BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Secret Agent: (Joseph Conrad Classics Collection)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....!

    Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Rose

    "I honestly don't know. O-O That's just who he is."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Rose

    Bleh. Too many results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Derek

    I guess I don't do anything?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Black star

    P-P-P-P-P-PARAMORE?!?!?!?" He finds his sterio and puts in still in to you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Morgyn

    Yes ma'am.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Drake

    Finally on!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    DEATH THE KID TO ALL VERY IMPORTANT

    I am gomna change my name to maadara uchiha

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Avril

    I dont hate him, i pity his showing wimpiness.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Avril

    May I ask why Kato is such a jackass? T-T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    Amazing read

    Just today I finally finished reading The Secret Agent. This has to be (not only one of the best Conrad Novels) one of the greatest novels I have ever read. It is an amazing tale of terrorism, and plotting deep within, and really makes a person think about the psychological horrors of man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    more enjoyable than Heart of Darkness or Lord Jim

    When I first started reading this, I thought that it was a satire, but reviews that I've read indicate otherwise. The story is about a reluctant secret agent who is in it only for the money and who botches his first terrorist act, thus triggering a wave of events that lead to his demise. Although the story is certainly not funny, it¿s hard to take it seriously. Conrad must have been smiling when he came up with the idea for the clue that leads to the discovery of the terrorist's guilt. The 'known terrorists' with whom the secret agent associates are anything but threatening, especially the grossly overweight Michael, who spends all his time writing a book about his prison experience, and Comrade Ossipon, who is horrified at the sight of a dead body and appalled that he might be implicated in a murder. It's interesting that Conrad refers to the bomb builder as the 'perfect anarchist,' perhaps because he has no interest in his customers¿ motivations or the purposes fulfilled by his weapons. Is this a satire? You be the judge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    REVIEW: The Secret Agent

    This was one of the most laborious reads of my life. I would not wish it upon anyone. In fact, if it had not been included on USA Today's TOP 100 English language novels of all-time, I would have not read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1