Customer Reviews for

The Search (Secrets of Crittenden County Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The murderer still is at large in the Amish community of Critten

    The murderer still is at large in the Amish community of Crittenden County and Detective Luke Reynolds is still questioning the residents fearing that he is getting no where closer to the truth. After discovering the body of Perry Borntrager at the bottom of the well on the Miller's Farm, it seems like quite a few of the townspeople have secrets that they hope will never be discovered.

    Frannie Eicher was the last person to see Perry alive, and not being the type to want to share more details than necessary about the dead, she avoids providing some information to Luke. She believes that these details are necessary for helping him solve the case, but it seems the more times Luke discovers new information, it points back to Frannie and causes him to not trust what she has been telling him. He knows she is holding something back but can't figure out why.

    In the second book in the series, The Secrets of Crittenden County, The Search by Shelley Shepard Gray picks up right where the first book, The Missing left off. It seems like there is a connection between Perry's murder, his unusual and unpredictable behavior, and the secrets certain people are keeping about what they know about Perry. Someone within this small Amish community is hiding a very deep secret and it's up to Detective Luke Reynolds to find out where this search will lead him.

    I love this series of books because Shelley is taking her time with her readers in this murder case involving an Amish resident, a young man, who seems to have gotten mixed up with the wrong crowd, but is that the men who are selling drugs, the Englischers, or someone in town that wanted Perry gone in whatever manner it took? I can't wait to find out who it is, and I've got my own suspicions using details from both books who it might be. For those of you looking for a bit more than is usually found in your Amish novels, you might want to pick up this series. You'll get a great cast of characters that are carefully created and you will always meet someone new along the way. I loved, Frannie's father and Beth, her friend in this novel. Their inspiration to helping Frannie find the answers she needs, are worth reading about.

    I received this novel compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I would have to say this one rates right up there with the first one, a 5 out of 5 stars. Now if I can only wait until September this year, for The Found to be released, I might have my answers in who I believe killed Perry. Maybe I have what it takes to make a great detective, but I know I have found a true love in reading Shelley Shepard Gray's novels. They have a forever home on my bookshelf.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    This second book in this series takes off where the first one le

    This second book in this series takes off where the first one left off. I enjoyed the characters and progress even though it moves slowly. There were some interesting things that advance in the investigation here. It concludes in a somewhat happy place though with a bit of a cliffhanger. I guess I must read the next one to see what really happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Not A Fan

    Bought the first book not realizing it was a trilogy. you had to continue with it to complete the story (which was soooo far fetched). Ended up spending about $27 for all 3 - never again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    The Mystery Continues! The Secrets of Crittenden County Book Tw

    The Mystery Continues!

    The Secrets of Crittenden County Book Two, The Search, is loaded with
    suspense.   The mystery surrounding Perry Borntrager's death continues.  
    Who is responsible?  

    Shelley Shepard Gray does a great job of keeping us guessing.  She not only
    keeps us guessing who killed Perry but she throws in the chance of some love
    relationships.  The question is, can these relationships work out?  How well does
    the Amish world and the English world mix?

    I loved this book and had to find out who would commit this horrible crime.  
    I even loved how the book ended!  Can't wait to read Book Three, Found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    The Search Shelley Shepard Gray Back Cover: In the midst of a

    The Search

    Shelley Shepard Gray

    Back Cover: In the midst of a murder investigation in the heart of Amish country, one young policeman finds his heart led astray. The serenity of the quiet Amish community of Marion, Kentucky, is disrupted when the body of Perry Borntrager is discovered in an abandoned well. Now the small town faces the first death by mysterious circumstances in more than twenty years, and Detective Luke Reynolds is brought in to help investigate. But before he can solve the crime, he faces unexpected feelings for Frannie, the Amish owner of the local bed-and-breakfast. Though they butt heads at first, Luke finds himself drawn to Frannie's bedside when she's injured in a kitchen accident. Soon it becomes clear that Frannie knew Perry better than she let on . . . they'd been secretly courting when he disappeared. Has Luke fallen for the very woman responsible for the crime?


    Review: I was looking forward to part two. I racked my brain throughout to figure out who it could possibly be. I think I know and am waiting for the reveal in book 3. I am enjoying the series and the suspense but sometimes think it is too long. I do like all the characters and am finding it hard to choose anyone as the murder. I like how the `mixed’ relationships are not made to be super simple because for each couple has real challenges to face when people have to adjust their religious practices. Even from Baptist to Presbyterian is a challenge for most couples. I liked the ending for the most part. I am hopeful for Beth. I would really like to see wonderful things happen to her. More than anything else I am looking forward to find a resolution to the death of Perry.
    I would like to thank Above the Trees and Avon Books for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Luna

    I have been on since the day before Thanksgiving. The first person l taled to was Bree

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Marc

    PLEASE! IF YOUR NOT HER...im don for. I cant leave with her

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    I would recommend this book.

    I read the first book of this series and other books by this author such as Springs Renewal & Autumns Promise and they have all been good. I will continue to watch for new books by her and will read those as well. I have shared all of the books I have read written by this author with my mother in law and she enjoys them just as much. They have all been good and quick reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent series!

    The entire series of three books is worth reading - Missing, Search, and Found. I could not wait for Found to finally come out so I could read the conclusion to the story. I really enjoyed the relationships that developed throughout the series as well as the mystery element. Definitely worth buying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Great christian suspense, relationship and christian living book

    Great christian suspense, relationship and christian living book. I really liked the story progression and development. It kept me reading even in face of sleepless nights. Great writing style. Cant's wait to read the last book in series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    another good Amish read

    If you love reading about the Amish, you should add this to your reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Very good!!! Not nearly bad.

    It's just right to read. You shoud read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book! It was as good as the first book in

    I really enjoyed this book! It was as good as the first book in the
    series, Missing (Secrets of Crittenden County, Series #1). Characters
    are well described, you can't help but care about them. My only
    complaint is that I will have to wait until September 4th for the final
    book in the Series - Found. The author has done a fine job in
    continuing the suspense and romance and I will be eagerly looking for
    more books by Shelley Shepard Gray. I definitely recommend this book
    for all Amish fiction lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    The Search by Shelley Shepard Gray is the second book in The Sec

    The Search by Shelley Shepard Gray is the second book in The Secrets of Crittenden County series. The discovery of Perry Borntrager's body has stirred up this close-knit Amish community. Detective Luke Reynolds is still trying to sort through the evidence and learn the identity of the killer, but his feelings for Perry's former flame Frannie Eicher has put a crimp in his investigation. When she is injured in a kitchen accident, Luke finds himself spending more time at her hospital bedside than working on the case, and ignoring the possibility that Frannie may be hiding something from him about it. Frannie's accident forces Beth Byler to take over Frannie's bed and Breakfast, which is far out of her comfort zone. She's more comfortable taking care of babies and young children than baking and being a good hostess, but mysterious guest Chris Ellis not only helps out but awakens something inside Beth. Others in the community are struggling with the repercussions of Perry's drug dealing and death as well, especially his sister Deborah who knows far more than she's telling anyone. Gray has a real talent for creating fascinating stories with Amish characters, exposing them as real people with hopes, dreams, and secrets. Frannie is the center of this novel, and she's a terrific heroine: strong, smart, and wanting desperately to be loved. I think that Beth and Chris' relationship was a bit rushed; they both confess to extraordinarily deep feelings that seem unrealistic based on the three encounters in the story. That's the only flaw in this story filled with suspense, major twists and turns, romance, and friendship. Gray makes it very easy to fall in love with the Amish communities she describes, and I'm ready to book my stay at the Yellow Bird Inn in Crittenden County!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1