Customer Reviews for

The Screwtape Letters

Average Rating 4.5
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

This is not a moralizing book trying to convert people to Christianity. Even as a Jew, I found Lewis's writing and religious beliefs to change my perspective on many things in life. It is a well-written book that can be enjoyed by anyone.

posted by Anonymous on January 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

not so good

I read and loved Narnia so I read this book in hopes that it would be just as good ... I was dissapointed. Much of the book oversimlplifies very difficult stuggles in the Christian life. Anytime I speak to a Christian about the book they think I am a bad Christian bec...
I read and loved Narnia so I read this book in hopes that it would be just as good ... I was dissapointed. Much of the book oversimlplifies very difficult stuggles in the Christian life. Anytime I speak to a Christian about the book they think I am a bad Christian because I do not love the book based of the faith of the writer. We should be able to say that some Christian liturature is poorly written without feeling like we are opposing god.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Amazing

    This is not a moralizing book trying to convert people to Christianity. Even as a Jew, I found Lewis's writing and religious beliefs to change my perspective on many things in life. It is a well-written book that can be enjoyed by anyone.

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lewis at his best!

    The Screwtape Letters is more relevant today than ever. CS Lewis describes the temptations of today's times as well as yesterdays, validating the point that evil is consistant and hardworking, if nothing else. Masterfully done!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    Devilishly Clever...

    The Screwtape Letters remains one of the most powerful satires of recent times; not only because it can be interpreted on so many different levels. It's without parallel insofar as demands on the reader go- it forces you to reassess your views of religion and God, and although you always know 'the Enemy will win the day', you find yourself mesmerised, and keen to know the next installment. What struck me, especially in light of all the government scandals lately, is how much like a spin doctor Screwtape is. His insights into human behaviour are sharp and shrewd- he knows how to 'play the violin prettily', but his championing of obviously hideous things (the delight of Noise, for instance)and debasement of the Enemy (his belittlement of God betrays his fear of him)expose him for the fraud he is. It's scary, though. In 'Screwtape Makes a Toast', the appendix to this volume, Screwtape speaks at lenght about how it is not fabulously wicked people but small-minded, everyday evil that will eventually win the fight against God, and the country, under the guise of 'Democracy', will be one of apathy and mediocrity... and it's true!!!! Devilishly clever, but very scary. It demands a second, third... countless rereads.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    An Excellent Study in 'What Not To Do'

    In The Screwtape Letters, C.S. Lewis has presented with one side of a correspondence between two fictitious demons. Screwtape, a demon with a high position and good standing with the one they name as their 'Father below', writes to his younger nephew, teaching him in the methods of temptation. In this unique way, Lewis reveals not only temptations themselves, but also the way to overcome them through Jesus Christ. In addition, it is a highly entertaining read, sometimes depressing, at many times humorous, and always insightful, as we follow two demons' plot to ensnare the soul of a new Christian. ---Ryan Robledo Author of the Aelnathan

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    insightful

    set up in the form of letters from an upper-level demon (screwtape) to a newbie tempter (wormwood), c.s. lewis describes the strengths and weaknesses of human nature. there were times when i laughed out loud while reading this, because i felt like screwtape and wormwood had been inside of my head my whole life. this book gives hope to struggling souls and inspires everyone to work harder, because, as the book points out, when we are trying to do good, God is 'pleased even with [our] stumbles.'

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    One of the best

    I read this book many years ago and I just got another copy to give to someone who is dealing with evil forces at work in their life. ' The fool says in his heart, there is no God.' The screwtape letters shows how satan and his demons try to discourage a person of faith. It is a very good read indeed, and just like the sacred Scriptures, it has to be read and understood spiritually. It appears that those who excoriate this beneficial book are still in slippery places. In this book one can see that satan is a liar and the father of lies. 5 stars plus one.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Love it!

    I definatly recomend it ! The book is in a demons perspective of how to control mortals. Its written by one of my favorite authors......C.S.Lewis

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Captivating and original

    The Screwtape Letters is by far one of the best books I have read lately. I had heard about the concept of the story from a friend and was intrigued by the idea of demons surrounding us in our daily lives, tempting and manipulating us in various ways. The book certainly lived up to the hopes I had for it. I was delighted with the advice and guidance that Screwtape offers to his dear "nephew"/trainee, Wormwood, in setting the human he has been assigned to towards the path of damnation. It all seemed more than conceivable that such a thing could truly be occuring everyday around all around us.....a constant battle between good and evil for the souls of mankind. This book gives a revealing and insightful sneak peek into what such a struggle may in fact look like. Being privy to such a scene is not only fun...but immensely satisfying. :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    To know our adversary...

    I highly recommend this book. With our lives moving faster and faster and there being in general less quiet and down time, its obvious why "the father of lies" would like us not to encounter this book. Lewis gives us a "grain of understanding" as to the real battle we are facing as human beings, God's children. "The battle is not against flesh and blood"...in this book we see the battle between good and evil, and how the battle is not fought only in the physical realm, but in our mind and heart as well. Lewis gives us a glimpse of how we are distracted, lied to, and generally kept captive, if we are not listening to our Father...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    C.S. Lewis Shines as Always

    C.S. Lewis nails human nature in this fascinating little novel. I found myself reevaluating myself and my actions in the light of the wisdom he shares. An excellent choice for anyone wishing to read something uplifting and well-written.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    REMINDS ME OF ANOTHER TITLE

    I recently purchased another book entitled, "The Dialogues Of Adolph And Mavelia And Other Sketches" by E. A. Merodach, which followed the same concept as "The Screwtape Letters", only much more technically informative. Both were no less really great reads. Enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Unfortunately, most customers will overlook this when browsing i

    Unfortunately, most customers will overlook this when browsing in stores, as it's mistakenly classified as NON-fiction.  But, much like Narnia, this is a creation of the author's mind; a narrative, told from the perspective of a fictional character.  At no point did the author claim that demon named Screwtape was a real figure from scripture, nor that these were actual events in history.  But, for reasons unknown, the brilliant minds at Barnes & Noble put this in non-fiction, along with biographies, history, and memoirs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    The reader has the opportunity to read letters written by Screwt

    The reader has the opportunity to read letters written by Screwtape—a retired tempter of Satan—who is mentoring a young tempter called Wormwood. Screwtape is trying to advise Wormwood on the best way to tempt and lead astray his human assignment.




    This book is an interesting perspective on the usual list of “do's and don't's” or “should and should not” that some Christians subscribe to. I know some will have a hard time stomaching that this is one side of a conversation between two demons, but perhaps those who avoid traditional religious books will find this interesting. I found it more though provoking than I expected. Due to some of the subject matter, I would recommend this to young adult and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Good book...

    Love C. S. Lewis! It was a little hard for me to read & follow, but worth the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    INCREDIBLE!

    I have read most of C.S. Lewis's books, but this is by-far the best one. Lewis uses his wisdom and intellect to write a very realistic book on Spiritual warfare that captivates the reader. I definitely recommend this book to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Awesome book!!

    The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis is a book written from the perspective of a demon. Each chapter is a letter written from a senior demon to a junior demon that is trying to earn his "stripes." Throughout the book you will find yourself chuckling at what is being said but at the same time you will stop and think about how true it actually is.
    Not only is this a humorous book to read but it also is one that should be meditated. The introduction to this book explains how it should be read very clearly; Lewis says, "Readers are advised to remember that the devil is a liar. Not everything Screwtape says should be assumed to be true even from his own angle." As you read the book you would find yourself asking questions such as "Do I believe what Screwtape is saying to be true? Or is he lying?" "What weaknesses of mine are being attacked?" "What can I do to improve myself as a person?" This work of art is one to be devoured not just by the eyes but by the mind as well.
    I recommend this book to anyone; it's a great read with short chapters which makes it easier to study. The language in this book is a little different than what we are used to, but at the same time it makes you read slower so that you understand it better. This is a very cleverly written book; to be able to write a book from the perspective of the other side is just unheard of.
    Overall, I would give this book a 5/5; it was one of the most enjoyable books that I have read as of late and would read it over and over again. I believe that each time one reads The Screwtape Letters they will learn something new-something that they can improve in their lives. As you read this book you will find out more about your human nature than from any other book and you will recognize the temptations that you are subject to. This book contains a lot of truth, but you are the one that is the judge of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Read This Book!!

    Poor C.S. Lewis must have had to go to a very dark place in his mind to produce such a compelling and intricate portrait of the evil forces working against believers at all times. But thank goodness he did, because The Screwtape Letters offers such a neat perspective into something that I think most people don't like/want to think about. The book reads very easily from chapter to chapter, or rather letter to letter. It is relatable on multiple levels and really causes the reader to take a moment to reflect on how these situations manifest in his or her own life, and Lewis's concept leads the reader to evaluate how to proceed when it seems that his or her own Screwtape is chiseling away at his or her foundation. Thankfully for us and for the central character in The Screwtape Letters, that foundation is Rock!! Thought provoking and conversation-starter...this book is a must read and a valuable addition to one's personal library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    A ReRead Must

    The Letters was recommended to me almost a year ago by a dear friend. Lewis knows how to write in a way that captures you from the beginning. But this is not a book to be sped thru. And reading it only once is a no-no. I will be rereading this book a few more times. My first read gave me a basic understanding, but now I am going to slow down and delve more into the messages that are on the pages. A must read for everyone who is curious to know of how the other side probably thinks in relation to us as humans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    not so good

    I read and loved Narnia so I read this book in hopes that it would be just as good ... I was dissapointed. Much of the book oversimlplifies very difficult stuggles in the Christian life. Anytime I speak to a Christian about the book they think I am a bad Christian because I do not love the book based of the faith of the writer. We should be able to say that some Christian liturature is poorly written without feeling like we are opposing god.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12