Customer Reviews for

The Secret to Getting a Job after College: Marketing Tactics to Turn Degrees into Dollars

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    I highly recommend this book!!!

    This is a "must have" for all recent grads. I found the chapter on interviewing styles extremely helpful. I actually just landed a job, and I attribute my awesome interview to the tips in this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended!!!! CHECK IT!!!

    This book was my reason of getting an internship for the summer. It so short and so helpful that you can read it twice without noticing it! It helps you not only in defining what you really want as a career, but it also provides you method to market yourself as the best potential candidate for a job! This book can really improve your life and increase your job opportunities! I highly recommended for both undergraduate and graduates!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Helpful!

    Informative, great points. I found it really helpful with preparing for my job hunt. Totally worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    A Great Tool to Get You Through the Interview Process!

    This book is an amazing resource for anyone who is just starting out with their career! I loved the chapter that had pages upon pages of answers to the most common interview questions. I highly recommend this book to those that get nervous going on an interview because this book gets you prepared to answer the most difficult questions that any interviewer would throw at you. Invest in your future and buy this book now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    A Light at The End of The Tunnel!

    I received this book as a gift from my Professor when I lost my full-time position at a firm post graduation. I can begin by saying the information in this book is invaluable in getting a job. All the best advice you've ever been given by your teachers and various professionals throughout your career is compiled here in a step-by-step guide to finding a great job. The book guides you through every intricate detail from narrowing down job choices to what truly interests you, intricately preparing your resume according to a job position, mock interview questions, as well as salary negotiations (once you get the job!) There are also many other answers to questions that you may have along the way. You learn to market yourself as an individual and begin to think of yourself as a brand. The job search is rocky after college and thanks to this book, it's been smooth sailing. 5 STARS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Own a Great Asset!

    For anyone who is job searching and seeking tricks and tips for interviews and resumes, this book is a MUST HAVE! The first two chapters helped me personally providing me with advice on how to revamp my resume. In addition, the last two chapters assisted me with answering challenging interview questions with clear, concise answers. After following Mr. Chiagouris' resume tips, I had many recruiters, headhunters, and employers contact me. The best part about it is that it's an easy, informative quick read! My advice: purchase the book and follow his tips and you will only see good things in your future! This book will be with me for many years to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Great reference

    A must have for all graduating college student as well as graduare students. Dr Chiagouris nailed this extraordinary reference which is a must for all seeking emploment in the highly competitive job market.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    MAKE THE MOST OUR OF YOUR EDUCATION!

    Graduating is so stressful and the pressure to get a job is so intense that many students, unfortunately, settle for jobs that are not interesting and well below their worth. This is why soon-to-be graduates NEED to read this book...It'll outline exactly what steps to take and how to take them in order to understand your own worth and what you can offer to an employer. Then it teaches you how to make your resume and interview skills up-to-par with the high standards of today's employers. All the secrets to getting a job are in here, so save yourself the stress of being overwhelmed and actually get your dream job after college. Highly recommended (coming from a recent grad with a dream job and who's friends also read this book and got great jobs).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    THIS BOOK IS A MUST HAVE!

    With graduation quickly approaching, I was worried about being job-less! This book gave me plenty of insights on how to nail every interview I went on, and how to impress everyone I met. It's definitely what helped me land the job that I have now! No doubt about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    A must-read for recent college grads

    This book was invaluable during the interview process. After graduation, I spent 6 months applying for jobs to no avail. I decided to do some research, and stumbled across this book. The resume tips in the book helped me land countless interviews almost immediately. The tricky interview questions were no problem after this book so clearly laid out how to answer unexpected questions. In a matter of no time, I had an offer for a job that I love and have been at ever since!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Don't you just love secrets?

    This book has given me the most straight-forward and helpful advice when it came to finding a job, setting up a resume, and getting through an interview. I figured out what I need to do to stand out among the crowd, and not simply overlooked like most of my previous attempts at getting jobs. I'm two steps ahead of employers now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    The Secret is Out

    Now that I had finished with school and was getting ready to start applying for jobs, I did not have a really good idea of where to even begin writing my professional resume. This book gave me the foundation I needed to work with and helped me create something that I felt like really stood out from my classmate's works. It takes you through writing a resume all the way to getting your job offer. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    Great Book! Excellent Advice!

    This book is great because it speaks in a voice that students can understand and relate with. I really enjoyed this book because it provides excellent tips on marketing yourself as a brand in the job market.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Wonderful tool for graduates!

    My uncle gave me "The Secret to Getting a Job After College" as a graduation gift, it has been an invaluable tool to me as I navigate my way through job applications and interviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    A MUST READ for all college students that want to land the job of their dreams after graduation!

    This book contains every secret there is to know about how to land the job you want after college. You will learn strategies on how to build up your resume, build relationships with the right people and which steps you must take in order to land a position within your ideal career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    This book is a great graduation gift!

    I just got this book and I know it will be "my go to guide." The information is organized in a logical fashion that makes it very easy to locate exactly what it is you are looking for. I wanted to learn some tips on interviewing and there it was right there in Chapter 3 ---an entire chapter filled with tricky interview questions with the answers! I have not finished reading this yet, but I have already learned so much. I have a couple of friends graduating from college this year and I know exactly what I am getting them. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Great resource for job seekers!

    This book has been very helpful to me in setting my career path straight to where I want to go, thanks to the skills interest grid and many other features. It not only gives tips on how to perfect your resume and interview, but it also gives you a whole outline of how to form and market your own personal brand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Super helpful and affordable!

    There are so many books on resumes out there, but very few of them just get straight to the point. This author doesn't waste your time with useless information. If you want to read something that will give you tips that you can apply immediately this is the ebook for you. I just got Chapter 2, but I am actually considering just getting the full version and seeing what else I can learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    One of the better books I have read on this subject

    What I like about this book is that it covers every aspect about getting a job in a manner that is very direct and to the point. The approach is also unique because he uses tips from marketing to make his point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1