Customer Reviews for

The Secret Rooms: A True Story of a Haunted Castle, a Plotting Duchess, and aFamily Secret

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I found The Secret Rooms to be a fascinating read. Why did the N

I found The Secret Rooms to be a fascinating read. Why did the Ninth Duke of Rutland erase himself from his family history. This is the question by brilliant writer and researcher Catherine Bailey in this book. The research is very in-depth. The writing is excellent. I ...
I found The Secret Rooms to be a fascinating read. Why did the Ninth Duke of Rutland erase himself from his family history. This is the question by brilliant writer and researcher Catherine Bailey in this book. The research is very in-depth. The writing is excellent. I give this book high marks.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I REALLY wanted to like this book. Like another has mentioned, y

I REALLY wanted to like this book. Like another has mentioned, you start this book and cannot put it down. It begins with mystery, immediate empathy for the main character and fills your mind with ideas of what the answer to the mystery is. Halfway in, it becomes beleag...
I REALLY wanted to like this book. Like another has mentioned, you start this book and cannot put it down. It begins with mystery, immediate empathy for the main character and fills your mind with ideas of what the answer to the mystery is. Halfway in, it becomes beleaguered with detail and minutia that felt like sitting through history class. I felt the bulk of the read to be about WWI making me forget the "mystery" and "intrigue". Why the book description even refers to fans of Downton Abbey escapes me. The book was exceptionally well written, the author's research no doubt to be the most thorough and painstaking. However, this was an interesting read at best; my attention waning the closer I got to the finish.

posted by SeaKyle on February 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I found The Secret Rooms to be a fascinating read. Why did the N

    I found The Secret Rooms to be a fascinating read. Why did the Ninth Duke of Rutland erase himself from his family history. This is the question by brilliant writer and researcher Catherine Bailey in this book. The research is very in-depth. The writing is excellent. I give this book high marks.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    This is a wonderful book that is interesting and very well-writt

    This is a wonderful book that is interesting and very well-written. The writer has the ability to make the reader feel as if he/she is a part of the mystery. The Secret Rooms is a page turner and one of the best books I have read. I highly recommend!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!   I'd have to give the book 5 stars for th

    SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!   I'd have to give the book 5 stars for the research alone, but half way through when you realize
    what is happening  the impact or rather the let down of the mystery dips to 2 stars, so I marked it at three to sort of even it out.   
    Bailey is a great researcher and story teller but I did find the story started to drag down in retelling and minutia.   In the end I didn't like any
    of the characters, detested some and felt sorry for others, but all in all the great mystery is, frankly, a let down!   If I had to read one more 
    of the mothers letters I would scream!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    I REALLY wanted to like this book. Like another has mentioned, y

    I REALLY wanted to like this book. Like another has mentioned, you start this book and cannot put it down. It begins with mystery, immediate empathy for the main character and fills your mind with ideas of what the answer to the mystery is. Halfway in, it becomes beleaguered with detail and minutia that felt like sitting through history class. I felt the bulk of the read to be about WWI making me forget the "mystery" and "intrigue". Why the book description even refers to fans of Downton Abbey escapes me. The book was exceptionally well written, the author's research no doubt to be the most thorough and painstaking. However, this was an interesting read at best; my attention waning the closer I got to the finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book does provide some interesting insight into the war fro

    This book does provide some interesting insight into the war from the perspective of the English nobility which, according to the author, was the originally intended subject of her book.  However the ending of the story can be easily guessed at about halfway through the book; this made it difficult for me to be excited about reading it to the end.  The rigid rules of class distinction in pre-war England, however, are an important aspect of the war itself.  How military commissions were conferred, ranks determined, and battle strategies developed were all derived from this sense of class and entitlement.  In reality, the war might have ended sooner if all of Europe hadn't been so concerned with rank.  This book does help the reader better understand some of the manipulation that happened behind the scenes that was, in many ways, detrimental to winning the war with fewer lost lives.  In regard to writing style, I personally didn't like the first-person insertion of the author into the research and discovery of the story but that is just preference on my part.  The book is easily readable, tells an interesting story and does provide the reader with one perspective of the war.  I would argue that the use of the word "haunted" in the subtitle is very misleading; the author never alludes to a haunting and the reader should not look for ghosts among the pages.  "Mysterious" would be a more appropriate word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Good read

    Although history it read like fiction. Very enlightening about the titled of England and how the lived. It became a little slow when the author wrote about the third mystery, but overall it was difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    great title

    I did love the book, read it in 2 days, never read a Catherine Bailey book before,she kept your interest throughout the book. Would read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    Well researched. Too bad the characters were not more sympatheti

    Well researched. Too bad the characters were not more sympathetic. I give it 4 stars due to the excellent research and writing. But there are really no bombshells. Just manipulative parents and unhappy children. More sad than shocking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    this is an okay read, just a little dry.

    The book seemed to drag on. Some parts of the book were repeated when the author is talking about his time on the front line. The review on the book made it sound more exciting and mysterious and made the mother sound very evil, when it wasn't. You learn about how he was rejected by the family, then how the family tried hard to get him to see he is the only heir left and how he needs to think of everything else and stop thinking of himself. just to find out he was in on it at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    excellent

    intriguing look into english mystery and drama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Dowton Abbey fans won't be disappointed

    Castles, aristocracy, AND mystery? And its all a true story? Just started this today and can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    &stars. &knights. &rooks. &telephones.

    &smileyface

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1