Customer Reviews for

The Secret Keeper: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(209)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Another good book!

This was not my favorite Kate Morton (That would be the Forgotten Garden) but I would recommend it. Good read and plot... Keep them coming Kate!

posted by cefarber on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Looking for a lovely summer read?

An intriguing story of a daughter trying to discover her mother's secret history. The secret has to do with her mother's time in London during WWII. Nothing is as it seems. Full of twists and turns. A lovely read, perfect for summer.

posted by LDVV on June 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 345 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Xeniawp

    I loved this book! I didnt want it to end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Best one yet

    Loved it!!!! Best one of Kates i think. Would love to see secret keeper or forgotten garden in movie ( not a lifetime movie). You will love her character development as you fall in love with them page by page........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Disappointed

    I usually love Kate Morton. This was my least favorite. Saved by surprise ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    I'm afraid my anticipation was too high for this book.... I have

    I'm afraid my anticipation was too high for this book.... I have loved the writing flow of Kate Morton's previous books, but this book read like someone else had written it...on a much simpler level.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Another good one by Morton

    I wasn't sure I would like this new book by Kate Morton. The character Dolly was getting on my nerves, but read on I did. Much like Laurel, about about 2/3s through, events started to click and I thought I had a pretty good idea where the ending would land. There was one piece that remained a surprise, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Could barely get through the repetitiveness

    Redundant. Boring. Choppy. A bitter disappointment. Just an awful, drawn out implausible "mystery."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    This book kept me guessing until the very end.  I loved everyone

    This book kept me guessing until the very end.  I loved everyone twist, and turn.  This was my first Kate Morton book and I can't wait to read another.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A book to keep you in its grasp from start to finish and for some time afterward.

    A bit of romance, a bit of mystery, this is a book about life and love and the struggles of creating what you really need and really want. It is full of emotion and shadows and the true spirit of family. I recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Very Highly Recommended

    Enjoyed reading, fabulous ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden and couldn't wait to

    I loved Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden and couldn't wait to pick up another one of her novels. I thought that it would be hard novel to follow, and in some ways I was right.

    I enjoyed The Secret Keeper, but I was already familiar with the author's writing style and that was no longer part of the surprise that grabbed my attention immediately as with the first novel I read.

    There was no disappointment in the fantastic build up to this great mystery in Laurel's family. It opened up with a great bang of a scene which I was hoping for when starting this novel, and for the most part, the author maintained a good pace.

    The character development was truly superb, which I expected. Leading up to the twist of the story, the build up was great, but a little slow paced for my liking. Unfortunately, with this novel, the twist was predictable and there was no 'holy sh*t' moment for me, but it was still a great twist.

    A mellow, perfect summer read that I would recommend to fans of The Forgotten Garden or for those of you wanting to slow the pace down and delve into a great mystery.

    Thank you Netgalley & publisher for the opportunity to read this novel for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Anon

    I love Kate Morton's books and now have read all of them. This one drew me in quickly. I couldn' t put it down. Secret Garden is still my favorite....this one comes in second of the four. Looking forward to her next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Good Read with a nice twist. Read most of the book at the gym

    Good Read with a nice twist. Read most of the book at the gym -- Kate Morton is a good writer with a good story. I really enjoyed having something to read with a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Excellent Book - a must read

    I had only read one other Kate Morton book, The House at Riverton, which I thoroughly enjoyed. This book did not disappoint. It kept my attention to the surprise ending. Another great book by Kate Morton. I like the way she went from past to present keeping the storyline flowing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Loved this story!!

    I chose this book for our book club to read, we,ve read a couple of this author's other books and this was just as good as the others. A slow start but it was worth the wait, book club is tonight and I can't wait to talk about it. Recommend this to anyone, especially book clobbers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Excellent!!

    I love this author. I have read all her books and loved each one. Hope there will be something new at some point.
    Pamisue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Amazing book!!!! It's kind of hard to get into it but once you g

    Amazing book!!!! It's kind of hard to get into it but once you get in a couple of chapters it's a breeze! The characters in this book are so strong. Some you'll love some you'll just hate. But seriously the ending BLEW ME AWAY! I loved this book. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Amazing

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Great read

    Characters were relateable and the imagery allowed for the scenes to flow effortlessly making the end that more surprising!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    Good Read

    True to form, Kate Morton doesn't disappoint. An enjoyable book to read. Great character development and another interesting story. Great reading while traveling or at the beach. Morton's stories are touching and poignant but not too intense. There are always surprises, though. Recommend!,,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    quite possibly my favorite of kate's so far.

    quite possibly my favorite of kate's so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 345 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18