Customer Reviews for

The Scent of Rain

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    Another Great Book by Kristin

    I loved this book! I’ve been a fan of Kristen Billerbeck for a while and have read most of her books, but I was unprepared for how this book progressed. While most other novels in this genre are predictable and seem to be the same story just in different settings, The Scent of Rain really kept me on my toes and guessing about the outcome all the way through the epilogue. Aside from the standard love story this novel had an air of mystery and suspense that kept me wondering what in the world was really going on. I really liked the characters in this book and hope to see them again in one of Billerbeck’s books.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Fun Read!

    I have read most of Kristin Billerbeck's books and she is one of my favorite authors for Christian Chick Lit. This book was good with unexpected twists that kept me guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Author: Kristin Billerbeck Published By: Thomas Nelson, Inc.


    Author: Kristin Billerbeck
    Published By: Thomas Nelson, Inc.
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Blog For: GMTA
    Rating: 4


    Review:


    "The Scent of Rain" by Kristin Billerbeck was indeed a enjoyable read .... the storyline was definitely unique...of one losing their ability to smell...being left at the altar...what had happened to the missing groom? ... meeting someone due to a new job location (Jesse)...and most of all I really enjoyed the christian element that was there throughout this wonderful read. The characters were all very believable from Daphne Sweeten to the very last one.


    "The Scent of Rain" brought will some laughter that you will only get from reading this novel and to have a best friend like Daphne had...(Sophie) was really off the chart.



    If you are in for some mystery, little suspense, romance, Christian values and realistic characters... you have come to the right place and I would recommend "The Scent of Rain" to you as a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    The Scent of Rain by Kristin Billerbeck was a fun story with a u

    The Scent of Rain by Kristin Billerbeck was a fun story with a unique plot.
    Daphne is a “Nose”. Her job is to sniff and create product based on her sense of smell. At the beginning of the story, Daphne is about to be married to the man of her dreams. However, when she is ready to walk down the aisle, the groom is nowhere to be found, and there are no guests on the groom’s side of the church. Daphne is devastated and with that devastation she loses her sense of smell. She isn’t ready to move on, but she must. She has quit her dream job in Paris because she and her fiancé were going to work together in Dayton, Ohio, so this is where she heads, even though she doesn’t have a sense of smell in order to do her job, create household products that smell good.
    Daphne meets her boss Jessie who instantly has an attraction, and being one who enjoys reading girlie books, I knew something would develop here.
    Daphne soon realized that she was not going to get her sense of smell back any time soon and simply had to face the idea of moving on with life, leaving the past behind her. When she determined to do this, she found that God’s mercies are new every morning, a theme in the book.
    I really enjoyed reading this story, compliments from Booksneeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    What do you do when your fiance dumps you at the alter, you end

    What do you do when your fiance dumps you at the alter, you end up working in a Podunk down town where you took a job because of your fiance, then you loose your sense of smell, which is quite important if you are a top perfumer? Well, you try to make the best of a bad situation. Daphne Sweeten left her fabulous Paris job to marry a man she thought was the man of her dreams. Turns out, he is kind of a swine, leaving her at the alter with not so much as even an explanation. Then off to a small Ohio town where she was supposed to take a job at a household products plant where she will create new scents. Only, she has suddenly lost her sense of smell. Now she only has to figure out how to either tell her new boss, Jesse, or hope and pray that she get's her nose back. As Daphne and Jesse work together to create new scents and make a go of her situation, they connect in unique ways.

    The Scent of Rain is a Christian inspirational story, and while I was quite excited to read this, I was highly disappointed at the whole plot. I was left reeling in spots where I did not understand dialogue, nor the situation. How is it a supposedly worldly woman who has lived in Paris for years working at a top perfumery not know what sangria is, and act like she doesn't have a brain in her head when it comes to life? I am surprised Daphne can even make it down the street. I also found Jesse, the boss and also hero, to be a bit of the non take charge kind of guy. Why would you tell the girl of your dreams that you wanted to marry her the minute you first saw her, but denied it the whole time? That makes absolutely no sense.

    Well, I just chalk it up to another christian book that turns me off from reading them in the first place. While some people may find the book fun, I found it tedious and I was left dragging my heels to finish it.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Daphne has been stood up. Not stood up on a date, she has been s

    Daphne has been stood up. Not stood up on a date, she has been stood up
    at the alter. The groom nor his family ever showed up at the church.
    The only thing she feels right now is humiliated. It is as is she is in
    a daze unable to move. So many things are racing through her mind. Had
    she not seen this coming? He was so attentive and told her he loved her.
    Her father bought them a house and they were suppose to move into it
    after the honeymoon. What about the new job they were suppose to start?
    They were to be working for same company. She left her dream job as a
    nose, scent specialist, in Paris, France in order to marry him and live
    in the States. She needed to stop and pray for God to give her peace!
    As the day comes close to an end she realizes she can't smell anything.
    It must be from all the stress. Great now she would be stressed that her
    smell would not come back before she starts her new job. She was hired
    for her nose surely she would have her smell back once to started the
    new job. She decided she was not going to sit around feeling sorry for
    herself. She was going to start her new job. But she would not move into
    the house right away she would get a hotel room instead. When she gets
    into town she would go straight to her new workplace. What a shock her
    new boss is handsome. So far so good! She does not understand how she
    could feel attracted to this man when she was just dumped. She better
    concentrate on concealing the fact that she still could not smell
    anything. She also wanted to find out if her ex-fiance showed up for his
    new job. This was definitely going to be awkward. This book was
    suspenseful and kept me trying to solve the mystery of the absence of
    the almost groom. There surely was more to the story than a missing
    groom . The author did a great job in the creation of the main
    characters They showed their Christianity right from the beginning. They
    had so much faith in God. They believed he was leading them to this town
    and community. God had a plan for their lives and they had to learn to
    be at peace with His plan. They sought out this peace in prayer and
    through the comfort of their fellow Christians. I recommend this book.
    Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Booksneeze/Thomas Nelson
    for review. I was not compensated in any way for this review. It is my
    own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Scent of Rain by Kristin Billerbeck is about Daphne Swe

    The Scent of Rain by Kristin Billerbeck is about Daphne Sweeten, a
    scent designer, who finds herself stood up for her wedding and losing
    her sense of smell. Her dream job was also no longer possible as her
    ex-fiancée took her dream job in Paris. She decides to move to Ohio,
    where she had a job waiting, which would have her developing scents for
    household products. When Daphne enters into this new job, a relationship
    begins with Jesse, the new boss of the company. The premise of a
    formally trained "nose" losing her sense of smell is new and
    interesting. The book is an easy read and keeps your interest throughout
    with a few twists and turns you may not expect. The heroine was very
    childlike and insecure and hard to believe she was a Scientist. Although
    the premise of the story was curious and the relationship dynamics were
    certainly interesting, I couldn't help but feel that it lacked some
    vital spark that could make it a wonderful book. Daphne is not a
    sympathetic heroine. I found it very hard to sympathize with her. She's
    a bit out of touch with reality and shallow, childish, self-centered and
    she made terrible choices that are obviously bad and seems too naive to
    be real. Her conversations with the other characters reflect her
    confusion and poor judgment. The conclusion of the book seemed both
    rushed and contrived. I received copy of eBook for review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Daphne was set to marry her dream man, after leaving a job in Pa

    Daphne was set to marry her dream man, after leaving a job in Paris she couldn't wait to start her life with him. When she was standing at the alter, she realized he and his family were not coming to the wedding. What was supposed to be the most happiest day of her life, turned into the biggest disaster and disappointment. Immediately she wanted to return to Paris, go back to the perfumery and not even wanting to go to Ohio where her new job and house are.




    Upon moving to Ohio, Daphne works at Gilbralater products trying to work on household fragrances, but she just wants to return to Paris. She finds herself losing her scent and questioning what kind of job she would be able to do if she was unable to smell anymore. She recieved a letter from Mark apologizing for leaving her, but Daphane was more upset. She learned that he was in Paris. This book has some interesting twists and turns. I have read other books by Kristin Billerbeck and this isn't my favorite. It's an enjoyable read, not my favorite, but good. I give this a 4/5 stars!



    Thank you Booksneeze for allowing me to review this book. I was not compensated for a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    I thought it was interesting that the author chose to write abou

    I thought it was interesting that the author chose to write about a "nose," someone who has an amazing sense of smell and interned at a perfumery in Paris. But, unfortunately, the story built around the Daphne (the nose) left me wanting. Left at the altar during what was supposed to be her San Francisco-based wedding, Daphne moves to Dayton, Ohio, where she had accepted a position working for Gibraltar in the household products division - big change from Paris. There she meets Jesse, a widower and father of a 4-year-old struggling to survive in the poorly managed company.

    I had a difficult time connecting with the characters because Daphne seemed too ridiculously naive and Jesse seemed too aloof. Some of the scenes, while ultimately explained, just don't make sense as they are unfolding.

    While the writing itself was decent, I was left wanting with "The Scent of Rain."

    Note: I received a review copy of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Daphne Sweeten lost everything in one moment: her wedding day. S

    Daphne Sweeten lost everything in one moment: her wedding day. She gave her dream job working with perfume in Paris to marry the man she loves, who stands her up at the altar and takes her job. As if it couldn’t get any worse, she loses her sense of smell the same day. Forced to move to Dayton, Ohio, where she and her fiancé had planned to live, Daphne will have to figure out a way to work without her sense of smell.


    Kristin Billerbeck is the queen of Christian chick lit, and this one won’t disappoint fans or be their favorite. Daphne is a little weaker than most of Billerbeck’s heroines, but the girl has had a lot of major drama piled on at one time, so I have to give her a break there. I like who she becomes though by the end of the novel as she finds her niche. But, she’s not a standout character by any means.


    Jesse, the hero, is wonderful. He is still grieving the loss of his wife. I love that he struggles between being a dad and doing well at his job. I think most men do struggle with long work hours and not enough quality time with their kids even when they have a wife, but in most books with a single dad, the father seems to juggle the job and kids perfectly. Kudos to Billerbeck for addressing it.


    The minor characters are fabulous. I love the annoying Kensie and the sweet Anne. In fact, I would love for Kensie to have her own book as she still has a lot of story to tell.


    Overall, I enjoyed the book. Because Daphne seemed a little bland for a chick lit novel, I can’t say this is a book I will reread. But, it’s a good lazy summer day read.


    I was given this book in exchange for my review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Page Turner . . .

    Great Book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1