Customer Reviews for

The Scarlet Ibis

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This started my joy of reading

I read this as a freshmen in high school. This book showed me how enjoyable reading could be.

posted by hacyco on April 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING STORY!

This was an amazing short story! (14 pages), that takes place in 1918, and is about a boy and his brother. However, there are some minor issues with formatting, but it is still readable.

posted by 11362572 on October 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    This started my joy of reading

    I read this as a freshmen in high school. This book showed me how enjoyable reading could be.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Simply amazing

    I read this short story in my English class at school, and it was the best we read all year. The story is so touching, and I literally almost cried at the end. The symbolism was very intuitive, and there werer even aspects of the symbolism I didn't catch right away. If you are looking for a short story with a good message, characters, and plot, I'd definitely reccomend 'The Scarlet Ibis.'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    This story made me cry

    The only word to describe this story is 'SPECTACULAR'! I read this book in school and it was the best one yet! I love the format because everything is very descriptive. The one thing I didn't like was when Doodle .... well, you need to find out for yourself! READ THE BOOK IT'S MARVELOUS

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Amazing!

    This book is so good & detailed but it made me cry! Anyway i highly reccomend this book! Very touching!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    Wow

    This book is absolutely amazing bet book ever. It made me cry though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Wow

    We read this book today in my 9th grade honors english class and it made realize how lucky I am to have the sisters that I have. I feel like I need to treat them with a lot of love and respect and not let pride get in the way of love. Truly, you never know when loved ones will leave this world so treat every day like it is the last one you have together. Younever know if your worst day will be your last one. Seriously though, everyone in my class was almost in tears and we were all in awe wih the deep meaning of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Absoluely fabulous

    The Scarlet Ibis is one of the best books I have ever read. After reading this book, I was really touched and I read more books like this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    Thumbs up!!!!!!!!

    IT MADE ME CRY! I love this book sooo much, even though it doesn't have a happy ending.... the author defiantly got the point through. Cant wait till I have my OWN COPY!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2004

    One of the Greats

    After all these years, The Scarlet Ibis is still one of my all time favorite books. At 34, I cannot even remember what teacher blessed me with this book as a child. But to this day, I am still truly greatful. It is a beautiful, sad, haunting story. It is one that you want to read over and over, but somehow wish you could change the ending. My eyes water at the mere thought of the book. I plan to introduce it to my children; and I hope it will become one of their favorites as well. May the memory of Doodle never die.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2004

    Still remembered after all these years.

    This is one of the best short stories ever written by an American author. The use of symbolism and foreshadowing are simply the best you'll find anywhere. I first read this book in 9th grade, some 30 years ago, and I've never forgotten it. I can't think of to many short stories that have that kind of staying power, but this one does. I still remember some of the students in my class crying when we finished this book. I don't want to give any of the story away, trust me you'll want to read this one for yourself. I will say that as a short story about the bonds of brotherhood and acceptance, this one may not have an equal. I highly recommend it to readers of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Tragicly Beautiful

    My English teacher assigned this short story to us and I believed it was just going to be another boring read like the other stories he told us to read. Perhaps that is why this book captured my attention so much! It wasn't at all like the others, it was so real. I love this story and the beauty of it. The love between the brother and Doodle is compelling, and the fact that the theme of pride in this story applies to real life is compelling as well. I strongly suggest you read it, for it is tragically beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    A Good Book

    When i read this book i had so many feelings inside of me while reading it. I knew that at some point of the story Doodle was going to die because of foreshadowing events that occured. At the end of this story i felt different about life. Even though i am just an only child it did not change the way i felt about a younger brother. But it still made me wonder wat would have happened if i did have a younger brother wat would be my reaction. Well not matter wat i still liked this book because it made me feel different about the people around me. It taught me a valuable lesson in life which is you should never just love someone because they are your family member you should love them no matter what because you dont know what might happen to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    wow

    i read this book in school for 8th grade. I loved how the descriptions were just like they are in some places where i live. He describes the life of the boys, of them playing in the swamp, so well. I've had to read it again this year and now i fully appriciat it. The smybolism is amazing and they story will truely touch your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    Incredible

    This book will definitely get you thinking about life. The symbolism and setting of this book is absolutely incredible. Although a bit sad, i think this is a great book for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    *wipes single tear from check*

    This is one of the most tragically real stories I have ever read. It is a sad tale of an older brother who is ashamed of his crippled younger brother and forces him to participate in strenuous exercise like the 'normal' kids. Well, you'll have to read the end, but this was sad, I cried like baby after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    A Convicting Story...

    'The Scarlet Ibis', I have to say, is one of the most convicting stories I have read. After reading 'The Scarlet Ibis' I was ammotionally 'stirred' and began to think about how the story related to me. I, myself, have been unkind to my brother, much like doodle, and I began to feel how much I am attached to him, this book is a MUST READ for anyone who loves their brothers (or beleive they hate them)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    The BEST

    This is a great book, I read it in my English class. I'm only in 9th grade! It is the best and its sad to, but its a good book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    VERY GOOD BOOK

    MY 7TH GRADE TEACHER FROM THIS YEAR ASSIGNED US TO THIS BOOK AND IT IS SOOO GOOD BUT KINDA SAD :(. I LOVE HOW DESCRIPTIVE IT IS, AND I LOVE HOW THE SETTING SOUNDS LIKE WHERE I LIVE ( A PARISH DIRECTLY BELOW NEW ORLENS ) ANYWAY YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK EVEN THOUGH ITS SHORT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2002

    This book needed no help from'Brother'!

    This was one of the best short stories I have ever read. It was so emotionally well-written I read it almost every month. It makes me feel the love for my sister and the regret I feel whenever we fight. I would recommend this to anyone young or old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    my trip through lit.

    I am not one to really understand all the literary elements as in irony and symbolism, but when I read this great story, it all fit together like one big puzzle. I could not believe that it was this easy. I guess something so profound as the Scarlet Ibis was what I needed to get my butt moving in to understanding literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2