Customer Reviews for

The Sea of Tranquility

Average Rating 5
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    I¿m going to admit that this book wasn¿t at all what I thought i

    I’m going to admit that this book wasn’t at all what I thought it would be. I thought it wasn’t going to be my style. I thought it wasn’t going to be good. I thought I wasn’t going to like it.

    I blame this on the synopsis. It doesn’t do the book justice. It should say something like “This book will tear your heart out and put it back together, but you won’t ever be the same.” or maybe “This isn’t merely a love story, it is an amazing, rich story with deep and unique characters that will steal your breath and make you feel absolutely everything there is to feel.”

    This book was amazing. It was beautiful. It was heart-breaking. And it was hopeful. It had this and more, so much more.

    Nastya has had her spirit crushed and her body broken, but she still goes on. She doesn’t live though, not until she meets Josh. Their lives intertwined and they were never the same. Both of them are broken, both of them feel they are hopeless, and both of them will leave you in shreds when they tell their stories.

    This story was an emotional rollercoaster. It had its highs and its lows, it took me through loops and had many twists I didn’t see coming. I want to re-read this all over again, now that I know the whole story, to catch the things I didn’t catch before. Looking back at the clues that were left there so when the whole story was revealed I was left to admire the author’s handiwork. The author planted pieces to the puzzle that we didn’t know were pieces until the whole puzzle was solved. She’s as amazing with words as Josh is with woodwork or Nastya was with a piano.

    I loved the plot. I didn’t expect a lot of the things that happened and honestly did not know if things were going to end up happy. Normally I would hate this, but I knew that things weren’t going to be resolved easily for them. It wouldn’t fit and honestly I would have been disappointed if they were. I think that the book ended perfectly. The ending was truly, honestly, and amazingly perfect.

    Those last two words. Oh my God, those last two words. My heart stopped right there and I knew right then and there that this book is going in my favorite books of all time. Actually, that’s a lie. I knew that it was going to my one of my favorites of all time way before that. It’s that good.

    You guys know those books you’re torn between recommending them to the whole world so they can read the beautiful story you’ve read and never telling anyone so you can hold onto it because it’s yours and you want it to keep being yours for ever and ever? That’s me. I want to shout about this book on the rooftops and want to never tell anyone and just clutch it to me so it never leaves my side.

    Honestly, though? Go read this book. You won’t regret it. The characters and so deep and profound and broken that you will love them forever and want to re-read this book for all time.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Nastya was killed one day while walking the neighborhood in the

    Nastya was killed one day while walking the neighborhood in the daylight. The doctors were able to bring her back but life has never been the same since. For a while she couldn't remember anything about that day but the moment she does, she completely shuts down. She decided to stop talking because she can't bring herself to say the things that everyone wants to hear, "who did it" and "what happened". So instead of trying to come up with lies for the answers, she decides to stop talking until she can bring herself to talk about it. Only, minutes turn into hours, hours into days, days into months... you get the idea. All she knows is the boy who attacked her kept calling her a Russian whore and when she's given a second chance at life, that's exactly the persona she takes on.

    Everyone that Josh has ever loved is dead. His mom and sister were killed in a car accident when he was 8, his father died of a heart attack later on and his grandfather, who is the only one left, is not looking like he's got too much longer to live. So at the age of 18 he is alone. He keeps to himself and only has one friend, and he's perfectly fine with that. He doesn't want anyone else in his life who is just going to leave him heartbroken.

    I loved their story. You get bits and pieces of Nastya's story as the story progresses but it isn't until the end that all the pieces fall together. I liked that this wasn't one of those teen angst books where the girl falls in love with the bad boy. Josh is a loner and even though he's not looking to make friends, he isn't rude to Nastya. It isn't until his best friend, Drew, decides to pursue the new girl, Nastya, that the two characters start to interact.

    Now normally I don't talk about the cover because a lot of the time it's not always relevant to the story. However, this cover deserves some spotlight for how amazing it is. The Sea of Tranquility is actually the lunar mare (dark part we see on the moon) that is located in the Tranquillitatus basin on the moon. Why is this relevant? Well, there's a part of the book when Nastya and Josh are laying in the bed of his truck looking up at the stars and the moon. They start talking about the Sea of Tranquility and how Nastya has a picture of the moon on her room wall. She used to think that the Sea of Tranquility was a beautiful and peaceful place that you'd want to go to when you die but has since learned that the name is all a lie.
    The ice cream is actually presented a lot in the story. Nastya has this addiction to sugar. Her food groups consists of, candy, cookies, cake and ice cream. She once tells Josh that if she goes too long without ice cream she gets really irritable. And since then he either has ice cream in his freezer or he takes her out for ice cream.

    "We put a pretty big dent in every one of those containers, and she's definitely more Sunshine and less Nasty afterward. I make a mental note for the next time she gets pissy that, in lieu of mood stabilizers, ice cream will do the trick."

    I'm so glad that I read this book. The author has a wonderful way of weaving two stories together to create a seamless masterpiece. This is an unforgettable story about two characters who find peace in each other and with the bond that they create, start to heal. It will keep you up until all hours of the night, until you finally pass out, only to start reading again the second that you wake up. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for more work from this debut author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Must read

    Have you ever read a book where you didnt want it to end? Where no other book will be the same? Where you cant even try and read another book until you recover?
    This is that, and more

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Favorite nook book

    This was an amazing book. If you are looking for a new book to read and not sure if you should get this one, just do it. You won't regret it. I cannot stop thinking about this book. You will fall in love with the characters, the plot sucks you in, and on top of that, the writing is great. I cannot stress enough how much I loved this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Captured me.

    Resonated deeply with this book, and had to make myself "take a break" many times. I just couldn't leave this story, untill I finished all of it.

    Please read....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    This book defines the word 'wonderful!'

    5++ stars! An absolutely amazing book and very well written! It has been a few days since I have finished it and I am still thinking about it. I will be re- reading this, there is no doubt!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Fave of the year

    Rarely do i read a book that makes me feel blessed to have the opportunity to read an authors words but this book did that. I loved this book. Quite possibly my favorite of the year.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2015

    Amazing!

    I loved it -- I wasn't sure I would since it was categorized as young adult, but it was great. It was very fast reading. I could not stop reading about the relationship between the two main characters. Amazing and definitely five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    5 stars!

    This book is beautiful. One of my favorites. It will show you about what it is like to be different and open your mind to why people are the way they are, why they dress the way they dress. People all get through things differently and this book shows that in many ways. It is unexpected and very powerful. I recommend it to all and especially those who may feel like they're alone in the world, this book will show you how similar yet different we all are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2014

    This book blew me away. i can't even remember why i bought it, b

    This book blew me away. i can't even remember why i bought it, but i absolutely fell in love with it, and have since told all of my literary friends to read it. Aside from the fact that the ending is badass(down to the last page!), the lead character is a beutifully strong girl just looking to find herself again after a tragedy. love, wit, and triumph in a very real and heartfelt setting made this book impossible for me to put down or even read just once.
    her love interest is great by himself, but the two together make for a couple you root so hard for your chest aches.
    this novel turns in a few directions you dont think it's going towards, but the rewards are well worth the trip.
    this is a novel i will always remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Book hangover big time!

    Loved this! One of the best I've read this year! Need tissues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 4.5 Three sentence review: I loved that there was bui

    Rating: 4.5

    Three sentence review:

    I loved that there was buildup to Nastya and Josh's friendship and, ultimately, love. The Sea of Tranquility is full of tragedy, healing, emotion, and so many beautiful words. This is such an incredible book and if you're looking for a realistic romance that isn't all rainbows and sunshine, look no further.

    You can read all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    We just started a book club, and this was our first choice. Let

    We just started a book club, and this was our first choice.

    Let me tell you...if this is the type of books that are going to be picked, then I am a lifelong book club member. 

    I loved this book and have recommended it to everyone I know that reads. It captured my attention and I could not put it down. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Wow....

    Loved it!,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    YardieBookFanatic

    I bought this book after reading my email from Smut Book Club: 10 books that stays with you. And as usual, I wasn't disappointed. This is a 2nd read book. Great characters, great story and quite possible, a tear- jerking story.Loved this book and author. A standalone great read.
    LOVETOREAD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    4/5 stars

    4/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    There are books that bring you joy. Books that make you cry and

    There are books that bring you joy. Books that make you cry and then make you laugh. Books that make you fear the night or get you hot and bothered. Some make your favorites list, others you work overtime to hide so friends or strangers don’t know you’re even reading them.

    Then there’s The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay. Four days ago I had not even heard of this book, Millay's debut novel, and certainly didn’t know enough to classify it into any of the categories mentioned above. Now, having read it, cried over it, heaved huge sighs of relief over it, I am incapable of classifying it in any category except for the one with the title “My Favorite Books.”

    The Sea of Tranquility is a misleading title. If you’re looking for something peaceful or tranquil I suggest a nice poem or prescribed medication. If, instead, you’re looking for something that crushes you and gives you hope all at once, makes you fall in love with not just the main characters but the strong, well-developed secondary characters that grace the pages, then this is the book for you.

    We meet our heroine as she enters her new high school. Yes, high school. Did I forget to mention that this is a Young Adult novel about teenagers? I didn’t because it just doesn’t matter. Much like John Green’s The Fault in our Stars, The Sea of Tranquility is for every single person who can read.

    But, I digress.

    Told in alternating, first person point of view from the main characters, the book starts with an ominous journal entry promising death. We then meet our heroine, Nastya (pronounced NAH-stee-ya) on registration day at her new high school. She’s a beautiful, angry, sarcastically funny, young woman who you know immediately you shouldn’t cross. We meet her hero, Josh, when she does, striding across the courtyard at school. Right away Nastya recognizes that Josh has something she wants desperately: isolation. Unfortunately for her, he’s not willing to give that up for anyone, and here begins their relationship.

    Nastya and Josh’s story is devastatingly beautiful. Against their will they find themselves drawn to each other. Nastya insinuates herself into Josh’s life because she recognizes herself in his isolation. He lets her in, at first because she’s just there and he has no choice. Then she gives him a gift she hasn’t shared with anyone in over a year and with it she breaks through the barrier he has built up around himself. Yet. Yet, there are secrets and secrets are a wall between the truth and fantasy.

    I could go on and on for pages about Nastya and Josh, but I want you to know them by reading the book. At 426 pages, this isn’t a short book. Dialogue is scarce, yet the narration is smooth and never becomes tiresome. As a reader that enjoys a dialogue-heavy book, this one took my breath away with the thoughts and feelings of its characters. They make you laugh, they make you want to scream at them and shake them, and naturally they make you want to cry.

    What’s important to know about The Sea of Tranquility is that it is honest and true. It reassures the reader that you can be broken, but still have hope. It shares a message that should be shouted through the halls of every high school and every street in every city. The actual Sea of Tranquility is a dry desert crater that covers part of the moon. Here on Earth, humanity is not dry, our hearts are not a desert. Instead we are full of life regardless of how much life has broken us. While the moon is guaranteed to be a ball of rock for eternity, humanity will always have the ability, the grace, to recover from tragedy. And that is Nastya and Josh’s story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Amazing!

    Great read. Only one question. Where do I find myself a josh bennett?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Amazing

    I remember reading this book when it first came out, and I loved it. I hit a funk recently and wanted to go back and reread some of the books I haven't touched in a while. Often times in another books I would find myself skipping through to my favorite parts...but not with this one.

    I can truly say that this book is one of my all time favorites, and will always be something I enjoy reading over and over again. I fell in love with each character again and I've literally stayed up all night to finish this story because I just couldn't go to bed without finishing it. Just like the first time I read this book; I was blown away. I was sad and cried, I was afraid and anxious, I was relieved and thankful, I was able to relate and laugh with them. Not every author has the ability to pull so many emotions from me in one book, but this one sure did!

    I'm anxiously waiting for another book from Katja, because I know it will be worth every penny. If you haven't read this book yet, do it now! I promise you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Amazing

    Fantastic...love the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10