BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Secret

Average Rating 4.5
( 431 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 432 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2000

    Julie Garwood's romances leave you wanting more!

    The tale of Ian and Judith is such a sweet, heart-warming story. I loved the way Judith's innocence and honesty touched and won Ian's heart so quickly and completely. When Ian goes to fetch Judith from her home to bring to her dearest friend, and before they even reach his home, Ian's completely head over heals in love with her but can't or won't admit that a man such as he could ever have such feelings for a woman. Ian's struggle to come to terms with his feelings is such a delight to read! Julie Garwood's descriptions of the act of love and neither vulgar or crude, but leave you breathless!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    Top 3 of my favorite books of all times

    Wow! This book is definitely a keeper! I have reread this more than 5 times and still get the same reaction. It is excitingly a page turner. This book brings about all sorts of emotions, from the beginning to the end, no boring scenes whatsoever! The friendship of Frances Catherine & Judith is impressively well designed. The adjustment of Judith to the Highland ways & how the people reacted to her was surely a roller coster, mixed emotions-which I find utterly heart quenching. Of course, not to forget the hero/heroine... The love story of Iain & Judith completely warms my heart, they are both different yet perfect for each other. Even the secondary characters, all uniquely described and well written. The friendships, trust & loyalty, the love and acceptance...all made this book a perfect 10. 5 stars rating is simply an understatement. J.G. have outdone herself this time! Sequel: RANSOM - Another perfect story. A must read after SECRET. Note: I would like to enumerate some scenes that makes this book a perfect 10 for me but it's not fair to mention only one or even two, as I find all situations/scenes, even the smallest of all.... interesting, hilarious, exciting, tear jerker & endearing in its own magical ways. This book is worth your time! READ IT.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent read

    I enjoyed this book so much! I have read most of Julie Garwood's books and this is now one of my favourites written by her! Great characters. Excellent Story!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enchanting and Captivating!

    THIS IS A MUST HAVE! A Fun,Enchanting and Absolutely Captivating Highland Romance and Mystery.
    This romance has more than just the man-woman relationship theme, it also contains the story of two women friends looking out for each other. Too many romances portray women as enemies competing for the same man rather than being allies. This story was wonderful in all aspects. I loved how Judith and Iain rebelled against each other, but soon discovered who they could never live without. Judith and Iain will wrap themselves around your heart, with her spirit and intelligence and his sensitivity and intelligence. They have wonderful, fun personalities, sense of humor, lovability and so real. SECRET is one of the funniest books I've read by Julie Garwood. I laughed especially at the way Judith reacted each time she had to act as midwife throughout the entire book! This one touched me in every way and I fell in love with all the characters and the witty dialogue.

    Others I loved, book club or not, were EXPLOSION IN PARIS, PERFECT and WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2000

    You can't read just one!

    Julie Garwood's heroines are a spunky lot. They're independent thinkers, passionate (of course), humorous, etc., etc., etc. But Judith Hampton shows how loyal she can be by keeping a promise that she made to her friend when they were little girls. It was fun watching the new relations between Judith and the clansmen, as well as the obvious one between her and Iain. I have been enjoying Julie Garwood's work for years and will avidly read each new book that comes out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    Loved this book. Couldn't put it down and have reread.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    Best of the Rest!

    Out of all Garwood titles centered in the highlands of Scotland, the entire ensamble of The Secret have such explicit details and feelings created, so as to actually bring these friends into your own circle. They are funny, endearing and realistic. Outstanding is actually too mild a term for Julie. She continues to out-do her previous efforts, be they childrens books, FBI/contemporary thrillers or my fav, historical romance. Many thanks Ms. Garwood.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    The Best!

    I read 3-4books a week, and this is one of the best. When I read reviews and people say, I laughed outloud, I say to myself - oh yea! But I really did laugh, get tears at times, couldn't read fast enough, because of the suspense - a real page turner! This is my first book by this author, I knew before chapter 1 was finished, I needed to ordered the follow-up book - Ransom. 10 STARS for sure, if I could! ljb

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Outstanding Novel

    This book was the most amazing romance novel I have ever read. I read the whole thing in one day because I could not put it down. The story of midevel Scotland and the wonderful tale of love was well written and attention grabbing. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    Amazing Book!

    This is just an incredible book. Julie Garwood is my all time favorite author. I have read this book about 20 times already. Each time I read it I discover something new and I can't put the book down. She creates strong relationships and amazing plot schemes. I'm always surprised at the twists she adds to the plot. My favorite part though, is the battle of minds. The men that think woman are to be seen and not heard, and protected from EVERYTHING. Then the women turn around and show the men how intelligent, loyal and strong women are. If you love romance and intense dialogue... this is the book for you!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    A 'Stay Up All Night' book!

    From Very young girls they became friends against all odds. From oppisit sides of countries consently at war, England and Scottland. Wouldn't we all like to have friendships that surpass time and distance with such trust between as these two young ladies. A big handsome laird and his followers come to England - against their own wishes - for the sake of one of their own. For a female no less - because of a promise made to her by her husband - due to fears she can not be free of. Thinking it a wasted trip the higlanders make the journey only to find the loyal friend ready to go. She is much more than they expected, though she is English. You will love this story and will be sorry to read the last page. Never fear though - read Ransom and see Judith and her laird again. These two stories are my absolute favoriets. Julie Garwood is an awsome writter!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2001

    Julie Garwood's Finest!

    The Secret is the best romance novel I have ever read! From the first page, my interest was piqued and I had to keep turning the pages. The heroine could not have been made any better. The book combines the emotions of sadness and mounting passion. Julie Garwood has written a book that will not go out of print (hopefully). If you liked The Secret, I encourage you to read the second novel, Ransom, which continues with the lives of two characters introduced in The Secret.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    Secret

    I've been reading JG for at least 2 yrs now and I just love TS an had to let everyone know! It's a touching story of love and family and of course SECRETS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    Very Good

    I thought this book was great! Although I read this after I read RANSOM, I still didn't know what was going to happen. I hope she writes another one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    Secret

    I absolutely loved this book! I could not put it down and finished it in 2 days. Iain and Judith's love is portrayed excellently, and you really get to know the characters through Garwood's writing. I highly recomend this book. The humor in this book, as well as in other Garwood books is vastly enjoyable.If you do read this book I also hope you read it's sequel, Ransom, which is also thoroughly enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2000

    I'm Hooked on Garwood!

    I had never read any Garwood novels before, and was lured by the 50% off offer on Ransom. I saw that it was a sequel, so I purchased The Secret, so that I could read them in order! Wow! I generally don't read books twice, and I've already read The Secret twice. In fact, it's been years since I have done so. I read them both, and I have to say that I, personally, liked The Secret better than Ransom. Ransom was good too, but there is something about a strong powerful man who knows what he wants when he sees it, and then allows his chosen woman to spread her wings and find her place in the world! This man is a lot like my husband! I'm purchasing more Garwood novels, and I hope there are more like this one! I'm counting on it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    A Must Read

    Must absolutely read this book i couldnt even put it down when i started

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Very Entertaining

    Well-drawn characters, unusual plot and Highlanders. What more could you want?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Absolutely the best.. highly recommend

    Absolutely the best.. highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Enjoyable Read!

    I enjoyed the story and the independence of the women. I love this era of story telling and it took you to another place and time. I enjoy details in the intiment parts of the book, but still enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 432 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22