Customer Reviews for

The Search Committee

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

In searching for one thing, they find another...

Description:

When a Protestant church finds itself without a pastor, the church forms a search committee to represent the wants and needs of its congregation. In this case, when a Presbyterian preacher is called to Atlanta, the church's search committee, compris...
Description:

When a Protestant church finds itself without a pastor, the church forms a search committee to represent the wants and needs of its congregation. In this case, when a Presbyterian preacher is called to Atlanta, the church's search committee, comprised of Travis, Dot, Susie, Bill, Joyce, Frankie, and Matt, pile into a white '78 model Ford Econoline and start searching for candidates. Just because they have been elected to agree on a new pastor, doesn't mean that they agree on anything else, so tension begins to rise. Can seven people sent on a religious mission put aside their backgrounds and secrets long enough to do what's best for the church? Or will their inner conflicts be revealed and make for a "bumpy ride"?

Review:

The Search Committee by Tim Owens is less about the actual search, and more about the committee members themselves. Seven wildly different personalities stuck in a van in search of a preacher - sounds like a great idea, right?... I loved the premise of this book right away, I have never thought about how a church gets a new pastor, especially in today's "electronic" society - (I wonder if you can Google a pastor too?). Anyway, the story-line is easy to follow and exceptionally well-written. I started to enjoy the complexity of the characters and their interactions immediately. I appreciated the balance of seriousness and humor, as well as the level of emotion - I was never bored. The only drawback was the choppiness of some of the viewpoint changes, but it didn't take anything away from the overall readability. Being a church-goer myself, I couldn't help but laughing since some of the characters reminded me of friends and neighbors in my own congregation. I have been on "road trips" before, so I know what it's like to be stuck in a van with people you don't necessarily agree with; although, those events do stand out in my mind because of the unexpected moments we all shared. I will definitely be recommending this book to my congregation! Great for book clubs; I found the Discussion Questions thought provoking as well!

Rating: Bounty's Out (3.5/5)

* I received this book from the author (Tyndale Blog Network) in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

posted by The_Paperback_Pursuer on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting characters

Getting to know the characters was interesting. There are a lot of them and they go back to their memories frequently which makes it a bit confusing. I skipped the chapter introductions annd went straight to the story. It's an ok read.

posted by 7990616 on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In searching for one thing, they find another...

    Description:

    When a Protestant church finds itself without a pastor, the church forms a search committee to represent the wants and needs of its congregation. In this case, when a Presbyterian preacher is called to Atlanta, the church's search committee, comprised of Travis, Dot, Susie, Bill, Joyce, Frankie, and Matt, pile into a white '78 model Ford Econoline and start searching for candidates. Just because they have been elected to agree on a new pastor, doesn't mean that they agree on anything else, so tension begins to rise. Can seven people sent on a religious mission put aside their backgrounds and secrets long enough to do what's best for the church? Or will their inner conflicts be revealed and make for a "bumpy ride"?

    Review:

    The Search Committee by Tim Owens is less about the actual search, and more about the committee members themselves. Seven wildly different personalities stuck in a van in search of a preacher - sounds like a great idea, right?... I loved the premise of this book right away, I have never thought about how a church gets a new pastor, especially in today's "electronic" society - (I wonder if you can Google a pastor too?). Anyway, the story-line is easy to follow and exceptionally well-written. I started to enjoy the complexity of the characters and their interactions immediately. I appreciated the balance of seriousness and humor, as well as the level of emotion - I was never bored. The only drawback was the choppiness of some of the viewpoint changes, but it didn't take anything away from the overall readability. Being a church-goer myself, I couldn't help but laughing since some of the characters reminded me of friends and neighbors in my own congregation. I have been on "road trips" before, so I know what it's like to be stuck in a van with people you don't necessarily agree with; although, those events do stand out in my mind because of the unexpected moments we all shared. I will definitely be recommending this book to my congregation! Great for book clubs; I found the Discussion Questions thought provoking as well!

    Rating: Bounty's Out (3.5/5)

    * I received this book from the author (Tyndale Blog Network) in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    This 258 page book is so funny. I am busting out laughing. I loved the notebook Travis kept of the messages on the church signs. Hope he writes more books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Occasionally, very occasionally, I buy books for myself.  Usuall

    Occasionally, very occasionally, I buy books for myself.  Usually they are classics.  Or, like with The Search Committee, I know the author.  In this case, he is part of my writers' group.  I have read short pieces of his before and know him to have an intriguing voice in his writing and a strong sense of humor and some quirky characters.  All of that is present in The Search Committee.  I was, however, surprised by how Southern this novel is. 
    The real main character in this book is the setting.  I had just finished reading Barbara O'Connor's How to Steal a Dog before I started The Search Committee.  It was amazing how well the writing dovetailed -- it wasn't the same -- Ms O'Connor writes for children, but there is a quality to the writing that is shared by both authors.  In case you are wondering, I love Barbara O'Connor's writing, so I loved the writing in The Search Committee as well. 
    The Search Committee ostensibly is about the four women and three men who make up a committee searching for a new pastor for their church.  Every main character is given a view point and flashbacks to his or her past.  I don't really have a problem with that.  I do, however, think this book could have been improved by tighter editing.  That, to me, is more a reflection on the publishing house than on the author.
    I do know that Mr. Owens is working on another book.  I do know that I'll be buying it when it is released. And I do know that I expect to enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Funny and Entertaining

    Such fun getting to know each character. Made me laugh at how they looked at each preacher they went to see. Come on you know you have had thoughts like they did,lol. I also skipped most of the chapter intros. They didnt really go with the story in my opinion. Even if you not of this faith (which im not) its still a good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Interesting characters

    Getting to know the characters was interesting. There are a lot of them and they go back to their memories frequently which makes it a bit confusing. I skipped the chapter introductions annd went straight to the story. It's an ok read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Book Groups Notice

    This book not only entertains it also causes you to think about your own situation. Great subject. Great book for discussion groups.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Enjoyable read

    I like the story. I felt liked I met the characters and were part of their lives. I would recommend this simple, but worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    I really enjoyed this boook!

    Having a had a dad who was a minister, I grew up in the church and know what it's like when a church is without a minister and what is involved when searching for a minister. I liked how the author tied in the stories of all of the committee members. It was both moving a humorous. A fast read but well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Good read

    Funny and sad if you have ever been on a search committe you will be able to identify

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Very good.

    An excellent book. Alittle slow in the beginning but it picks up and gets quite good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Book was funny and entertaining. An easy read - the only tough

    Book was funny and entertaining. An easy read - the only tought thing I found was that I personally felt there were too many characters and they jumped around in memory a bit too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    The Search Committee is a good book that kept me entertained. It

    The Search Committee is a good book that kept me entertained. It was humorous and serious; the author did a good job blending it all together. I would recommend this book to a friend in a heartbeat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    This is a FUN read.

    The Search Committee is a fun book. Tim Owens wrote a good book about road trips with purpose. I say grab a glass of sweet tea and read this book. This made me laugh out loud. The book starts out with “The church van already had 187, 00 miles on it. It was a white Ford Econoline and Travis figures it was either a 77 or 78 model” and road trip here we come. Let me introduce you to this band of characters. We meet Travis Booth his mission is to drive and find a new pastor well he and 6 others, all in this white Ford van. He is young and married and is a business professional. We meet Dot Spivey she is sort of a hot mess. She is the busy body of the church she is middle age and has a lot of opinions that she loves to share. Then there is Matt Fischer he is in his early thirties and is out of work and now living with his dad. Bill Duncan is retired from the co-op , Joyce Lambertson she is a widow in her sixties who moved south from New York, Frankie Fulford is a retired mail man and in his seventies last but not least is Susie Mayfield is divorce attractive and in her thirties. Now here comes the fun these 7 people are going to set out on trips across the south to find a pastor for their Presbyterian Church. The journey with this group is so much fun. They each are coming into this in different phases of their lives and each have opinions that let’s just say, May or may not clash. Really get this book and take the trip with them you will be glad you did. You will laugh and learn. I give this book my best rating of five stars because it made me laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Interesting concept, flat execution

    A church in the south is looking for a new pastor and a group of individuals who are to represent the church's wishes are sent on a number of church "field trips" to find one. They are all struggling in different areas, some on several serious topics, and we see glimpses of them not only together but in their individual lives, trying to figure things out.

    As a pastor's daughter, sister, and wife (yep -surrounded), the concept of a Search Committee is not new to me. I can't say I've ever read a book about one though...so in theory, this book's premise was super appealing to me.

    In reality, in complete honesty I had a hard time finishing it. I thought the writing was fine, especially for a first time author, and initially I had a hard time putting my finger on what specifically I didn't love, but the bottom line? It just didn't come together for me. I think the primary reason is that I found many of the main characters unlikeable. I get that they were supposed to be "flawed" (and that is a large part of the point), but I just didn't find it to be enough.

    I did enjoy the differing viewpoints and the layering approach the author seemed to take in revealing more and more about the main characters as the story goes on. And the ending seems fitting! Ultimately, I will be happy to read more by Tim Owens but this one, for me, wasn't my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    THE SEARCH COMMITTEE is a great summertime read because they are

    THE SEARCH COMMITTEE is a great summertime read because they are on the road in an ancient ford econoline van in chaotic roadtrip form. Our church has just gone through a year long search so the setting is familiar. How do a bunch of semi-normal people go about stealing somebody's pastor? Fun, but not fluffy. Solid but not stodgy.
    My favorite character is the elderly black lady who says she talks to Jesus about her favorite baseball team, the Braves. "Sometmes we goof around like that. He is my best friend." Goofing around with Jesus after an hour and a half of prayer for her community is a level of holiness I want to aim for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review from a Man's Perspective

    Having grown up in church all my life, I've seen the formation and conclusion of many search committees. I haven't, though, ever seen the intricate inner working of what makes up this group of individuals. In "The Search Committee" by Tim Owens, we are introduced to 7 members of the church that have been tasked to travel to various churches to listen to and observe prospective ministers. When I saw this book, I thought it would be a interesting read, one that would be fun to see what happens when this group heads out to find a new pastor. I won't say that I was disappointed, but I will say that this wasn't what I thought it would be. The characters seem to be made up of some of the shallowest members of the congregation from this church. The story seemed to drag on up until its predictable ending. There really wasn't any character that made me cheer, cry, laugh or cringe. So is this a "man's book"? This book doesn't really contain any of the main characteristics that I would look for to call a book a "man's book". I would say that some people may enjoy this book, but this isn't one for "this man".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good "thinking" book

    I liked this book because it is set in North Carolina, close to where I live, though the town is fictitious. The book is about a group of people searching for a pastor for their church, so it was fun to read about the different places they went to while looking for their new pastor. The book also delves into the lives of the committee members, but that wasn't in depth enough to be really satisfying. I wanted to know more about these characters. The characters were well written and developed, but I wanted more. I would read other books by this author though, and definitely recommend it for a book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Recommend

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters seemed like everyday people. I related to a couple of the characters. I would recommend this book to family and friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Great read, very true to life.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who has been in a church environment. I found the author to be in touch with the truth of haw people in a local church think and behave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, Witty, and Graceful

    If any of you have ever attended a church long enough, you will discover there are times when a Pastor must move on to bigger or better things. For whatever reason God calls them to move on and with moving on it leaves a congregation searching. In The Search Committee Tim Owens pairs up seven of the most diverse group of characters to search for a new pastor for their Presbyterian church. This diverse group of characters represent the people groups of the church.

    We are introduced to Travis who represents the young married professionals of the church. We also see Bill who is a retiree. and Frankie who is about 70 yrs. old...and the leader of the pact. We find Matt, who is in his early 30's, unemployed, with a PhD living with his dad. We are also introduced to Dot, a middle-aged housewife and gossip. Then there is Joyce, a widowed 60 yr old misplaced from NY. Last but not least, we find a 30 something divorcee who is raising a teenaged son.

    At the beginning of each chapter Tim Owens scribes either a scripture from the Bible or an excerpt from the Book of Confessions or the Book of Order from the Presbyterian Church which leads his readers into what the chapter will focus on. I found this tidbit of info to be helpful simply because I have never attended a Presbyterian church and know nothing of this denomination or its beliefs. I was able to more fully understand the beliefs and ideologies of the church.

    What I loved most about the book as a whole is that Tim didn't try to create over-spiritual characters that we couldn't relate to. They each represented what we would, as mere humans, experience in our own lives. I could relate to many of the "issues" that this small group of people had, which makes it a good read in and of itself.

    "If you believe just a little, itty-bitty bit, you can say to the mountain, 'Move', and the mountain has to move." ~Mrs. Bryant (a small but powerful character)

    As this search committee heads out across three states in search of a new pastor for their church, they find themselves on some of the most hilarious adventures as they enter different restaurants and churches. As they drive along, the committee takes notice of the different church signs along the way...in which Travis writes them all down. As the search unfolds, so do the issues of their own lives. Will this group of rag-tag characters find the right pastor that will lead them into a more Christ-like life? Or will the itty-bitty bit of faith be the moving force of the mountains in their lives? Each member of the group is searching for something...will that searching truly be found through finding a pastor or will they bond as a group and find what they are truly longing for?

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has ever had to deal with lust, gossip, loss, divorce, love, or searching for God while feeling like their faith is too small. (Which I think would be everyone).

    I received this book free to review from Tyndale House. The review and opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2