Customer Reviews for

The Screwtape Letters

Average Rating 4.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book, outstanding edition

The Screwtape Letters is a book of correspondence, letters from a senior devil named Screwtape to his nephew, a "junior tempter" named Wormwood. It is great literature, and (obviously) quite religious -- brilliantly so, in that it takes the devil's POV to make arguments...
The Screwtape Letters is a book of correspondence, letters from a senior devil named Screwtape to his nephew, a "junior tempter" named Wormwood. It is great literature, and (obviously) quite religious -- brilliantly so, in that it takes the devil's POV to make arguments & observations.

If you want any further info regarding the literary content, consult a librarian or check Wikipedia. The rest of this review will be regarding the additional content of B&N's "The Screwtape Letters - Special Illustrated Edition (Enhanced Edition)".

First of all, this edition (according to other posters) will NOT work on an iPad. Additionally, it will NOT work on my PC (Windows 7) using the Nook for PC program. I suspect the cause of this is that, given all the extra features in this Enhanced nook book, it isn't compatible with the Nook app.

Secondly, I have no idea if this would work on a Nook Simple Touch. My guess is no -- and even if it did, without color, the videos & illustrations probably wouldn't look as great. But I don't work at B&N, so if you need to know, ask a sales rep.

BUT, this nook book DOES work perfectly on both the Nook Color (according to another reviewer) and on the Nook Tablet (which I can attest to).

So, with the specs out of the way:
This Enhanced nook book is absolutely amazing, and I am so glad I bought it.

It has the complete text of the Letters, plus the text of "Screwtape Proposes a Toast" (also by C. Lewis, though published later). But all that you can find in most other editions.
What's amazing about this one is the enhanced content: illustrations of Screwtape at the start of each chapter, and of Wormwood scattered throughout; videos with relevant historical and literary info, biographical info about the author, and more; and audio clips with recordings from famous performance of The Screwtape Letters, as well as interviews and a lot more.

To conclude, this is an incredible work of literature, greatly deserving of high-quality enhanced features. And this edition has delivered on that, beyond even my wildest dreams. BRAVO!

posted by 7520175 on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

CS Lewis captures the devil's helper perfectly!

What an interesting way to see what the devil is having his helpers do to us in the background. If you read it, and think about it, you will see that these things ARE happening in either your life, or of people you know! What an insightful person was CS Lewis - this m...
What an interesting way to see what the devil is having his helpers do to us in the background. If you read it, and think about it, you will see that these things ARE happening in either your life, or of people you know! What an insightful person was CS Lewis - this must have been an extremely difficult book to write!

posted by Janihall on March 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted February 26, 2015

    "My dear Wormwood," ... so begins a series of letters

    "My dear Wormwood,"
    ... so begins a series of letters in which CS Lewis explores the peaks and valleys of human nature with a light hand and brilliant wit.
    This book has been on my reading list for the longest time and I am so happy I finally had the opportunity to experience it -- especially in light of this week's anniversary date -- serendipity.
    This is one of those wonderful works that you can read over and over again and always find a philosophical gem or a turn of phrase to ponder. If you haven't read it -- read it! -- you will not be disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    REMINDS ME OF ANOTHER TITLE

    I recently purchased another book entitled, "The Dialogues Of Adolph And Mavelia And Other Sketches" by E. A. Merodach, which followed the same concept as "The Screwtape Letters", only much more technically informative. Both were no less really great reads. Enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Unfortunately, most customers will overlook this when browsing i

    Unfortunately, most customers will overlook this when browsing in stores, as it's mistakenly classified as NON-fiction.  But, much like Narnia, this is a creation of the author's mind; a narrative, told from the perspective of a fictional character.  At no point did the author claim that demon named Screwtape was a real figure from scripture, nor that these were actual events in history.  But, for reasons unknown, the brilliant minds at Barnes & Noble put this in non-fiction, along with biographies, history, and memoirs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    The reader has the opportunity to read letters written by Screwt

    The reader has the opportunity to read letters written by Screwtape—a retired tempter of Satan—who is mentoring a young tempter called Wormwood. Screwtape is trying to advise Wormwood on the best way to tempt and lead astray his human assignment.




    This book is an interesting perspective on the usual list of “do's and don't's” or “should and should not” that some Christians subscribe to. I know some will have a hard time stomaching that this is one side of a conversation between two demons, but perhaps those who avoid traditional religious books will find this interesting. I found it more though provoking than I expected. Due to some of the subject matter, I would recommend this to young adult and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Good book...

    Love C. S. Lewis! It was a little hard for me to read & follow, but worth the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    INCREDIBLE!

    I have read most of C.S. Lewis's books, but this is by-far the best one. Lewis uses his wisdom and intellect to write a very realistic book on Spiritual warfare that captivates the reader. I definitely recommend this book to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Awesome book!!

    The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis is a book written from the perspective of a demon. Each chapter is a letter written from a senior demon to a junior demon that is trying to earn his "stripes." Throughout the book you will find yourself chuckling at what is being said but at the same time you will stop and think about how true it actually is.
    Not only is this a humorous book to read but it also is one that should be meditated. The introduction to this book explains how it should be read very clearly; Lewis says, "Readers are advised to remember that the devil is a liar. Not everything Screwtape says should be assumed to be true even from his own angle." As you read the book you would find yourself asking questions such as "Do I believe what Screwtape is saying to be true? Or is he lying?" "What weaknesses of mine are being attacked?" "What can I do to improve myself as a person?" This work of art is one to be devoured not just by the eyes but by the mind as well.
    I recommend this book to anyone; it's a great read with short chapters which makes it easier to study. The language in this book is a little different than what we are used to, but at the same time it makes you read slower so that you understand it better. This is a very cleverly written book; to be able to write a book from the perspective of the other side is just unheard of.
    Overall, I would give this book a 5/5; it was one of the most enjoyable books that I have read as of late and would read it over and over again. I believe that each time one reads The Screwtape Letters they will learn something new-something that they can improve in their lives. As you read this book you will find out more about your human nature than from any other book and you will recognize the temptations that you are subject to. This book contains a lot of truth, but you are the one that is the judge of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Read This Book!!

    Poor C.S. Lewis must have had to go to a very dark place in his mind to produce such a compelling and intricate portrait of the evil forces working against believers at all times. But thank goodness he did, because The Screwtape Letters offers such a neat perspective into something that I think most people don't like/want to think about. The book reads very easily from chapter to chapter, or rather letter to letter. It is relatable on multiple levels and really causes the reader to take a moment to reflect on how these situations manifest in his or her own life, and Lewis's concept leads the reader to evaluate how to proceed when it seems that his or her own Screwtape is chiseling away at his or her foundation. Thankfully for us and for the central character in The Screwtape Letters, that foundation is Rock!! Thought provoking and conversation-starter...this book is a must read and a valuable addition to one's personal library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    A ReRead Must

    The Letters was recommended to me almost a year ago by a dear friend. Lewis knows how to write in a way that captures you from the beginning. But this is not a book to be sped thru. And reading it only once is a no-no. I will be rereading this book a few more times. My first read gave me a basic understanding, but now I am going to slow down and delve more into the messages that are on the pages. A must read for everyone who is curious to know of how the other side probably thinks in relation to us as humans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    not so good

    I read and loved Narnia so I read this book in hopes that it would be just as good ... I was dissapointed. Much of the book oversimlplifies very difficult stuggles in the Christian life. Anytime I speak to a Christian about the book they think I am a bad Christian because I do not love the book based of the faith of the writer. We should be able to say that some Christian liturature is poorly written without feeling like we are opposing god.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    I really enjoyed this book. C.S. Lewis took a new twist on your

    I really enjoyed this book. C.S. Lewis took a new twist on your typical Christian book when he wrote this from the demon’s perspective. Instead of a book about do’s and don’ts, The Screwtape Letters abandons reciting rules at you. Instead, it suggests how the demons would use your actions and opinions to draw you away from God. It takes a few chapters to get the hang of, because Screwtape refers to God as “the Enemy”, and the human his nephew is trying to corrupt as “the patient”. However, once you get the hang of it, you’re hooked. Each letter focuses on another aspect of the patient’s life, as Wormwood learns from his uncle how to tempt this human, to ultimately take his soul. This also takes place in mid 20th century Europe, during World War 2. As a result, the patient is engulfed in war time, and eventually dies in an air raid. The patient ends up in heaven because he converted to Christianity, which we learned in the second letter. This book is great for anybody looking to read from an interesting perspective. Christian or not, this book isn’t for just one group of people. The ideas and writing are intriguing for anybody to read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2015

    Amazing work of Satire as Theology

    CS Lewis's depiction of the strategies of evil are as vivid and almost as applicable as when this was written in the War years of England.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    C.S. Lewis at his best.

    Great inspirational book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    CS Lewis

    Even Non-Believers will enjoy this book! Strange, how one can not believe in God, but believes in C S Lewis. I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Love it!

    Insightful in every way for everyone...not just Christians

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Insight

    C.S. Lewis' insights into human nature and how they affect the Christian life are profound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    The Screwtape letters

    I saw my brother in 8th grade reading this and I thought it looked interesting and from the viewpoint of a 6th grader this.is one of the best books I've read all.year and I hope you like it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Deimos

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    Interesting book showing our temptations and weaknesses. Well-wr

    Interesting book showing our temptations and weaknesses. Well-written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14