Customer Reviews for

The Sea of Tranquility

Average Rating 5
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    I¿m going to admit that this book wasn¿t at all what I thought i

    I’m going to admit that this book wasn’t at all what I thought it would be. I thought it wasn’t going to be my style. I thought it wasn’t going to be good. I thought I wasn’t going to like it.

    I blame this on the synopsis. It doesn’t do the book justice. It should say something like “This book will tear your heart out and put it back together, but you won’t ever be the same.” or maybe “This isn’t merely a love story, it is an amazing, rich story with deep and unique characters that will steal your breath and make you feel absolutely everything there is to feel.”

    This book was amazing. It was beautiful. It was heart-breaking. And it was hopeful. It had this and more, so much more.

    Nastya has had her spirit crushed and her body broken, but she still goes on. She doesn’t live though, not until she meets Josh. Their lives intertwined and they were never the same. Both of them are broken, both of them feel they are hopeless, and both of them will leave you in shreds when they tell their stories.

    This story was an emotional rollercoaster. It had its highs and its lows, it took me through loops and had many twists I didn’t see coming. I want to re-read this all over again, now that I know the whole story, to catch the things I didn’t catch before. Looking back at the clues that were left there so when the whole story was revealed I was left to admire the author’s handiwork. The author planted pieces to the puzzle that we didn’t know were pieces until the whole puzzle was solved. She’s as amazing with words as Josh is with woodwork or Nastya was with a piano.

    I loved the plot. I didn’t expect a lot of the things that happened and honestly did not know if things were going to end up happy. Normally I would hate this, but I knew that things weren’t going to be resolved easily for them. It wouldn’t fit and honestly I would have been disappointed if they were. I think that the book ended perfectly. The ending was truly, honestly, and amazingly perfect.

    Those last two words. Oh my God, those last two words. My heart stopped right there and I knew right then and there that this book is going in my favorite books of all time. Actually, that’s a lie. I knew that it was going to my one of my favorites of all time way before that. It’s that good.

    You guys know those books you’re torn between recommending them to the whole world so they can read the beautiful story you’ve read and never telling anyone so you can hold onto it because it’s yours and you want it to keep being yours for ever and ever? That’s me. I want to shout about this book on the rooftops and want to never tell anyone and just clutch it to me so it never leaves my side.

    Honestly, though? Go read this book. You won’t regret it. The characters and so deep and profound and broken that you will love them forever and want to re-read this book for all time.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Nastya was killed one day while walking the neighborhood in the

    Nastya was killed one day while walking the neighborhood in the daylight. The doctors were able to bring her back but life has never been the same since. For a while she couldn't remember anything about that day but the moment she does, she completely shuts down. She decided to stop talking because she can't bring herself to say the things that everyone wants to hear, "who did it" and "what happened". So instead of trying to come up with lies for the answers, she decides to stop talking until she can bring herself to talk about it. Only, minutes turn into hours, hours into days, days into months... you get the idea. All she knows is the boy who attacked her kept calling her a Russian whore and when she's given a second chance at life, that's exactly the persona she takes on.

    Everyone that Josh has ever loved is dead. His mom and sister were killed in a car accident when he was 8, his father died of a heart attack later on and his grandfather, who is the only one left, is not looking like he's got too much longer to live. So at the age of 18 he is alone. He keeps to himself and only has one friend, and he's perfectly fine with that. He doesn't want anyone else in his life who is just going to leave him heartbroken.

    I loved their story. You get bits and pieces of Nastya's story as the story progresses but it isn't until the end that all the pieces fall together. I liked that this wasn't one of those teen angst books where the girl falls in love with the bad boy. Josh is a loner and even though he's not looking to make friends, he isn't rude to Nastya. It isn't until his best friend, Drew, decides to pursue the new girl, Nastya, that the two characters start to interact.

    Now normally I don't talk about the cover because a lot of the time it's not always relevant to the story. However, this cover deserves some spotlight for how amazing it is. The Sea of Tranquility is actually the lunar mare (dark part we see on the moon) that is located in the Tranquillitatus basin on the moon. Why is this relevant? Well, there's a part of the book when Nastya and Josh are laying in the bed of his truck looking up at the stars and the moon. They start talking about the Sea of Tranquility and how Nastya has a picture of the moon on her room wall. She used to think that the Sea of Tranquility was a beautiful and peaceful place that you'd want to go to when you die but has since learned that the name is all a lie.
    The ice cream is actually presented a lot in the story. Nastya has this addiction to sugar. Her food groups consists of, candy, cookies, cake and ice cream. She once tells Josh that if she goes too long without ice cream she gets really irritable. And since then he either has ice cream in his freezer or he takes her out for ice cream.

    "We put a pretty big dent in every one of those containers, and she's definitely more Sunshine and less Nasty afterward. I make a mental note for the next time she gets pissy that, in lieu of mood stabilizers, ice cream will do the trick."

    I'm so glad that I read this book. The author has a wonderful way of weaving two stories together to create a seamless masterpiece. This is an unforgettable story about two characters who find peace in each other and with the bond that they create, start to heal. It will keep you up until all hours of the night, until you finally pass out, only to start reading again the second that you wake up. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for more work from this debut author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Must read

    Have you ever read a book where you didnt want it to end? Where no other book will be the same? Where you cant even try and read another book until you recover?
    This is that, and more

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Favorite nook book

    This was an amazing book. If you are looking for a new book to read and not sure if you should get this one, just do it. You won't regret it. I cannot stop thinking about this book. You will fall in love with the characters, the plot sucks you in, and on top of that, the writing is great. I cannot stress enough how much I loved this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Captured me.

    Resonated deeply with this book, and had to make myself "take a break" many times. I just couldn't leave this story, untill I finished all of it.

    Please read....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    This book defines the word 'wonderful!'

    5++ stars! An absolutely amazing book and very well written! It has been a few days since I have finished it and I am still thinking about it. I will be re- reading this, there is no doubt!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Fave of the year

    Rarely do i read a book that makes me feel blessed to have the opportunity to read an authors words but this book did that. I loved this book. Quite possibly my favorite of the year.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Amazing

    I remember reading this book when it first came out, and I loved it. I hit a funk recently and wanted to go back and reread some of the books I haven't touched in a while. Often times in another books I would find myself skipping through to my favorite parts...but not with this one.

    I can truly say that this book is one of my all time favorites, and will always be something I enjoy reading over and over again. I fell in love with each character again and I've literally stayed up all night to finish this story because I just couldn't go to bed without finishing it. Just like the first time I read this book; I was blown away. I was sad and cried, I was afraid and anxious, I was relieved and thankful, I was able to relate and laugh with them. Not every author has the ability to pull so many emotions from me in one book, but this one sure did!

    I'm anxiously waiting for another book from Katja, because I know it will be worth every penny. If you haven't read this book yet, do it now! I promise you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Amazing

    Fantastic...love the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    One of the best books I have read!!!

    I love a story that unfolds throughout the book and gives you bits of information as you go. This keeps me on my toes and makes you pay attention to the details. I kept wondering where the author was taking me on this journey through the main character's life. The array of emotions I felt while reading this book was incredible. The author has a way of bringing you right into the moment. I would read anything and everything by this author. If you like books about imperfect people this one is for you. By far this book has the BEST ending I have ever read in my life! Perfection! A must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Amatuer

    I'm having a hard time understanding why this book is getting such great reviews. The writing style is mucky and hard to get through and nothing happens. The characters are all have the same voice. Couldn't finish it, don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Captivating

    I do not typically read YA romance type novels, but I read such wonderful things about this book that I figured I would give it a whirl. At first, I was a little annoyed by the "something horrible has happened to this girl but you don't know what it is", but I quickly became interested in the characters and their story. Overall, I enjoyed the book. It is a book that I would recommend to some peopole, but I certainly would not recommend it to everyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Read it, just read it.

    I read a review of the book where it said this book is more than what you can possibly think it is, and they were right. Now, im not going to lie and say that it didnt have a slow start but i attribute that to developing those amazing characters. So stick with it, you wont regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Outstanding

    I cannot even describe how wonderful this book was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Beautiful

    No words to correctly describe this. So perfect.
    Read please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Amazing!

    Loved it! I read this book without taking a single break.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "It was like feeling without knowing. Like a fever dream. L

    "It was like feeling without knowing. Like a fever dream. Like the dream of second chances."

    It's so hard to put into words how I feel about this book. Every word, every space, every punctuation mark was so perfectly and intricately placed to form the most beautiful story. My hat is goes off to Katja Millay for crafting such a heartbreaking, heartwarming, and ugly-cry inducing story. Thank you for this gift.

    Something terrible happened to Nastya Kashnikov. She died, well figuratively. She lost her identity. In her post-death life, Nastya is a slave to structure, control, and illusion. After the "event," Nastya moves out of her parent's house and in with her aunt in a new town where no one will know her secret, and she's not telling. Her life consists of merely existing. She goes on nightly runs, bakes ridiculous amounts of sweets, and writes her 3 1/2 pages before going to bed.
    "I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to life my feet to walk."

    Josh Bennett's life has been defined by tragic losses. His mother and sister died in a car accident, his father died of a massive heart attack, and his grandparents lost their battles with cancer. He shuts everyone out of his life, except for his best friend Drew...and Nastya. Nastya embeds herself into Josh's life. He doesn't want her there, but she keeps coming back like a boomerang.
    "You have no reason to trust me."
    "No, but I trust you anyway," she says, walking out toward the driveway.
    "And I'm supposed to trust you?" I say to her back. This girl is really crazy if she thinks she's walking in here, out of nowhere, and expecting me to do that.
    She stops, turning to level her eyes at me before she goes.
    "You don't have to trust me. I don't have any of your secrets."

    One of my favorite things about TSoT (or tee-sought, as I call it) is Nastya's inner dialogue. Even though she went through something so traumatic, she is so strong, intelligent, and witty.
    "There's nothing sunny or shiny about me, but after last night, he's earned the right to mock me this morning. So yes, I think, at least for a little while, Josh Bennett can call me whatever the hell he likes."

    "Plus, once he did the requisite double-take and recognized me, he'd probably beat the crap out of any guy who looked at me in all my Snow White meets Frederick's of Hollywood glory."

    This is a story about second chances and two people learning to love themselves and one another. Their romance is not insta-love or conventional-just Josh and Nastya. It was slow-building, raw, and emotional, and it left me absolutely speechless. I felt every emotion as if I was in the book...SO MANY FEELINGS!
    "I let him watch me. He lets me watch him. We never call each other on it. It's a gift we give one another. No strings, no expectations, no reading between the lines."

    The Sea of Tranquility is my number one book of 2012. Considering this is her debut novel, Katja is a force to be reckoned with. I will read anything Millay writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Best¿book...EVER!!

    I have this book on my iPad, but still had to buy the paperback so that I could actually have the book and pass it around!!

    Such a wonderful story! Funny, sweet, tender...sarcastic...

    The first time I read it, I wasn't quite sure what was happening, but by the end...it was just the best thing I'd read!!

    Buy it and read it!! You won't be sorry!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    Nothing that I'm about to say is even going to scratch the surfa

    Nothing that I'm about to say is even going to scratch the surface of helping you all understand how amazing this book truly is. Millay has done an incredible job at character development, relationship building, and plot pacing. This was such a beautifully written book and I loved that she divided the book between the two main characters' POV's.


    We begin by meeting Nastya, who has moved in with her aunt and is starting at a new school. Just from reading the first line of the first chapter you know it's going to be an emotional ride.


    "Dying really isn't so bad after you've done it once. And I have. I'm not afraid of death anymore. I'm afraid of everything else."


    We discover immediately how observant Nastya is. She focuses on every detail around her and does not like loud, busy atomspheres. She tries to make herself invisible at school by avoiding others, yet the way she dresses contradicts that sentiment- almost as if she's crying out for attention with her black heels, low cut dresses, and layers of make up. You realize almost immediately it's all a facade, and that she is trying to hide from her true self.


    "I don't dress this way because I like it so much or because I want people to stare at me in general. But people are going to stare at me for the wrong reasons anyway, and if they are going to stare at me for the wrong reasons, then at least I should get to pick them."


    Nastya has been to the point of true helplessness, which is why I believe she craves control. As you can see in the example above, she wants to be the one in control of how people view her. As the book progresses, we slowly see Nastya start to relinquish some of that control and start trusting and placing her faith in others. Watching her develop and change is probably one of my favorite things about this book. We begin with a bitter, jaded, indifferent girl and we watch her transform into someone who doesn't want to be alone anymore. However, what Nastya fails to realize is there is no moving on without acceptance and healing of what has happened to her. She starts to open up more and more of herself to Josh, our other protagonist. Even after opening herself up to him, because she has never dealt with the repercussions of her past, everything comes crashing down around her and she reverts back to a shell of a girl. It is up to her and her alone to want to accept her past and decide to move forward.


    Watching Josh and Nastya interact, become friends, and then later more was done so perfectly. Millay does not rush any aspect of this, which I think is critical to the story. You couldn't rush these two into anything if you tried. It wouldn't have been natural.


    Josh, as I said, is our other main character. He has experienced loss after loss to the point where he is completely numb and indifferent. He holds people at an arm's length and as Nastya points out, he has built a sort of 'force field' around himself at school.


    Josh and Nastya's stories don't just mesh together. It takes quite some time before the two will even be cordial to each other. Once Josh accepts the fact that Nastya is worming her way into his life, he allows himself to befriend her and the two unconciously give each other what the other so desperately craves. Neither truly wants to be alone, and both want someone to trust and rely on, despite what they think.


    This book is heartwrenching. You know that something terrible has happened to Nastya in the past, but she won't reveal what. Something so terrible, that once she remembered it, she stopped talking altogether. As their friendship turns into something more, Josh does not once push her to discuss what happened, though I think he really does wish she would confide him.


    Millay does an amazing job of making you feel every one of Nastya and Josh's feelings. She does not hold back on showing you just how broken these two really are. Nastya has so many layers and once Josh thinks he is starting to understand her, she throws him for a loop. My heart broke for him so many times because he has done everything in his power to keep people out and yet he can't with her. When she causes him pain, you feel it ten-fold because of how hard he's worked to not let himself feel.


    Overall, I loved this book, its characters, and the fragile thread Millay has woven to connect the two, and this book is definitely worth reading for yourself to see how even in the darkest dark, light can always find a crack to shine through.


    *Thank you to Atria Books for providing me a copy of this book for review. I received an electronic copy of this book in return for an honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Good

    Not as good as Hopeless by colleen hoover but still a worthwhile read. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9