ve read.
    5.I can’t help but LOVE the title. Even though I usually can’t remember it.

    Are those enough reasons why you should read this book?

    *ARC provided by publisher

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    SCANDALOUS,DISSOLUTE,NO-GOOD MR. WRIGHT by Tessa Dare is an exci

    SCANDALOUS,DISSOLUTE,NO-GOOD MR. WRIGHT by Tessa Dare is an exciting Regency Historical Romance set in 1814 England. A fast paced,quick,fun read filled with misunderstandings,passion,a bit of grief,and lots of love with a laugh or two included. Miss Eliza Cade,is waiting no longer,she is not allowed in "polite" Society because of a youthful mistake. And of course Mr. Harry Wright just may be Mr. Right. A scandalous affair to be sure. Although, all is not what it seems. A must for anyone looking for quick fun read filled with passion and a notorious rake. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Above the Treeline.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2014

    A super short story. Loved Eliza and Harry. A romance for sure

    A super short story. Loved Eliza and Harry. A romance for sure for those two. Different story line about Eliza having to wait to be presented or marry till her sisters did, because of something her father believed her to have done in her youth. I enjoyed this quick read very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Very entertaining

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novella. The author packed a lot of story into the short book. Loved the main characters, good storyline, clever dialogue, sweet romance. Very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Another fun read by Jessa Dare. Just wish the book was a little

    Another fun read by Jessa Dare. Just wish the book was a little longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Yea

    I like all her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Not A Bad Read

    To be honest, I 'connected' more with the heroine rather than the hero. I also didn't mind how the story revealed itself. Overall, an okay story for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    The overall story is pretty good but the ending was a bit of a l

    The overall story is pretty good but the ending was a bit of a let down. I was left unsatisfied with the wrap up but for the most part the story was a cute HEA that leaves you warm and fuzzy. Eliza has a lot of growing up to do and I think I would have liked to see her meet Wright a few years down the road after she grew up. Wright was also the typical Rake with a soft side that only our heroine can see. All around sweet little romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright was an amazing boo

    The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright was an amazing book! I love how Ms. Dare structured this story, showing how they first met and jumping a couples of years later to them meeting up again in every chapter. It worked very well for this book since it's a novella.
    The hero and heroine were very well liked. I love how Miss Eliza Cade is trying her best not to cause trouble for her parents and sisters, especially when she's a wild child who can't seem to stay out of trouble. But Mr. Wright is putting that to the challenge and she despise him for trying to ruin her at every turn, but he seems to know her so well she can't seem to shake him out of her mind.
    Mr. Harry Wright on the other hand is a notorious rake who seems to cause trouble and bring out the worst in Miss Cade. Mr. Wright even enjoys tormenting her at every chance he gets but does he have other motives to want to irritate her?
    This story was so much fun to read and its fast pace worked really well with how Ms. Dare structured their story. Although it was a short and fast read I truly felt like I have known these two lovers for quite some time. They were so energetic and animated that you can't help but love them. I did have some moments of dislike towards Mr. Harry Wright because he was always trying to cause trouble for Miss Eliza Cade. I really wanted Miss Cade to be good and stay out of trouble but I really liked her being truthful about herself not being all so proper. I also adore Mr. Wright because he understand who Miss Cade really is and not the all so proper lady that she plays to be and tries to show her that she can't lie to herself about it and to just be herself, which is why I really love him.
    This really was a great novella to read and Ms. Dare just keeps getting me to love her characters even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked

    I have read ALL of Tessa Dare's novels and love them! I checked out some from my library and own all the Spindle Cove novels and novellas as well as the Werestag novella. You will not be dissapointed with any of her writings except that they end! I would like to find a "comparable" author because I just know Tessa's work to be the best for my tastes with the right amount of story, character development, setting, and spice. I was not actually a romance reader until I stumbled upon a free offering of one of her ebooks on my Nook. That was how I even found this genre and now am hooked!

    I have always been a fan of period romance movies and am a stickler for anything set in the Victorian (or earlier) settings of Europe which all of her books are. I do have a few other free historical romances but I just know already I won't be as pleased. I wish Tessa would go full time just writing ONLY Spindle Cove series and that PBS or BBC would pick up the rights and make an ongoing romance seriers for TV that would be hot and heavy and for adult viewers but tasteful. Maybe Netflix??? Wouldn't that be incredible! LOL

    Bascially to sum all this up do not worry one bit about purchasing any of her materials. You will love having them. I have read each of the Spindle Cove series twice and plan to re-read each once a year- Yes they are that good! I stay tuned for pre-orders and have always been on of the first to get a book as it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Very enjoyable, wish it were longer!

    Sweet and satisfying afternoon read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    A Wonderful Short Read

    This was a great short story. Many of the stories I read that are part of collaborations or anthologies are the sort of mad-cap, love-at-first-sight, rushed sort of affairs. This one however, despite being only some 80 pages long, takes place over the course of a few years. However, this does not take away from the story, or the charm - I thought it was wonderful. I was able to see the hero and heroine's relationship and the heroine's character develop, despite the amount of space available. The characters are likable and the writing is beautiful. It's a very short read, but I would recommend it to fans of the genre and this author, of whom I am becoming a devoted fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Fantastic Story

    I can't believe the author packed so much into 85 pages! The character's are so richly written. My only regret is the ending was rushed. I loved how our main character's meet -so interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    A truly romantic situation with charming characters. Sorry it wa

    A truly romantic situation with charming characters. Sorry it was not a full length novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great short story

    Really love to read Tessa Dare's books. This was a wonderful short story. Her writing always draws you in to the story. She's a gifted story-teller of the regency romance genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Loved it

    But was disappointed because i realized ive already read it under a different title. It was only 99 cents so i didnt mind too much. But tessa dare herself never disappoints. I have enjoyed all her stories. She is so wonderfully romantic. And her females are never harpys and she doesnt write about love triangles. I hate love triangles. And her books are stand alone novels. Another plus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Excellent

    Loved it! Too short i want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Just lovely!!! Well written and enjoyable book. Highly recommen

    Just lovely!!!

    Well written and enjoyable book. Highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Great romance.

    Wonderful characters. I wished it could have been longer. The byplay between them was exquisite. Have read all of her novels and they are all wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3