Customer Reviews for

The Scottish Prisoner (Lord John Grey Series)

Average Rating 4
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

excited

I just love all of Diana Gabaldon's books. As a fan I would recommend them to everyone. can't wait to read the next!!!!!

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Very Very Good Book

I Liked this book alot.. though i did not find it as exciting as the OUTLANDER series.. I think i am just in love with the whole Jamie and Claire thing.. I love it when both characters are in the book.. but this book helped fill in a time gap in the series and for that ...
I Liked this book alot.. though i did not find it as exciting as the OUTLANDER series.. I think i am just in love with the whole Jamie and Claire thing.. I love it when both characters are in the book.. but this book helped fill in a time gap in the series and for that reason alone I love it.. it is very much worth reading..

posted by Lauriedustin on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Very Very Good Book

    I Liked this book alot.. though i did not find it as exciting as the OUTLANDER series.. I think i am just in love with the whole Jamie and Claire thing.. I love it when both characters are in the book.. but this book helped fill in a time gap in the series and for that reason alone I love it.. it is very much worth reading..

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not bad

    I am a big big fan of the Outlander series, and I think that is why I didn't enjoy this book as much as I probably should have. The storyline and writing in this book are really good, but I kept feeling that something was missing while reading. In the Outlander series, the books center around Jamie and Claire, and I think that is what I was missing in "The Scottish Prisoner." I found it easy to put this book down and I wasn't in a rush to finish through it. I wasn't able to really get into this book, and the only parts I really cared about were the small references to Claire, and the time Jamie got to spend with Willie. I love Jamie Fraser, but he just isn't the same without Claire with him, and for me it was very evident in this book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Needs more Lord John

    This is really a story to fill in the gaps of the Outlander series. Because of this, it rambles a bit, and the ending is too ambiguous, soft. I would have preferred a story about Lord John, since this was called a Lord John novel. That said, it was fun to read more about John and Jamie working through their baggage during the Hellwater period. The positives were: 1. No Claire, which is great for me, as she's my least favorite character of Gabaldon's. Sorry, but C gets on my nerves. 2. It's set in the UK, so no grappling with slavery or race, which she always mangles.

    My favorite character is Lord John, and some details feel like she's ret-conning him as less kind than established. I had hoped that this series would see him break out of his thankless duty of celibately reflecting the glow of J & C. Not quite. At least he's finally getting some, even if it's not a partner. I'd love to see LJ treated as a good person while enjoying his sexuality. This is the closest the author's gotten, but the possible retcon is troubling.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    A little different view than the Outlander series. Tells more o

    A little different view than the Outlander series. Tells more of what was going on with John Grey. More details of the relationship between John and Jamie. I still gobbled it up. But does not have the magic of the Outlander books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1