BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Secret of the Mansion

Average Rating 5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Trixie is back!

I read Trixie in the 50's and wanted to live in her world. My 33 year old daughter read the series when she was in elementary and junior high school and enjoyed them as much as I did. My youngest daughter who is 24 and a newlywed read and re-read them many, many times....
I read Trixie in the 50's and wanted to live in her world. My 33 year old daughter read the series when she was in elementary and junior high school and enjoyed them as much as I did. My youngest daughter who is 24 and a newlywed read and re-read them many, many times. Before her marriage she told me (and she meant it) that if her house caught fire she would grab her 30+ Trixie books and a favorite stuffed dog before leaving the house. She has told her new husband the same thing. PS There is a website for Trixie that Maggie found and ordered both she and I a t-shirt showing Trixie and The Secret of the Masion. One final thing - I bought #'s 1-4 and yes, I read them.

posted by Anonymous on November 10, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Iv read this book for years..

I first read this book when i was 8, now im almost 17 and this book fails to disapoint me yet..

posted by Anonymous on August 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Love it!!!!!!!!!!

    WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Awesome

    Love this book. Once you start reading it you can't stop. Everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Wells

    Played with his lvl 99 shiny cranidos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    LOVE

    Great series ***********!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Arielle

    Ok beth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Emma

    Yep d i havent met them

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Beth

    Awesome!!! And you lik UA right?!?!....my favorite teams are Alabama and Southern Mississippi! Roll tide all the way to the top! XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    leh

    Trixie Belden gets into the best mysterys!!! I love all of these great books, even though I havn't read them all. I hope whoever reads them will love them too! REVIEW BY: LEH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    AWESOME

    I love this series, more then anything I want to solve a mystery and have an adventure. I love Trixie she is everything I aspire to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Dated but Great

    Trixie Belden is a great character portraying a young woman (13) who takes action to solve crimes and mysteries. While the stories are a bit dated (1948), they represent good values for young people, and the stories are well told. In this story, Trixie notices something strange is going on in the mansion on the hill. This is the first of a long seires, so if you like it, there are many other Trixie stories to follow. Two books of similar note, but more current, are listed below.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    This is a great book.

    This is a great book for people around the age 11+. It is a great start to these Trixie Belden books. Once you start reading you cant put it down and you will want to continue reading about Trixie's life until you finish all of the books about her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Addictive and Welcome back to Trixie

    I loved these books as a girl. I used to go to the five and dime - the end of an era to buy these. I was delighted to see these books have been made available again as I can still remember feeling like a part of Trixie's latest mystery. I can't wait until my girls are old enough to read these!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    What a treat!

    I grew up reading Trixie Belden (borrowed from my aunts) and was SO disappointed when my daughter (born in 1990) was old enough to start reading them...they weren't published anymore. My husband and I started going to used book stores and flea markets and gathered over 30 of the series. Jess was as addicted as I was. She spent all of her summer when she was 12 reading Trixie. She begs me to find the ones she's missing. They are simply ageless. Thanks so much for publishing them again. I will buy the new ones for my 4 year old niece. She'll have a lot to look forward to in 4 or 5 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    Gleeps!

    Its wonderful that these marvelous books are being reissued. They are a wonderful series for all ages, and are very enjoyable. I've read my sister's old books since I found in them in the basement a few years ago, and they are just wonderful. Highly reccomended. Five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2003

    Timeless classic!

    This book is a must read, and it will open the doors for many more readings of adventures for Trixie and her friends. This book is great for anyone, and parents will enjoy reading this book to their children or know that their child is getting more that a fun reading...there are a lot of valuable lessons learned in these stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    A wonderful role model for young girls

    I still remember the day I first picked up a Trixie Belden book (it was 23 years ago and I was almost 9) and I have been hooked ever since. Trixie is so easy to relate to - she isn't perfect, she loses her temper, she has to deal with three brothers, and she has lots of chores - but she has a heart of gold, a wonderful generous spirit, and a determinedness that is inspirational. This series contains not only wonderful adventures appealing to kids, but teaches the true meaning of friendship and generosity. And the author even manages to work in educational facts and vocabulary skills in a completely painless way! I recommend this series for every child between the ages of 8 and 14!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    A Long Lost Friend is Back

    As a child I loved Trixie Belden and as an adult I love this series just as much. This is a great read for people of all ages. Trixie is a young Lady who is not afraid of being herself. She is strong independant, and a real girl. I highly recomend this series to both boys and girls. I hope they will enjoy them as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    I've missed you Trixie

    These books were first published in the late 1940's and showed Trixie to be a girl ahead of her times far more realistic than the former girl detective series. The book begins with the three main characters middle class girl, rich girl and handsome mysterious boy. You would expect the two girls to compete for the boys attention with the rich girl being the villaness ( according to standard formula) . Wrong! the two girls become best friends as they seek to solve the mystery. Added into the mix is an evil villan and small town life in Sleepyside-on Hudson. Anyone who has ever enjoyed Trixie should buy this book for their child, grandchild or themselves. We need to encourage Random House to publish the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    Trixie Belden is a MUST READ for all girls

    In addition to being the best and most enjoyable series I read as a child(actually enjoyed it as a child and as an adult), the books teach girls that it is ok to be smart and strong, that friendship is valuable, that what you earn is more important that what is handed to you, that money (whether you have it or not) does not determine who you are. And the dialogue will boost vocabulary! If you are looking for a gift for an 8-14 year old girl, BUY ANY AND ALL TRIXIE BELDEN BOOKS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Trixie Belden Rock On

    Unlike Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys, or Donna Parker, Trixie Belden is a young girl who isn't afraid to be imperfect. Trixie isn't perfect at all. She stumbles and falls, sticks her foot in her mouth, loses her temper, and jumps to conclusions, but she's so charming she'll keep you running back for more. The Trixie Belden books were written in the late 1940's in a time when women's rights were not a huge issue. These books were incredibly revolutionary in their stance on the role of women. They contain everything from house wives to single career women, from married working women to a little girl who dreams of being a detective someday. I recommend these books to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3