Customer Reviews for

The Secret Keeper

Average Rating 4.5
( 359 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Another good book!

This was not my favorite Kate Morton (That would be the Forgotten Garden) but I would recommend it. Good read and plot... Keep them coming Kate!

posted by cefarber on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Looking for a lovely summer read?

An intriguing story of a daughter trying to discover her mother's secret history. The secret has to do with her mother's time in London during WWII. Nothing is as it seems. Full of twists and turns. A lovely read, perfect for summer.

posted by LDVV on June 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 359 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Another good book!

    This was not my favorite Kate Morton (That would be the Forgotten Garden) but I would recommend it. Good read and plot... Keep them coming Kate!

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Great read!

    I throughly enjoyed this book. I have read all of Kate Morton's novels, and while The House at Riverton is still my favorite, this is a close second. It's set in the middle of WW2 and paints a very vivid snapshot of life and love and loss. Also, the end caught me completely off guard, and I am rarely surprised by endings. This book really makes you sit back and evaluate your priorities in life and the kind of person you want to be, and that's the mark of a good book in my opinion.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    Reading about a teen close to my generation - never interests me

    Reading about a teen close to my generation - never interests me as much as characters from earlier time periods. Laurel Nicolson is sixteen, tired of her family, dreaming of a boy, and hiding out in a treehouse. I almost didn’t keep reading; a typical girl’s drama at that age doesn’t interest me. Luckily, I kept reading and heard about the murder, about the dramatic, self-centered girl that Dorothy (Laurel’s mother) used to be. I like Laurel so much better when she is an older character, a famous British actress. The care, concern, humor, and love that all three sisters show for their mother draws you into their circle.
    As their mother’s life nears its end, the mystery of their mother’s life sends Laurel sleuthing into her past, into a time when England is being bombarded by German bombs. It’s fascinating (want to read about her, but want to shake her too) to read about Dolly (Dorothy), a self-centered, dreamer who imagines a much more interesting, important life than she actually leads. Dolly’s boyfriend, Jimmy, seems so wonderful – honest, caring, moral - that you want to shake him too – for putting up with Dolly. Vivien Jenkins is a mystery woman, but the reason she often disappears for days isn’t hard to figure out. “Dorothy’s” son’s belief in his mother’s goodness eases your heart when you start to think the worst of her. The ending was wonderful…and totally unexpected for me. I saw a write-up from another reviewer who thought Morton’s writing was too transparent; I never saw the ending coming. Total surprise!
    Four and a Half Stars

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Beautiful story and well written

    This is my second book by this author and I have to say I am hooked. She is a beautiful story teller. I finished this book as quickly as I could wanting to see where Laurels journey would take her. It paints a vivid picture of WW2 London during the Blitz -the horrors and hapiness. It is a reminder of a more simple time when secrets were easier to keep and privacy guarded when in this day and age with the internet and social media we are privy to others intimate lives and moments with the push of a button.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tied for first with The Forgotten Garden as her best book! Not a

    Tied for first with The Forgotten Garden as her best book! Not as dark as The Distant Hours or House at Riverton. I love the story telling in this novel and I felt just as vested in the current day part of the story (Laurel's search for answers) as I did in the story telling of what really happened. Couldn't put it down and was thoroughly satisfied with the ending. Really loved this book. Will definitely re-read it in the future as well.  

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Best of Kate Morton, yet!!

    About a third of the way into the book, I was giving up hope.... I have read all of Kate Morton's books and LOVED them, however; I was beginning to think that The Secret Keeper wasn't "up to par" with the others. BAM!! That's when the book caught me and it was very difficult to put down!! If I didn't have my NOOK with me, then I was reading it on my NOOK phone app!! This is THE BEST of Kate Norton's books, yet, and I cannot wait for the next!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Couldn't put it down.

    This was one of my favorites of Kate Morton's books, besides the House at Riverton. This one sucked you into the story line from the beginning and wove a story that was both surprising and satisfying. Getting the story from different characters' point of views helped bring the story together. Full of history, a little romance, and a lot of mystery, I would recommend this as a great read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written with excellent plot. Can't

    I loved this book. very well written with excellent plot. Can't wait for the next one

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Looking for a lovely summer read?

    An intriguing story of a daughter trying to discover her mother's secret history. The secret has to do with her mother's time in London during WWII. Nothing is as it seems. Full of twists and turns. A lovely read, perfect for summer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Kate Morton did it again!

    Lovely book that I couldn't put down....just like the previous three. Kate is a true artist.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    I have read everything Kate Morton has published. This by far w

    I have read everything Kate Morton has published. This by far was her best work. Her writing is so elegant. Her ability to paint the scene not only through her characters but through description and setting is so complete that you feel like you are standing next to the character as the scene unfolds. Her stories are intricately woven between current time and the past but she moves seamlessly between the two. I have always been impressed by the level of research she does to give the reader an authentic vision of the past she is trying to submerge them in. The only problem is that, because she's so thorough, its often a very long time between works and this is an author you want to read more from, not less!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Excellent! I love her use of words. The characters are alive.

    Excellent!
    I love her use of words. The characters are alive.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Awesome Author

    I have read all of her books, they have all been very good! This one had me totally stumped, and the ending I never saw coming. Looking forward for more of her work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    This was such a wonderful, delicious long read. It reminded me s

    This was such a wonderful, delicious long read. It reminded me somewhat of a Rosamunde Pilcher novel. I couldn't wait to read it every night; the characters were so rich and multi-faceted and the mystery reveals itself twist by twist to a very satisfying ending. This is the kind of book you can get lost in; I started it on a long flight and the time raced by. One of the best books I've read in a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Favorite Kate Morton so far

    This was my favorite book by this author so far! It kept me hooked and just when I thought I had it figured out, everything changes. LOVED IT! I have read all her books now, so I am looking for another author to tide me over till the next one! Any suggestions?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Loved it

    Wonderful read

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kate Morton's best to date!

    I love that moment in a book when you are almost at the end and all of a sudden you realize what you have been missing and the light comes on and you feel bathed in that light of understanding the amazing thing the author just did...and the smile of knowing takes over your entire being. The Secret Keeper was that kind of story and I can not wait for Kate Morton's next jewel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    The Secret Keeper Kate Morton Publisher Summary: During a sum


    The Secret Keeper
    Kate Morton

    Publisher Summary: During a summer party at the family farm in the English countryside, sixteen-year-old Laurel Nicolson has escaped to her childhood tree house and is happily dreaming of the future. She spies a stranger coming up the long road to the farm and watches as her mother speaks to him. Before the afternoon is over, Laurel will witness a shocking crime. A crime that challenges everything she knows about her family and especially her mother, Dorothy — her vivacious, loving, nearly perfect mother. Now, fifty years later, Laurel is a successful and well-regarded actress living in London. The family is gathering at Greenacres farm for Dorothy's ninetieth birthday. Realizing that this may be her last chance, Laurel searches for answers to the questions that still haunt her from that long-ago day, answers that can only be found in Dorothy's past. Dorothy's story takes the reader from pre-WWII England through the blitz, to the 60s and beyond. It is the secret history of three strangers from vastly different worlds — Dorothy, Vivien, and Jimmy — who meet by chance in wartime London and whose lives are forever entwined. The Secret Keeper explores longings and dreams and the unexpected consequences they sometimes bring. It is an unforgettable story of lovers and friends, deception and passion that is told — in Morton's signature style — against a backdrop of events that changed the world.

    Review: I really enjoyed the characters and the story line. I was drawn in from reading the summary. I worked so many scenarios in my mind while reading and only at the end I figured out the outcome. I loved the going between the two time lines. The reality of war was played out well and the events going on while secondary were very enjoyable. I really liked the current day characters who were siblings and while Gerry was not as involved as Laurel was it was a good sub plot between the siblings. There were times like at the beginning where things were a little confusing like the original conversation between Dorothy and Vivien in Dorothy’s room. I also felt that sometimes there was so much information that was a bit overwhelming. Since this is my first, but not last book of Kate Morton’s that I will read!!
    I would like to thank Net Galley and Simon & Schuster for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Marvelous book

    The story is enchanting and the characters so vivid, the reader becomes immersed in their lives. What an interesting conclusion!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    It won't disappoint

    I truly enjoyed this book, flashes back to 1940's and 2011. Written from several character points and what a great twist!
    If you loved her other books you will definitely enjoy this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 359 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18