Customer Reviews for

The Secret Life of Bees (movie tie-in): Tie In Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

An Array of Feelings

This book is a roller coaster of emotions. It begins with sympathy for a young girl who is living in a abusive environment. She escapes the mental and physical abuse along housekeeper who is subjected to violent racial injustice, but refuses to be put down. They both...
This book is a roller coaster of emotions. It begins with sympathy for a young girl who is living in a abusive environment. She escapes the mental and physical abuse along housekeeper who is subjected to violent racial injustice, but refuses to be put down. They both find a haven with surprising connections. This book covers a lot of feelings in a honest and sometimes very funny way. There is sadness, hate, love, fear and humor wrapped up in a neat little book. This should not be missed - a classic in the making.

posted by Jude39 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bleh

THIIISSTUPIDSS

posted by 2371804 on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Aawwwwwwwesome

    This is a great book if you like it then watch the movies its better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Awesome

    Sweet, sad, touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Better read me

    Ok the movie was so good loved it lilly stays with queen latifa i have nit read the book yet because i think it would be very different because you know how you write the book then when you make the movie it turns out different well what if the book is different then the movie because the writter of the book does not have any right tchange the movie but in the movie does lillys father really care about her because i dont think he does i think that he only trys to keep her because she looks excatly like her momma and i dint think t-ray love anybody he might have changed a few minthes after they were married. P.S pleasbe my friend my name is shatari pinnix

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    LOVE AND HATE

    It is a good story for girls and there life and hate and love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Loved it!

    One of my favorite books ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    This book

    This book is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Fabuless

    I love this book but I love the movie. U should read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    Very well written, story captivates immediately

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Good

    Fun lovinh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    One of my favorites!!!!

    This book is great on so many levels and the fact love is in the center of all only makes it sweeter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Great book!

    This was one of the books we were told to read for the high school summer reading assignment. Being a girl, I chose The Secret Life of Bees. I am not lying when I say this book is amazing! The whole time I was reading the book. I would stay up until 12am reading! I completely recommend this book to anyone, girls or boys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    To "For all who call this boring" (#41)

    People can have their own opinions about stuff, and even though it has a deeper meaning, this book does have a lot of stupid parts. So please shut your mouth and stop making people feel guilty because they have an opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Love it!!!!

    I'm 11 years old and this was for summer reading and I loved it! Love Sue Monk Kidd's books and I can't wait to read the rest of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Can i be deputy

    See my post i first res. Its the very first post.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    great book

    Its such a great book i wont give you any details because you have to find that out for yourself. So just read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    I loved this book. At first, I didn¿t think I would. I went into

    I loved this book. At first, I didn’t think I would. I went into it with the attitude of “it’s just another school book”, but after I started reading, I realized I really liked the story There isn’t really one part of the book that I specifically like or dislike. It flows very smoothly, so it’s hard to pick out certain parts as fragments.  The references to the bees at the beginning of each chapter, and the resolution were well done. I felt like there was a tying of loose ends, but not to a point where Lily’s life didn’t feel like it continued after that. I wouldn’t change anything in the book and the way it was written. I would recommend this book more towards a teen and up girl audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Great story

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    I read this book a few years ago, and oh! what a read. Just don

    I read this book a few years ago, and oh! what a read. Just don't understand the bad reviews. Did not want to put the book down. Wonderful work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Love!!!!!!!!

    I love this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    Took me back to memories of what was happening then. Very accur


    Took me back to memories of what was happening then. Very accurate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15