Customer Reviews for

The Secrets of Mary Bowser

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Secrets of Mary Bowser by Lois Leveen brilliantly brings att

    The Secrets of Mary Bowser by Lois Leveen brilliantly brings attention to an unknown but captivating true story of a courageous black woman who risked her life and freedom working as a spy in the Jefferson Davis household. Mary and her mother, Minerva, are household slaves in the wealthy household of Old Master Van Lew. Mary’s father, also a slave, is a skilled blacksmith who lives for the weekly Sunday visit from his daughter and “wife.” While the family dreams of freedom, in the meantime, they struggle to maintain their dignity and skillfully negotiate for Mary to learn to read and do her numbers. But when Mary is 12 years-old the unexpected happens – that is both a blessing and tragic to the family. Mary and Minerva are given their freedom, and according to Virginia law as freed blacks they have to leave the state of Virginia. Now it is not slavery that will separate the family, but freedom. After much consideration and the willing help of Bet, head-strong abolitionist daughter of Old Master, Minerva will remain in Richmond and her freedom papers will not be filed. Mary will go to Philadelphia to get her education. Mary adjusts to life in Philadelphia and matures into a race-conscious woman. Mary defies the law, returns to Richmond to care for her ailing father and continue her emancipation work.

    This is a masterfully, well-researched book that deftly explores the real and the imagined of familiar historical events acutely reminding us of the ordinary, often visible people who survive and grow despite the odds against them. In Mary, we have the authentic innocence of a narrator speaking in a calm and confident manner experiencing first-hand the privileges and harsh realities of freedom in the North – race, class, gender and religious discrimination, and the emotional cost of freedom. This book takes the refreshing perspective at looking at urban slavery – the co-existing of both enslaved (house slaves and skilled slaves) and free blacks in Richmond. While at times the pacing dragged or it felt like reading a research paper, the book never steers from showing how blacks (enslaved and freed) went about their everyday lives with much dignity and fought slavery in both little and big ways.

    I applaud Leveen for writing this untold story that has been erased from our collective memory. As the saying goes – the only thing new is the history yet to learn. I recommend this book to readers of historical fiction and stories of extraordinary women.

    This book was provided by the publisher for review purposes.

    Reviewed by Beverly
    APOOO Literary Review

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Highly recommended. Informative. Fascinating story.

    Having been born and raised in Richmond, VA in the '40s and '50s, I saw racism up close and personal. ( I am white.) I hated it and hated that my beautiful city had such an ugly facet. This book has shown me a part of Richmond's history of which I was totally unaware. I embrace the courage, tenacity, and spirit of Mary Bowser whose legacy I see (and rejoice in) in so many African-American women today. It is a fine book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    4-stars rating

    As an African American woman, each time I read slave narratives, or historical accounts of African Americans making a difference in history, my soul soars with pride, but never without excruciating pain.

    Mary Bowser was a real person. A woman who experienced a great deal of pain and degradation as an African American woman. Ironically, this very brave woman was able to glean facts and information to help others. How courageous of her!

    This book should be read by any student of history. Ms. Leveen's book highlights the bravery, the intelligence of an ordinary, but brave African American woman. Leveen depicts a woman making certain decisions that would help others during a painful time in this country. I applaud the author! Curious1MP

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Based on a True Story

    The Secrets of Mary Bowser by Lois Lev­een is a his­tor­i­cal fic­tion novel tak­ing place before and dur­ing the Amer­i­can Civil War. Very lit­tle is known about Mary Bowser, a free slave who went back into Vir­ginia to spy for the Union.

    Based on a true story, Mary has been a slave to the Van Lew fam­ily in Rich­mond, VA. Bet Van Lew, the daugh­ter and abo­li­tion­ist, frees Mary and sends her to school in Philadelphia.

    When a war seems immi­nent, Mary returns to Vir­ginia, defy­ing the law, to care for her ail­ing father. Pos­ing as a slave in the Con­fed­er­ate White House, Mary puts her pho­to­graphic mem­ory to good use.

    The Secrets of Mary Bowser by Lois Lev­een is an inter­est­ing book about an inter­est­ing time. There is very lit­tle known about Mary Bowser, a free slave who went back to spy for the Union at Jef­fer­son Davis’ house dur­ing the Civil War.

    Very lit­tle is known about Mary Bowser (even though her name as a spy was Ellen Bond, which didn’t make it into this book), so there are many lib­er­ties taken with the char­ac­ter. This could be good or bad and could eas­ily back­fire at the author, how­ever I think this time it worked and the author does a fine job not only with the char­ac­ter­i­za­tion, but also describ­ing the daily lives of free blacks dur­ing the era.

    The first half of the book takes place before the war starts, the sec­ond half, where Bowser goes to work for Varina Davis, wife of Con­fed­er­ate Pres­i­dent Jef­fer­son Davis, is fas­ci­nat­ing. The other his­tor­i­cal char­ac­ters in the book, such as Eliz­a­beth Van Lew, an ardent abo­li­tion­ist and Bowser’s for­mer owner who freed her, are also well writ­ten and interesting.

    Despite the era and mate­r­ial, I didn’t find the story too dark even though there are ele­ments of vio­lence. Ms. Lev­een wrote her main char­ac­ters as uplift­ing indi­vid­uals, liv­ing hard lives dur­ing hard times.

    It is dif­fi­cult to write his­tor­i­cal fic­tion nov­els, as there are many peo­ple (myself included) who will nit­pick to no end, how­ever, I do under­stand that his­tor­i­cal fic­tion is a sub­genre of fic­tion, not his­tory. I would cer­tainly sug­gest read­ing the excel­lent mate­r­ial in the back of the book where Ms. Lev­een makes clear what is his­tor­i­cally accu­rate, what is fic­tional and some more background

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Amy to all

    Daisy is locked out

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Whirlwind

    It wont help if you shoot it. Just back away from it and it wont be able to attack you.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Kirby

    Sits on the tip of a tall tree looking at everyone.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Pewdiepie

    Pewdiepie isn't Tobuscus...TobyGames is Tobuscus...

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Zelda

    Sits at the highest point of a tree

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Tails

    (Flies in) GUYS GUYS I NEED SPNIC HERE NOW!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    GLaDOS

    GLaDOS: I am a computer. My metal structure is hidden away and early indestructable. -The electronized female voice says- (To Tobuscus: Lol... but this is a video game rp. That doesn't rely count...)

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Luma

    Mornin!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Link

    Aims a arrow at one of sonics emralds

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    This woman is so involved that she practically won the Civil War

    This woman is so involved that she practically won the Civil War with her efforts. I found the book to be mildly entertaining, but much too much was surmised about Mary's life. I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2