Customer Reviews for

The Second Rule of Ten (Tenzing Norbu Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I must say, Tenzing Norbu is my favorite new book character sin

    I must say, Tenzing Norbu is my favorite new book character since Dean Koontz "Odd Thomas". I was thrilled to be able to read this second book of the series and will be waiting (not so patiently) for the next!
    What a joy to get a peek inside the mind of a very nontraditional sleuth. I won't spoil the story for you, but we again find Tenzing involved in a complex mystery that touches places inside him, with some surprising results. There is even a chance at possible romance.....a trip to India and Tibet...as well as the many twists and turns of the stateside mystery that reaches back to WWII. If you have a longing for something other than a predictable, formula mystery, this is the book for you! What else could you expect from a hero that is both a retired LAPD detective and a retired Tibetan Monk? I wish I could say I read it slowly, savoring every moment, but no, I devoured it like a starving pilgrim at the end of a long fast..quickly and with great excitement and enjoyment!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Great

    Loved it. Can't wait for the third rule.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Enjoyable Read!

    I read the First Rule of Ten, which I enjoyed very much. So of course I had to read the second of the series. I like this character and the modern story lines as he struggles to maintain his core values from his early days as a Buddhist monk to modern day LA investigator. Looking forward to the next read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    One of the best "series" I have read

    This is not your usual crime book series. This is the second book of the series about a Buddhist monk turned LA cop turned private investigator. Put all that experience in a hat and mix it up and you find the most wonderfully interesting character to hit the fiction bookshelves in a very long time. Tenzu (Ten) is invited to my dinner table any day of the week! I just cannot wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Recommend

    What a lovely exposure to the melded consciousness of Tibet and CA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    I wish more authors would explore Buddhism in fiction. Ten had a

    I wish more authors would explore Buddhism in fiction. Ten had a great story, but it was also filled with lessons all of us could use in life. 
    I hope when the Ten series are done, the authors will continue writing fiction with a Buddhist theme. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Every now and then, a protagonist will grab my attention from t


    Every now and then, a protagonist will grab my attention from the very beginning and that is the case for me this time. Tenzing Norbu is a private detective (almost) that I would hire in a skinny minute and then I’d like to have a celebratory drink with him because I’m quite sure he’d find the answers I’d be looking for. Ten is, quite simply, a good man. He also has a fabulous 18-pound Persian named Tank. No, this feline doesn’t talk to Ten or do other fantastical things. He’s just a great cat.

    Ten is an ex-cop who was raised in India as a Tibetan Buddhist monk and learned to love detecting by reading contraband mysteries as a teen, especially the hardboiled kind. Much of this background, along with why he’s now living a modern life in Los Angeles, influences his thoughts, his moves, his decisions, and this has a lot to do with why I find him so interesting and so unique in the crime fiction world.

    Helping out as a police consultant on a death with few answers and working on a windfall case of his own should be enough to keep a man busy but Ten is also trying his best to develop a relationship with a certain attractive woman and deal with a personal situation that takes him back to his unhappy past. As painful as it is, though, it’s his past that makes Ten the man he is, a man I like very much.

    Gay Hendricks and Tinker Lindsay have created a rather unusual and appealing detective and a series that I will gladly follow wherever it leads. I’m already wondering what the third rule of Ten might be but I guess I’ll have to wait till next winter to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Wish I'd discovered this series after they'd all been written. EXCRUCIATING waiting for The Third Rule Of Ten! Lots of layers of truth, direction, and life tips if you have the eyes and ears to see and hear them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Loved it!!

    I love the twists and turns! The story line with the dichotomies in the lead characters life is wonderfully written. One can really feel in this book. I love that the character is real and also spiritual. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Hard to put down

    Enjoyed both rules of Ten. Looking forwaard to #3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1