Customer Reviews for

The Secret Keeper: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 339 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(207)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Another good book!

This was not my favorite Kate Morton (That would be the Forgotten Garden) but I would recommend it. Good read and plot... Keep them coming Kate!

posted by cefarber on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Looking for a lovely summer read?

An intriguing story of a daughter trying to discover her mother's secret history. The secret has to do with her mother's time in London during WWII. Nothing is as it seems. Full of twists and turns. A lovely read, perfect for summer.

posted by LDVV on June 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 207 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Excellent Book - a must read

    I had only read one other Kate Morton book, The House at Riverton, which I thoroughly enjoyed. This book did not disappoint. It kept my attention to the surprise ending. Another great book by Kate Morton. I like the way she went from past to present keeping the storyline flowing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Loved this story!!

    I chose this book for our book club to read, we,ve read a couple of this author's other books and this was just as good as the others. A slow start but it was worth the wait, book club is tonight and I can't wait to talk about it. Recommend this to anyone, especially book clobbers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Excellent!!

    I love this author. I have read all her books and loved each one. Hope there will be something new at some point.
    Pamisue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Amazing book!!!! It's kind of hard to get into it but once you g

    Amazing book!!!! It's kind of hard to get into it but once you get in a couple of chapters it's a breeze! The characters in this book are so strong. Some you'll love some you'll just hate. But seriously the ending BLEW ME AWAY! I loved this book. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Amazing

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Great read

    Characters were relateable and the imagery allowed for the scenes to flow effortlessly making the end that more surprising!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    Good Read

    True to form, Kate Morton doesn't disappoint. An enjoyable book to read. Great character development and another interesting story. Great reading while traveling or at the beach. Morton's stories are touching and poignant but not too intense. There are always surprises, though. Recommend!,,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    quite possibly my favorite of kate's so far.

    quite possibly my favorite of kate's so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Kate Morton has done it again. A close second to The Fogotten Ga

    Kate Morton has done it again. A close second to The Fogotten Garden!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    One of the best book I have ever read. Sharing it with friends.

    One of the best books I have ever read. Sharing with friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    A

    Amazing and artistically constructed. You will not be disappointed! Tthe Forgotten Garden is also great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS

    Oh...my....gosh!! I LOVED this book! I was a bit confused for a while because it changes back and forth from the 1940s to today quickly. And, there seemed to be a lot of characters. But, there really aren't that many characters and the moving back and forth became easier quite quickly. The twists and turns as the story unfolds are amazing! I want to recommend this book to everyone I know!! And, I am definitely going to read more of this author's work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Suspenseful - Full of Twists and Turns!

    I listened to the audio version of The Secret Keeper (loved the narrator)--this was my first book by Kate Morton. It started out a little slow and the intensity heated up along the way. The setting England 1960s and the Nicholson family is celebrating their youngest child’s birthday. Laurel (16) sneaks away for her treehouse, when she sees a man walk up the road and speak to her mother and little brother. Then she cannot believe, her mother takes the cake knife and stabs the guy. She and her mother never speak of the event again. The book jumps to 2011 and Laurel returns to visit her elderly mother and is determined to discover what happened that day before her mom dies.

    The book jumps back and forth between the war 1940s and present day. Dorothy (mom)’s past is uncovered, going back to her teenage years and her romance with Jimmy and friendship with Vivian. I had to go back and listen to the audio several times as when you are driving or get distracted --you do not want to miss a thing!

    A suspenseful novel with lots of twists and turns and keeps you hanging to learn of the next outcome. The characters are very well developed and the author clearly captures the emotions.

    Lots of hidden secrets, a historical romance and mystery. I am typically not a huge fan of historical fiction; however, feel I would have enjoyed it better had I read on e-reader versus audio since it was moving back and forth in time.

    I strongly recommend this book to lovers of mystery and historical fiction and look forward to reading her previous books. Very well done!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Great Rea

    Soon to be a movie I would think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    A great book

    If you like a novel that has many twists and turns then this is the book for you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Jordan

    Bio @ 'Laharpe' res 2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    BIOS

    ((Here is me)) Name: Sionelle Cypher xxx Age: 17 xxx Looks: strawberry blonde hair to mid back, blue eyes, creamy skin, slim xxx Wears: a white cowlneck sweater, jeans, black calf high boots, tan mid length trench xxx Pers: funny, inquisitive, smart, good puzzle solver, loves mysteries xxx Love interest : ? xxx Rank: detective <p> Name: Ms. Lirael xxx Age: 26 xxx Looks: almost black hair in a loose bun, bright brown eyes, tan skin, slim xxx Wears: a two piece sapphire skirt-suit, silver earrings, silver pumps xxx Pers: open minded, nice xxx Love interest: ? xxx Rank: society member

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    I couldn't put it down!

    A fantastic story in two time periods. Wonderfully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    This book was so good! I love the author's way of telling a sto

    This book was so good! I love the author's way of telling a story rather than just writing a book. Her books always have such interesting twists that when I have to put a book down for a while, I really can't wait to pick it up to continue reading. I don't always like her characters, but I always care what happens to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 207 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11