Customer Reviews for

The Scottish Prisoner (Lord John Grey Series)

Average Rating 4
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

excited

I just love all of Diana Gabaldon's books. As a fan I would recommend them to everyone. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Very Very Good Book

I Liked this book alot.. though i did not find it as exciting as the OUTLANDER series.. I think i am just in love with the whole Jamie and Claire thing.. I love it when both characters are in the book.. but this book helped fill in a time gap in the series and for that ...
I Liked this book alot.. though i did not find it as exciting as the OUTLANDER series.. I think i am just in love with the whole Jamie and Claire thing.. I love it when both characters are in the book.. but this book helped fill in a time gap in the series and for that reason alone I love it.. it is very much worth reading..

posted by Lauriedustin on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excited

    I just love all of Diana Gabaldon's books. As a fan I would recommend them to everyone. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    A story you can lose yourself in time with!

    If you are a fan of the Outlander series, this is a must read. Set during the period that Jamie Fraser and his wife are seperated by time, it is a closer look at his relationship with Lord John. They become embroiled in more schemes and intrigue, which leads to some interesting action scenes as well, much to the reader's entertainment. If you have not read any of the books in either series, it is still an interesting, stand alone story. But you will be hooked, once you read it!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Diana Gabaldon is increadible

    I have read just about every book she has written and have not yet found one I did not like! You will not be dissapointed in this novel

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Very Very Good Book

    I Liked this book alot.. though i did not find it as exciting as the OUTLANDER series.. I think i am just in love with the whole Jamie and Claire thing.. I love it when both characters are in the book.. but this book helped fill in a time gap in the series and for that reason alone I love it.. it is very much worth reading..

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Supurb!

    Gabaldon continues to weave a fabulous tale that captivates the reader totally!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Great historical fiction-fans of Outlander series must read!

    I enjoyed this novel much more than previous Lord John books. It connects into the Outlander series and fills in gaps. Don't miss this one.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    How?

    How does a person get to read this novel when it isn't available to the public yet? Let alone be able to review it??

    6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Highly recommend. If you haven't read a Diana Gabaldon book, you are missing out on some GREAT Wit, history and romance.. add a little magic.. and its perfect!!

    Wonderful book.. well written, fantastic characters and wonderful wit. This book can stand alone.. but.. if you have not read the Outlander series and the Lord John series.. you may not appreciate the book as much. So.. start from book one.. OUTLANDER.. and enjoy the RIDE!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Diana always entertains!

    Claire was gone 20 years and we knew she went to school, raised her daughter and mourned Jamie. Now we find out what our Jamie was doing. Loved Scottish Prisoner.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad

    I am a big big fan of the Outlander series, and I think that is why I didn't enjoy this book as much as I probably should have. The storyline and writing in this book are really good, but I kept feeling that something was missing while reading. In the Outlander series, the books center around Jamie and Claire, and I think that is what I was missing in "The Scottish Prisoner." I found it easy to put this book down and I wasn't in a rush to finish through it. I wasn't able to really get into this book, and the only parts I really cared about were the small references to Claire, and the time Jamie got to spend with Willie. I love Jamie Fraser, but he just isn't the same without Claire with him, and for me it was very evident in this book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    the scottish prisoner

    What a great read.I am never dissappointed when I. Read Diana Gabaldon books. I. can't wait for the next outlander book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great story

    A great read from a master storyteller! Looking forward to the new Outlander book. Hopefully it will be coming soon!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Another amazing read!

    A must read for all Gabaldon fans

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Can not wait..

    I truly miss these characters. These books are amazing. So full of history love and humor.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Fantastic !!!

    Diana never lets me down

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    A wonderful addition.

    This was a wonderful addition to Diana's Outlander series. I love her writing style and this book did not disappoint. I am eagerly awaiting "My Hearts Own Blood" in 2012.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Great fun and a good addition to the series.

    I loved it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Needs more Lord John

    This is really a story to fill in the gaps of the Outlander series. Because of this, it rambles a bit, and the ending is too ambiguous, soft. I would have preferred a story about Lord John, since this was called a Lord John novel. That said, it was fun to read more about John and Jamie working through their baggage during the Hellwater period. The positives were: 1. No Claire, which is great for me, as she's my least favorite character of Gabaldon's. Sorry, but C gets on my nerves. 2. It's set in the UK, so no grappling with slavery or race, which she always mangles.

    My favorite character is Lord John, and some details feel like she's ret-conning him as less kind than established. I had hoped that this series would see him break out of his thankless duty of celibately reflecting the glow of J & C. Not quite. At least he's finally getting some, even if it's not a partner. I'd love to see LJ treated as a good person while enjoying his sexuality. This is the closest the author's gotten, but the possible retcon is troubling.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Well done!

    This piece flows well, fits in with the rest of the plot lines and characters, and keeps you mentally prepared for when the next book in the Outlander series comes out. Diana doesn't disappoint! Fans will enjoy this immensly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    This is the most boring book I have ever read! In fact, I couldn

    This is the most boring book I have ever read! In fact, I couldn't even get half way through it. What a disappointment, after the Outlander series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10