Customer Reviews for

The Scribe: Irin Chronicles Book One

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    You will Love

    I bought the next book in the series before I finished the last sentence-loved this book-as well as her Elemental Mysteries - ‎

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Well it started out good but then it took a turn for the worse.

    Well it started out good but then it took a turn for the worse. I'm sorry but what was going on between the characters was just felt unrealistic, rushed and mushy I couldn't look past it to even finish the book. YUCK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    I loved this book! I have been on a bad streak with books but th

    I loved this book! I have been on a bad streak with books but this put ended it. Everything thing about this book was amazing the writing, the character, the action and the romance. I was so engaged in this book, it completely sucked me in from the start. 
    The concept of this book was so unique and Elizabeth Hunter did amazing job of writing the world of Irin. We start off the book with our main character Ava who is in one of the many doctors offices she has been to through the course of her life. While the doctor can't help her he recommends a colleague in Istanbul. This is where the story really starts, while Istanbul is the setting of the story the author goes into such detail it feels like you are really there. It was very interesting to read a book set in such a exotic location that most books aren't set in.
    Now to the romance, my favorite part, Ava and Malachi are the perfect complement to each other. The chemistry between them makes them feel so real and you are rooting for them the whole time. Malachi is a Irin guard sworn to protect his race and the humans from the Grigori whose main purpose is seduce and procreate with the humans and just cause chaos wherever they go. Malachi has had a hard life like most of the Irin, so after the murder of his parents his life is dedicated to killing the evil monsters who killed so many of his kind, that is until Ava comes along. Ava is an American girl who hasn't had the easiest life either, she is a single child that has a stepfather who pawns her off to whoever will take her, a mother that is more of a friend and a father that wasn't really part of her life. Ava has a condition that causes her to hear voices from peoples mind, but the strange thing is that they are all speaking in the same unknown language. This has been plaguing Ava for as long as she can remember causing her to avoid crowds and not form connections with people. That is until Malachi comes along. Their relationship first begins with Ava thinking Malachi is a hired bod guard hired by her mother and stepfather but she soon realizes that this isn't the case and this begins their relationship. While they face many challenged both internal and external they are stronger for it in the end.
    The action was good and descriptive, I'm not one to critique action doesn't always interest me this book kept my attention because I was so invested in the characters that I had to make sure everyone made it out alive.
    This book has everything and written in such an amazing way that it has become one of my favorite series and am anxiously awaiting the next one that she already has teasers for! This book had everything I love amazing writing, interesting characters that you feel are real, which may cause some problems when you are yelling and crying at your book. The best part by far his the romance that leaves you breathless and wishing it could happen to you. If you love paranormal romances with plenty of action then this is the book for you. I strongly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Talk about an emotional roller coaster ride! I CAN'T WAIT until

    Talk about an emotional roller coaster ride! I CAN'T WAIT until the second book comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Heart wrenching!!!!!

    This story is a roller coaster of emotion and excitement!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    I found this book while looking for something different to read,

    I found this book while looking for something different to read, and was pleasantly surprised at the originality and writing style of this book. It has been a while since I've read a book of such high caliber. I just read this book in one go, I couldn't put it down. Sadly, I have to wait for the next installment now.

    The book description doesn't say much about the book, but trust me, buy this book. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    Loved It!!!!

    I was into this book from the first page and can hardly wait for #2 in the series. It was perfect escapism reading when I was home sick. Far-fetched and yet it made me think that maybe all things are not what they seem to be - maybe we are all surrounded by good and bad angels all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    great book

    I loved the book. Good plot, fast action. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    amazing, amazing story...

    I seriously don't know where to start with my review. I have tried several times to get it going and would delete the 'crap' I had typed out. Nothing was coming out the way I wanted it to. No words sounded right for what I was feeling when I finished this book. Amazing? Yes! Beautiful? Absolutely! So utterly heart wrenching? Most definitely! But even those words don’t do this book justice.

    I was immediately immersed into this read from the first few lines. Hunter has a special way of getting the reader's attention and keeping it until the end. I know because it happens with all her books. When Hunter writes a story you become so consumed in the book you feel as if you are a part of it.

    Ava is one of those strong willed women you can’t help but love. She has always been on her own. Not that her mother doesn’t’ love her, because she does. But it is better when she is alone…then the voices that plague her mind are quieter. Ava feels as if she is broken due to these voices that she hears all around her. She has never met anyone else like her and the voices are in a language she has tried to track down but has failed. That is until she finds a doctor with a unique therapy that seems to help her and a body guard whose mere presence alone is calming to her soul.

    Malachi. From the moment we are inside his head I knew I was going to fall hard for this guy. And fell hard I did. There is something so mysterious about him and unattainable that just makes you want to hold him down and find out all his secrets. When he comes across Ava, he is instantly drawn to her. He wants to know who she is and why she is so special. The ache to touch her is more than he can stand…it is something he must resist at all costs. But even the thought of being ‘just friends’ with Ava is tearing him apart.

    I bet if I looked back at all my reviews I would be like a broken record. Saying things like…Hunter blew me away with this story. And she absolutely did with this one. This book! This amazingly beautiful book! It captivated from the start and I couldn’t put it down. Literally. I had it in the kitchen with me while cooking supper. I didn’t want to stray far from these characters that attached themselves to my heart so quickly. I needed them and they needed me. I needed to hear their story and they needed to tell me.

    And their story is so heart-stirring, so unexpected, so utterly heart wrenching. It has been a while since a book has affected me to this degree. I had to put the book down when a certain part happened. My heart was torn in two. I wasn’t sure I wanted to go on. How could I when something so unbelievably unexpected happens? How dare Hunter do this to me! To her readers. But as I continued on, I felt we might not have seen the last of a certain character. But with the way it proceeded to go, I am still scared for what is to come. Lives are in turmoil and it makes me excited for what will happen in book 2, THE SINGER.

    If you have ever read one of Hunter’s books, you absolutely know how creative this lady is. She weaves her words into such a beautiful tale and creates a story that is so intriguing you never want it to end. Even the emotional scenes are some of the most precious I have ever read. My heart is still aching the next day with my mind on these characters. Yes, THE SCRIBE is definitely a must read. In fact, it is on my to re-read list.

    Pick it up! Read it! Enjoy it! Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1