Customer Reviews for

The Scarlet Letter,Level 2

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Scarlett Letter

The Scarlett Letter is about a woman named Hester Pyrnne who is forced to live with the fact that she had a child out of wedlock. Although she is faced with many trials along her journey throughout life she still overcomes all of them to become a good mother to her chi...
The Scarlett Letter is about a woman named Hester Pyrnne who is forced to live with the fact that she had a child out of wedlock. Although she is faced with many trials along her journey throughout life she still overcomes all of them to become a good mother to her child. This novel portrays many things; one of the more important things, which it portrays, is the love Hester shows toward Pearl (her daughter) throughout the entire novel. She may be sorry for her actions forever, but one thing is for sure, she will never be sorry for the consequences of those actions. The main theme of this novel is a tale of judgement, shame and redemption.

posted by Anonymous on April 26, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

very very plain

the book was required reading for my 11th grade lit class, it is the dullest book Ive ever read, if you like the plain stlye writing then maybe you will like this book as for all the other people who like books to grab your attention leave this book on the shelf...2 sta...
the book was required reading for my 11th grade lit class, it is the dullest book Ive ever read, if you like the plain stlye writing then maybe you will like this book as for all the other people who like books to grab your attention leave this book on the shelf...2 stars for the story behind the boring book

posted by Anonymous on September 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    I'd have to say that

    Caledarian Fox is the best roleplayer of all time. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    KAT TO WOLF

    HOLY S H I T YOURE BACK!!!!!!! +hugs him+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Skylar

    *swings off a tree branch and throws a dagger at a bird and hits it* such as....?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Angel to dylan

    Dude yur a perv i dont like pervs,TODD COME HERE*a freaky dude with shark teeth long white hair and black dress thing walks up he has a sucker on his hand*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Do any of yo u like naruto

    The show? -person

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Finn to natasha and storm and daniela

    Natasha u wanna know something this how i look at a break up the dumby is not worth u cause u have so much to offer any guy
    Storm plz tell me which one u are i need to know which demon u r
    Daniela ur back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Cale

    *Practices singing and playing his guitar*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Lightningstar's Review

    This is awesome i couldnt put the book down. Now its my 8th time reading it. For ages 10+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Casey to byran and cam

    Cam: im so sorry -hugs u- Byran: nmjc with my bro

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Zelda

    Some reason

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    The Fall of Man....and Woman

    Humanity is at its very best tainted with sin. Our shortcomings, misdoings, and pride are all too obvious to those around us. In this compelling tale of woe, Hawthorne invites readers to closely inspect their own souls through the eyes of a condemned adulteress. It is through Hester's eyes that the reader witnesses the wounds of humanity, be they in the form of judgment, shame, or hypocrisy. The ending to this tale is really found within the hearts of the readers. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Excellent

    The Scarlett Letter was one of the best pieces of literature I have read in a long time. Hawthorne was absolutely genius with how he portrayed the characters and how he used light and colors to set the mood of the book. Although the book was a little bit predictable, it is a classic of the ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    Great Book!

    This is a great book. Hawthorne may have been boring in the custom house, but after that, it's brilliant. Only for readers that see more than the cover of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2005

    Great story

    OKAY, this book was pretty hard to get into during the first few pages .. but then it gradually got better .. and now, it's one of my all-time favorite!!! the language made the book more difficult to understand, especially when I had to find all of the symbols by myself [it's a summer assignment]. Other than that, I love the book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    A Realistic Piece of LIterature

    The changes in pre-Civil War America were wonderfully depicted in a fictional account by Nathaniel Hawthorne. Although the author attempted to create a fictional tale of a forbidden love, he brought with the story many, many implications of the failure of the Puritan order. He, through his detailed story of an abominable love triangle and the struggle for redemption, helped Americans understand that human shortcomings and failures did not prevent the country from growing but rather allowed it to develop rightfully without a fallible system of judgment intact, such as the old Puritan way of life. Hawthorne, through one of his most epic works of fiction, epitomizes the hows and whys of the failure of the old English Puritan order and culture. His book is a timeless bridge into new and modern beliefs, customs, and ways of life that has helped America grow rather than kept it stagnant and motionless. Therefore it can be said that The Scarlet Letter is much more than a romance novel--it is a historical story to give all readers better understanding of Puritan historical connotation. Moreover, it gives a tiny glimpse of hope for the future and in understanding why humans are the way they are; it is a lesson learned in accepting one as one is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    Intriguing and Mysterious

    I thoroughly enjoyed The Scarlet Letter. The author, Nathaniel Hawthorne, gets criticized a great deal by readers who can't handle a little description. I personally think that the things that he illustrates are very vital to the story. Hawthorne did a good job, for example, of describing the setting at the opening scene of the story. I also think that it is suspenseful to not have all of the action just laid out for you constantly. You have to think when you read this novel. I enjoyed how Hawthorne devoted chapters to revealing what was going on in the hearts and minds of the characters. The reader is let in on the secrets of their souls. This book was wonderful, and I highly recommend it for the classic reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    Now I know why it is a clasic

    The Scarlet Letter may at some times be difficult to follow because of Hawthorn's writing stlye. Once the reader adapts to Hawthorn's style, the book becomes a guide of the human soul. Through seven years of the character Hester's life the reader learns that everyone has a secret, every one feals alone(on some level) and every one sins. The reader learns that it is how one learns to live with them self and not society that is important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2