Customer Reviews for

The Secret Rescue: An Untold Story of American Nurses and Medics Behind Nazi Lines

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding, Invigorating, Informational, WONDERFUL! An untold s

Outstanding, Invigorating, Informational, WONDERFUL! An untold story of a secret rescue in Nazi occupied Albania, with real facts and details about the escape and the mental and physical agony that the prisoners endured. This book will be a Best Seller!

posted by Anonymous on May 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

The story was interesting and provided historical information. However, the subtitle is somewhat misleading with regard to a story about WWII nurses. The majority of the book was from the perspective and accounts of the men rather than the nurses. They were more of a si...
The story was interesting and provided historical information. However, the subtitle is somewhat misleading with regard to a story about WWII nurses. The majority of the book was from the perspective and accounts of the men rather than the nurses. They were more of a side story.

posted by 4630620 on June 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Outstanding, Invigorating, Informational, WONDERFUL! An untold s

    Outstanding, Invigorating, Informational, WONDERFUL! An untold story of a secret rescue in Nazi occupied Albania, with real facts and details about the escape and the mental and physical agony that the prisoners endured. This book will be a Best Seller!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Awesome book. After just receiving it in the mail, I couldn't st

    Awesome book. After just receiving it in the mail, I couldn't stop reading it. The danger the nurses, medics and their Albanian helpers faced is truly amazing and shows the type of heroism that was so commonly found during WWII. The detail and information provided really made me feel like I was part of their adventure. It shows you how strong the human spirit and cooperation between people can be in overcoming great odds. I highly recommend this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    LOVED IT!  An incredibly well written story of heroism and coura

    LOVED IT!  An incredibly well written story of heroism and courage!   Lineberry has done a stunning job of capturing this amazing story.
    The group's harrowing adventure comes alive with the myriad of details woven into this compelling narrative.  I could not put it down
     and would recommend without hesitation!  Perfect timing for both Mother's Day and Father's Day.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Although I had to get up at 6 a.m. this morning, I couldn't stop

    Although I had to get up at 6 a.m. this morning, I couldn't stop reading until I finished the book at 3:00 a.m. This a gripping true account, incredibly well-researched and beautifully written in a way that you come to know the characters and feel as though you are right there with them. The 26 army nurses and medics, along with their 4-man flight crew endured the most harrowing two months-plus of their lives after crash-landing unknowingly in German-occupied Albania due to terrible weather, loss of all radio communications, as well as the functioning of their compass. Rescued by partisans, sheltered along the way by many poor and war-ravaged villagers from the Nazis at great risk to themselves, their final rescue took place through the unrelenting efforts and bravery of American and British secret agents especially during the last leg of their almost 1000-mile trek to reach the Adriatic Sea and freedom, The travails they suffered not only included evading the Nazis, but concern about their Albanian rescuers who were also entrenched in a civil war between violently opposed factions. The rugged, mountainous terrain they were forced to travel, the indescribably harsh climate, lice, fleas, lack of food, water, appropriate clothing, and basic sanitation, and the constant presence of uncertainty and fear, made this a real life testimony to the indomitability of the human spirit; a story that is long overdue in its tellling! Thanks, Ms. Lineberry, for introducing us to such heroes and heroines, and giving us an unforgettable reading and learning experience.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Recommend

    The story was interesting and provided historical information. However, the subtitle is somewhat misleading with regard to a story about WWII nurses. The majority of the book was from the perspective and accounts of the men rather than the nurses. They were more of a side story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite The Secret Res

    Reviewed by Brenda Ballard for Readers' Favorite

    The Secret Rescue: An Untold Story of American Nurses and Medics Behind Nazi Lines, written by Cate Lineberry, is a deeply researched account of a true experience. Imagine being in WWII as a nurse in a new and every-changing segment of the military. Airplanes are so new that the higher ups don't even have a protocol on their use as medical evacuation yet. This is a story about how these young nurses and surgical doctors first became involved in the specialized unit. That foundation being made, the reader is catapulted with the group into the situation of being forced to land in unknown whereabouts and without anybody else knowing where they are. Albanian partisans risk their lives to help the group of Americans in a perilous journey across enemy territory. 

    I am a big fan of history, especially that of our military and the belief that Freedom Is NOT Free. Cate Lineberry has gone above and beyond in her research and the surely difficult task of piecing it together. The Secret Rescue: An Untold Story of American Nurses and Medics Behind Nazi Lines is the result of her traveling to Albania, meeting with the few veterans that were still alive and documenting their stories. I love this story. It is not just thrilling and filled with peril, it is our nation's history of the people who have sacrificed in the name of our freedom. This book should be part of WWII curriculum in every school, every college. The work that has been put into this historical military story is in itself remarkable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! So well written and a true unto

    Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! So well written and a true untold story in WW2. I thought they had all been told but this one truly is amazong. Lineberry does such a great job. I can see this being turned into a Movie along the lines of Argo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Read it

    Vastly interesting book for myself as a nurse, and in fact, for all readers interested in the events of WWII. Reads fast and keeps your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Only thing is, this is ot an unknown story. Albanian Rescue is a

    Only thing is, this is ot an unknown story. Albanian Rescue is a book about this very story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2014

    Very Good read

    I enjoyed reading this book it kept my interest and was an amazing story of survival and determination. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    great story of ww2 history. Real facts and not fiction but----

    great story of ww2 history. Real facts and not fiction but---- too much history of historical groups or organizations that detracted from
    the flow
    of the book. In the center of the book there were photos of the people in the book with captions below that described what happened to each person in the photo. I enjoyed reading each but then I knew the ending of the book. Why read any more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Secret Possesion: Part 1! ~Jacklene

    Taina excaped. She left the mans huge house. She ran through an alley way....then next thing she knew she was nak.ed, infront of many men. At a slave auction. She was terrified. The host said, "Bring the boy!" A young man at the age of 19 came in. He was nak.ed also. Host, "We will ki.ll you if you dont listen to us." The young man whispered, "Sorry." He laid her down and hum.ped he bre.ats. Then stuck his co.ck into her pu.ssy and cu.med, all over. She Moaned. Then started playing with her ti.ts. He sucked them. The host then said, "Any buyers? Starting at $1,000!" A few men raised there hands. "$2,000?" "$3,000? Sold! To the man in the back!" He came up. He had black hair and blue eyes. And a HUGE co.ck. He grabed her. "Lets go." He pushed her inside his car, then shut the door and drove of....Next Chapter tomorrow! At the next result!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    I bought this book because I am a nurse and because I love histo

    I bought this book because I am a nurse and because I love history. It is astounding to me that the nurses, medics and pilots were barely into their twenties! Also the nurses had 6 weeks of training before going overseas. It shows you the confidence you have at that age, and the "can-do" spirit of America, especially of that time. This book is extremely well written and researched, and it moves along very quickly. It also tells the story of the Albanians who helped them at great danger to themselves, as well as sharing food when they themselves had almost nothing, It makes you think: could I have survived this? Could I have remained mentally tough? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    highly recommended

    fascinating book. read like a mystery novel. just could not put it down. a look at one of the seldom told story of wartime experiences. thoroughly enjoyed reading it and learned some details of the war i was not aware of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Ponderous

    This book is interesting from an historical point of view, but it is ponderous reading. The author puts in a lot of historical facts along with the backgrounds of the characters and really slows down the pace of the rescue. I intend to finish it, but have done a lot of skimming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    WOW! Agree with many of you that I couldn't put this book down.

    WOW! Agree with many of you that I couldn't put this book down. It is amazing how many incredible WWII stories there are. I think they should share these in high school history class, rather than reviewing battles in such detail! How lucky all of us are that one gentle. man is still living and lucid, to tell the story. I am always thrilled to find a treasure like this. Such compelling reading about team work and the kindness of strangers, too. We all could learn about helping others in need a bit more from this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So well-written-- this writer pulled me into this amazing story.

    So well-written-- this writer pulled me into this amazing story.  I almost felt like I was there experiencing the relief those nurses and servicemen felt when they were finally rescued.  Great book, highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    A well written and researched story of brave nurses and medics t

    A well written and researched story of brave nurses and medics trying to survive in a hostile environment.  I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Recommended only if you like history

    I was disappointed re the format. It was like reading a history book. I liked the information but expected more from individual characters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Finally, the story is told to a wide audience. This is an amazin

    Finally, the story is told to a wide audience. This is an amazing story told by a very talented author and a major publisher (Little Brown). I have come to understand there were some self published memoirs out there but this book is all encompassing and well research from army medical history to the roll of the OSS. With all of the work Lineberry did we now finally have unraveled the true untold story. I can't wait for her next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2