Customer Reviews for

The Sea of Tranquility

Average Rating 5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Amatuer

    I'm having a hard time understanding why this book is getting such great reviews. The writing style is mucky and hard to get through and nothing happens. The characters are all have the same voice. Couldn't finish it, don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Captivating

    I do not typically read YA romance type novels, but I read such wonderful things about this book that I figured I would give it a whirl. At first, I was a little annoyed by the "something horrible has happened to this girl but you don't know what it is", but I quickly became interested in the characters and their story. Overall, I enjoyed the book. It is a book that I would recommend to some peopole, but I certainly would not recommend it to everyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Read it, just read it.

    I read a review of the book where it said this book is more than what you can possibly think it is, and they were right. Now, im not going to lie and say that it didnt have a slow start but i attribute that to developing those amazing characters. So stick with it, you wont regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Outstanding

    I cannot even describe how wonderful this book was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Beautiful

    No words to correctly describe this. So perfect.
    Read please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Amazing!

    Loved it! I read this book without taking a single break.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "It was like feeling without knowing. Like a fever dream. L

    "It was like feeling without knowing. Like a fever dream. Like the dream of second chances."

    It's so hard to put into words how I feel about this book. Every word, every space, every punctuation mark was so perfectly and intricately placed to form the most beautiful story. My hat is goes off to Katja Millay for crafting such a heartbreaking, heartwarming, and ugly-cry inducing story. Thank you for this gift.

    Something terrible happened to Nastya Kashnikov. She died, well figuratively. She lost her identity. In her post-death life, Nastya is a slave to structure, control, and illusion. After the "event," Nastya moves out of her parent's house and in with her aunt in a new town where no one will know her secret, and she's not telling. Her life consists of merely existing. She goes on nightly runs, bakes ridiculous amounts of sweets, and writes her 3 1/2 pages before going to bed.
    "I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to life my feet to walk."

    Josh Bennett's life has been defined by tragic losses. His mother and sister died in a car accident, his father died of a massive heart attack, and his grandparents lost their battles with cancer. He shuts everyone out of his life, except for his best friend Drew...and Nastya. Nastya embeds herself into Josh's life. He doesn't want her there, but she keeps coming back like a boomerang.
    "You have no reason to trust me."
    "No, but I trust you anyway," she says, walking out toward the driveway.
    "And I'm supposed to trust you?" I say to her back. This girl is really crazy if she thinks she's walking in here, out of nowhere, and expecting me to do that.
    She stops, turning to level her eyes at me before she goes.
    "You don't have to trust me. I don't have any of your secrets."

    One of my favorite things about TSoT (or tee-sought, as I call it) is Nastya's inner dialogue. Even though she went through something so traumatic, she is so strong, intelligent, and witty.
    "There's nothing sunny or shiny about me, but after last night, he's earned the right to mock me this morning. So yes, I think, at least for a little while, Josh Bennett can call me whatever the hell he likes."

    "Plus, once he did the requisite double-take and recognized me, he'd probably beat the crap out of any guy who looked at me in all my Snow White meets Frederick's of Hollywood glory."

    This is a story about second chances and two people learning to love themselves and one another. Their romance is not insta-love or conventional-just Josh and Nastya. It was slow-building, raw, and emotional, and it left me absolutely speechless. I felt every emotion as if I was in the book...SO MANY FEELINGS!
    "I let him watch me. He lets me watch him. We never call each other on it. It's a gift we give one another. No strings, no expectations, no reading between the lines."

    The Sea of Tranquility is my number one book of 2012. Considering this is her debut novel, Katja is a force to be reckoned with. I will read anything Millay writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Best¿book...EVER!!

    I have this book on my iPad, but still had to buy the paperback so that I could actually have the book and pass it around!!

    Such a wonderful story! Funny, sweet, tender...sarcastic...

    The first time I read it, I wasn't quite sure what was happening, but by the end...it was just the best thing I'd read!!

    Buy it and read it!! You won't be sorry!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    Nothing that I'm about to say is even going to scratch the surfa

    Nothing that I'm about to say is even going to scratch the surface of helping you all understand how amazing this book truly is. Millay has done an incredible job at character development, relationship building, and plot pacing. This was such a beautifully written book and I loved that she divided the book between the two main characters' POV's.


    We begin by meeting Nastya, who has moved in with her aunt and is starting at a new school. Just from reading the first line of the first chapter you know it's going to be an emotional ride.


    "Dying really isn't so bad after you've done it once. And I have. I'm not afraid of death anymore. I'm afraid of everything else."


    We discover immediately how observant Nastya is. She focuses on every detail around her and does not like loud, busy atomspheres. She tries to make herself invisible at school by avoiding others, yet the way she dresses contradicts that sentiment- almost as if she's crying out for attention with her black heels, low cut dresses, and layers of make up. You realize almost immediately it's all a facade, and that she is trying to hide from her true self.


    "I don't dress this way because I like it so much or because I want people to stare at me in general. But people are going to stare at me for the wrong reasons anyway, and if they are going to stare at me for the wrong reasons, then at least I should get to pick them."


    Nastya has been to the point of true helplessness, which is why I believe she craves control. As you can see in the example above, she wants to be the one in control of how people view her. As the book progresses, we slowly see Nastya start to relinquish some of that control and start trusting and placing her faith in others. Watching her develop and change is probably one of my favorite things about this book. We begin with a bitter, jaded, indifferent girl and we watch her transform into someone who doesn't want to be alone anymore. However, what Nastya fails to realize is there is no moving on without acceptance and healing of what has happened to her. She starts to open up more and more of herself to Josh, our other protagonist. Even after opening herself up to him, because she has never dealt with the repercussions of her past, everything comes crashing down around her and she reverts back to a shell of a girl. It is up to her and her alone to want to accept her past and decide to move forward.


    Watching Josh and Nastya interact, become friends, and then later more was done so perfectly. Millay does not rush any aspect of this, which I think is critical to the story. You couldn't rush these two into anything if you tried. It wouldn't have been natural.


    Josh, as I said, is our other main character. He has experienced loss after loss to the point where he is completely numb and indifferent. He holds people at an arm's length and as Nastya points out, he has built a sort of 'force field' around himself at school.


    Josh and Nastya's stories don't just mesh together. It takes quite some time before the two will even be cordial to each other. Once Josh accepts the fact that Nastya is worming her way into his life, he allows himself to befriend her and the two unconciously give each other what the other so desperately craves. Neither truly wants to be alone, and both want someone to trust and rely on, despite what they think.


    This book is heartwrenching. You know that something terrible has happened to Nastya in the past, but she won't reveal what. Something so terrible, that once she remembered it, she stopped talking altogether. As their friendship turns into something more, Josh does not once push her to discuss what happened, though I think he really does wish she would confide him.


    Millay does an amazing job of making you feel every one of Nastya and Josh's feelings. She does not hold back on showing you just how broken these two really are. Nastya has so many layers and once Josh thinks he is starting to understand her, she throws him for a loop. My heart broke for him so many times because he has done everything in his power to keep people out and yet he can't with her. When she causes him pain, you feel it ten-fold because of how hard he's worked to not let himself feel.


    Overall, I loved this book, its characters, and the fragile thread Millay has woven to connect the two, and this book is definitely worth reading for yourself to see how even in the darkest dark, light can always find a crack to shine through.


    *Thank you to Atria Books for providing me a copy of this book for review. I received an electronic copy of this book in return for an honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Good

    Not as good as Hopeless by colleen hoover but still a worthwhile read. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Amazing

    Let me start by saying that it took me a while to decide to read this book. It had excellent reviews, and I had a friend telling me that it was a must-read. Still, it sat on my NOOK for a bit before I finally decided to open it. Once I did, there was no turning back. I loved this book. I loved everything about it. Both Nastya and Josh are beautifully broken, but somehow see the places in each other that allow them to just be themselves and, over time, start to heal. The supporting characters are wonderful, too. Drew might just be one of my favorite characters ever, and Clay, well, Clay was great, too. I highly recommend this book, and know that I will be reading it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ARC received from Netgalley. This review is not biased in any wa

    ARC received from Netgalley. This review is not biased in any way. There was no money, gifts, discounts, or favors exchanged for this review.

    The Sea of Tranquility gave me hope for New Adult books. Most of their plots are: Girl has terrible super-secret secret. Boy has terrible past. Boy is a misogynistic person. Boy meets girl. Magic insta-love, but they don't know it yet. Boy is still misogynistic, but gets super possessive. Random, confusing stuff happens. Boy gets more possessive and even more misogynistic.The end.

    Instead of the extremely annoying overused plot line, we get a girl named Nastya. Yes, she has a secret past, but in this book, it's actually written well. It's not the cliche' d past, either. It's something completely brilliant and wonderful.

    Basically, she's this girl who won't talk. To anyone. Because of reasons I won't explain because you need to read this book. She's been completely scarred because of said reasons I shan't explain. To cope, she decides to wear all black. Except for the possibly illegal amount of skin she's showing.

    However, her inner narration is completely brilliant. Screwed up, but brilliant. Nastya's sarcastic and mocking, just the way I like my protagonists.

    Josh Bennett's life is also completely screwed up. Cliche'd, but still amazingly written. Everyone around him dies- so many people, in fact, that no one comes near him. And he likes it that way.

    Until the inevitable meeting of Nastya.

    Alright, I didn't completely love him. And, for some strange reason, that makes me love the book even more.

    And this is a book where all the characters are developed, not just the main two.

    Guess what? There's no insta-love. Which automatically gives this two extra stars, not that it needs any. Their relationship starts out as a sort of friendship, but then ends up as something more. I'd call it something else, but I can't think straight right now because of this book.

    I can go on so much longer, but you get the gist of it. So, run off and go read it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    This book is amazing! I was intrigued at the very beginning! I r

    This book is amazing! I was intrigued at the very beginning! I recommend this book to everyone! I thought about this book days after I finished it.. I will read it again. I laughed, cried and cried again. Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    LOVED IT

    This is the first book I have read for pleasure after spending the last two years in school, it was COMPLETELY worth the wait!!

    I loved the turmoil, tragedy and of course the love story!!

    GREAT READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Worth your time

    I rarely give five star ratings but this was an easy decision. I wish there were more stars to give. Love these characters. I miss them already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Amazing

    Wow. I'm speechless. This book had a little of everything. Humor, tragety, heartbreak, suspence. I felt the emotions of the charecters; not a lot of authors can do that. I'm honestly speechless-- no pun intended. Its so original, and you can tell there was a lot of thought put into this book. I HIGHLY recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Sea of T

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
    Publisher: Atria 
    Publication Date: June 4, 2013
    Rating: 2 stars
    Source: eARC from NetGalley




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.




    Full of rage and without a purpose, former pianist Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone discovering her past and to make the boy who took everything from her pay.




    All 17 year-old Josh Bennett wants is to build furniture and be left alone, and everyone allows it because it’s easier to pretend he doesn’t exist. When your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.




    Everyone except Nastya, a hot mess of a girl who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. The more he gets to know her, the more of a mystery she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he may ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding or if he even wants to.




    The Sea of Tranquility is a slow-building, character-driven romance about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.




    What I Liked:




    When all the hype over another indie-to-traditional publishing novel somewhat died down, I decided to pick this one up and read it. It's wayyyy past the time I needed to read it to submit a review to NetGalley, and wayyyy past the hype of the book, but I am glad that I waited so long to read this book. A lot of times, hype has the opposite effect on me - making me NOT want to read the book (like Defiance, for example). The only difference is, I loved Defiance. I didn't love this book.




    The synopsis of this story and all those glowing reviews led me to believe that this book is a must-read, do-not-miss novel, especially since it did well enough that Atria noticed, and bought the rights. For some reason, I was expecting some dynamic, life-changing romance, and an intense plot dealing with Nastya's past.




    The plot was not intense, but I can see why everyone said that this book was intense and mesmerizing and whatnot. A lot of the book is Nastya going on tangents about her past, before the accident. We get small hints about what happened that night, but we don't get the full story until close to the end (past the middle of the book). But a lot of the book is Nastya thinking about what used to be.




    This book is split into Josh's perspective and Nastya's perspective. So, every other chapter or so, we see the perspective switch. I really liked this aspect of the book. Of course, it solidifies the idea that Josh and Nastya are the love interests and couple of the story, which is a downer because I like to discover the relationship as it goes. Knowing right from the start that they are the ones that will fall in love and whatnot is a tad bit disappointing.




    I vastly preferred Josh's point-of-view over Nastya's point-of-view. Josh is not the golden boy of the school, though he seems to be sometimes. He is quiet and intelligent and he works hard. His train of thought is much easier and more enjoyable to follow than Nastya's train of thought.




    The story behind this book, Nastya's story, is heart-breaking. I can't say I really enjoyed the story or this book, but what happened to Nastya is awful and extremely sad. Ms. Millay has written a very powerful novel, and I may not love this book, but I see the message behind this book.




    What I Did Not Like:




    This might come off as a rant of disrespectful - and I'm hoping you readers don't think that. I mean no disrespect towards the author or the publisher or any other readers of this book.




    I really did not enjoy this book as much as I hoped. I'm giving it two stars (as opposed to one star) because the story is heart-breaking yet powerful, and I like the overall message of the story. I like the outline or skeleton of the book, but with the "meat" of the story, I had problems.




    This book is long. Length never bothers me with books - I love long books. BUT. This book was long, and definitely boring. I got so tired of just reading this book, which almost never happens! Most of this book is Nastya's musings about things before the accident, or Josh brooding over Nastya. But seriously, about 40% of this book - the first 40% of the book - was boring and totally unnecessary.




    Ms. Millay uses the first 40% of the book to introduce us to Josh and Nastya and the situation of Nastya. But I feel like 40% of an already long book is overkill. Not even half of the text in the first half of the book is necessary for readers to get a feel for Nastya's world. I was so bored out of my mind, I almost DNF'd this book. I couldn't see the appeal, but I kept reading, hoping to find it.




    Honestly, I never did. I still don't see why everyone went OMG over this book. Besides the fact that overall, the book was boring, and the first half of the book is really slow and REALLY boring, there is the fact that I absolutely hated Nastya.




    Okay, don't get me wrong. I understand the psychology of trauma and unforeseen traumatic events and whatnot. But there were so many things that Nastya did that made me think, is she really suffering, or is she using her tragic situation as an excuse? To me, it felt like a bunch of excuses (i.e., bulls***). So, Nastya dresses like a complete whore because she wants people to think she's a whore? Her reasoning is that she knows people will talk about her, so why not give them an excuse?




    WHAT?! Really?! Is that what you think?! Talk about flawed logic. You're going to wear skin-tight, low-cut shirts and tiny, itty bitty skirts, and HIGH-HEELS to school and disgusting "black s***", because you want people to talk about you as you are a whore, and not for some other reason? REALLY?! I'm a teen (not a messed-up teen, but a teen), and there is NO WAY I would ruin my public image like that. That's disgusting.




    And how about what happened with Josh, when you-know-what finally happened? She leaves because she just wanted him to ruin her completely?! What does that even mean?! He didn't ruin you if it was consensual, and you're f***ing stupid if you use someone you DO care about just for sex, so you can FEEL like a whore. Or whatever her ridiculous logic was. I'm already convinced that Nastya left her brain somewhere.




    Again, I understand the psychological damage that comes from traumatic situations. But I don't think Nastya acted out of her pain and suffering. She's full of s*** and makes excuses because she doesn't want to face the inevitable truth that terrible things in life happen, even to the best of us.




    I'm sorry, but I just don't like Nastya. She and I would not get along if she were a real person, because I would be calling her out on her s*** every five seconds. All of my friends know that I am honest and forthright and I don't spare feelings when it comes to bulls***. Nastya needs a darn good therapist that will kick her in the pants every time she feels sorry for herself.




    So, this entire boring book was spent on babying Nastya and trying to help her heal from the incident that we finally understand by the end of the book. I love the message of the story, and the author's use of a traumatic situation in this novel, but seriously?! This whole, LONG, boring book is spent trying to make Nastya feel better.




    I thought I knew what to expect with this one, but I did NOT get what I expected. I expected some earth-shattering romance... nope. The romance was ki

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    A Must Read

    Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Amazing

    Amazing read! Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Very touching story, never wanted it to end! I read it way too f

    Very touching story, never wanted it to end! I read it way too fast because I just couldn't put it down. Will def be re-reading this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10