Customer Reviews for

The Secrets of Mia Danvers: A Dangerous Liaisons Novel (InterMix)

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reading this book made me realize how hard it must be to be an a

    Reading this book made me realize how hard it must be to be an author of historical fiction. Hard because the author must balance making a story that is interesting and relatable to a modern audience and also at least has a semblance of being of a historical period. Robyn DeHart has done a magnificent job with that balance in her The Secrets of Mia Danvers. This book promises an exciting and enjoyable series.

    Of course there is the love interest between Mia Danvers and the Duke of Carrington (aka Alex). But there are also side stores that allude to future books. Personally, the Jack the Ripper story is the most interesting of the side stories. DeHart keeps you guessing throughout and she maintains the integrity of the main female character.

    Mia is no shrieking heroine which was the case of many historical novels even 20 years ago. Neither is she a supercilious and willfully spiteful heroine that I've run into in more recent historical novels. Alex is the quintessential upright Englishman, but lacking in the priggishness. Therefore both are delightful characters woven in an equally delightful story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So this is the first book in Robyn┬┐s new series Dangerous Liaiso

    So this is the first book in Robyn’s new series Dangerous Liaison! I’m telling you, I’m loving it so much that I’m going to email her about how great it is!

    This is a mystery romance thriller-ish book base on the ever terrifying unsolved cases of the Jack the Ripper trope.

    We have the hero, Alex Foster, Eighth Duke of Carrington who lives by the rules of society. An former army man and now the new Duke after his elder brother’s unfortunate and scandalous death, Alex is determined to not bring any scandal onto their name like many relatives before him. But that is quite difficult when you have a brother who’s always drunk, angry, rake-ish and trying hard to break away from the family. Preparing to propose to a lady, whom was promised and trained to be the Duchess to the next Duke of Carrington, Alex’s well ordered world came to a halt when the mad (and pretty) girl who lives on the edge of his property came knocking on his door.

    The heroine, Mia Danvers, third and youngest daughter of a Viscount, and blind lives quietly and peacefully at the edge of Danbridge Hall. With her governess turned companion, Rachel, she lives quiet happily sculpting sculptures and not having to live by the rules and proprieties called by the society. That is until one night she encountered a gruesome murder and became a witness and target of Jack the Ripper. Not knowing who to turn to she asks the help of the Duke of Carrington to help her find the killer, as she is the only one to bring him to justice.

    This story caught my attention right away from the first page. The prologue introduced you to Mia being escorted to the cabin in which she’ll in in for the Rest of her life in by her self. At this point we got to see how she was treated by her mother and got to see her mother’s character and got to also feel the impact of Mia’s situation. We also learned how caring and loving her governess, Rachel is in disregarding Mia’s mother’s order to leave Mia alone in the cabin. How can any mother do that! But thankfully Rachel stood her ground and protected Mia from a harsh world.

    As the first chapter came along I was thrown into a world of murder and mystery. I was super excited and in thrall at starting the book with a murder! I couldn’t get enough of it. From her we got to see hear what Mia witnessed and I sure was loving it. All the mystery of it all and not seeing who the killer is. It was fabulous!

    Meeting Alex was fabulous too. He’s not really an Alpha male in my eyes, or at least how I saw him, but he is kind, caring, rational, agreeable, stubborn, and very protective. We got to see how he changed throughout the story and how he started to see and feel things differently after meeting and getting to know Mia and how she lived being blind but perfectly mobile and independent. He also started seeing how society was at the fault of things by making rules and judgments. He also likes the ideas and opinions of others in conversations. Love~ :D

    This is a line that I found fascinating (as in very agreeable) from Alex:

    A path wound through the gardens, then darkened, allowing some reckless couples privacy for trysts. It was amusing to him that a society who claimed to truly be scandalized by people’s behavior seemed to do everything they could to create perfect scenarios for said behavior. And then the rest of them would stand around and discuss the carnage.
    (Kindle Locations 2319-2322)

    Mia is loveable. She’s caring, smart, independent, strong, opinionated, headstrong, stubborn, and determined. She has long ago thrown away proprieties. She’s not afraid to speak her mind and say what she know is right. She’s also not afraid to ask for what she wants and hold back, especially when it came to her attraction and feeling towards Alex. She was also very independent and didn’t like being pitied just because she was blind. I love her strength and power and how she held herself against those who thought little of her, and that says a lot about her character and personality.

    The things that kind of bothered me was how openly they used each others’ Christian names. I found it really surprising that no one thought it strange or weird and most definitely inappropriate of them to call on each other like that. I especially thought that Alex’s mother would have said something or vexed at them but yet she said nothing of it. She hated Mia and still she said nothing! That bothered me.

    Another problem was Alex and his brother, Drew’s relationship. There are so many misunderstanding that stood between them that I just couldn’t help but heave huge sighs and bulge my eyes out every time they talked and said nothing of what they thought. I felt like if some of the things were said their problems would have been solved much quicker. It would have changed to story a bit but still, I frowned and clench my teeth so much that I’m afraid one day they will all crack under the pressure.

    But the story over all was fantastic! The plot and everything. The sisters were well written and their relationship with Mia was well executed. The relationship between Alex, Drew and their mother was also well formed and you can really feel the tension and unsteadiness of it. I love the back story of why Drew acts the way he does. So many secrets and surprises there. The relationship between Mia and Alex was lovely. I love the tension there and how Alex tries to play the right cards but always find an secret way through it. The secondary love story was fabulous! I was glad to get a short story in-between the larger one so that I won’t have to wait for a novella and it really helped the whole story wrap up at the end.

    I definitely love the way Robyn pulled at my senses and brought on a whole bunch of tension to the story and mystery of who Jack the Ripper is and how they’re going to find him and what not. I find it fascinating that Robyn can play with it to make it seem real. But it brings up my question of: did she do research, by covering her eyes herself to see how it felt like? She sure did a great job at it though.

    This was a fabulous and very engaging story. I highly enjoyed it very much. It has a lot of action, mystery, sexual and thriller tension, love, forgiveness, and second chances.

    I can not tell you how excited I am for the next book in the series, The Temptations of Anna Jacobs, starring Drew Foster!!!

    Bought Kindle copy of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    A unique blend of mystery and romance

    I love books and movies that explore the gory and the sinister underbelly of England. Jack the Ripper is on the rise again and has been killing again - this time, serving girls or working girls instead of prostitutes. He has also moved his area and has left Whitechapel. The story starts as blind Mia Danvers is on her way home and witnesses a crime by the Ripper. Because she can't see, her other senses are heightened and she is able to hear, and smell the crime. She runs to the estate of Alex Foster, the Eighth Duke of Carrington and informs him of what she has witnessed. Because Alex had been told that Mia, who has been living in a cottage at the edge of his estate unseen for almost 10 years, is crazy, he does not believe her. That is, until his footmen discover the body of his maid, who was apparently killed Jack the Ripper style, near the alley by his property. He starts questioning Mia again and becomes intrigued by this seemingly intelligent, and strong woman who was forgotten by everyone.

    I absolutely love this story! It is heart wrenching and heart warming at the same time, with me falling in love with Alex and rooting for the very strong Mia Danvers to get her HEA. I even cried at certain parts of the story!

    Mia, is a very strong, independent woman and has relied on herself for years with the help of Rachel her governess who had decided to stay with her when her mother left her at sixteen. Because of Mia's blindness, all of London believes that she died in the accident a year before she turned sixteen. I loved how the author created this headstrong character and I immediately loved Mia from the start. Plus, I loved that she is a sculptor!

    Alex was also the perfect match for Mia. Because he wasn't the heir apparent, he had served in the war and I felt he did not put on a lot of airs. Once his brother died and he took over the Dukedom, he wanted no scandal to touch his family again and is trying to right the wrongs that was done by his older brother. I also loved that he was very involved in solving the crime and had decided that it was his responsibility to see the Ripper caught since one of his servants was the victim.

    I absolutely loved the sparks that flew between Alex and Mia. Their verbal sparring was very well written and I felt that it was appropriate in the development of their whole romance and not just added just because.

    Another thing that I loved is that she added a suspect that was near to Alex and Mia, Alex's younger brother Drew (who is his half brother and Mia's half brother as well). In fact, I actually thought that for a second that he would be the Ripper even though we all know that the Ripper has never been caught. However, I became interested in Drew's character as the story and the crime started to unfold and hoped that he would have his own HEA.

    I will definitely read more books in this series and I recommend it to those who love a good mystery! I am also looking forward to the next book in the series, Temptations of Anna Jacobs which features Drew and Anna, the sister of the Scotland Yard inspector assigned to the Ripper murders. I am also hoping that Rachel would have her own HEA since it is already hinted in this book that she might have her own story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is not the first book I have read by Robyn DeHart and it de

    This is not the first book I have read by Robyn DeHart and it definitely will not be the last!! This is the first book in her new series and what a great way to start. Mia and Alex's love is such a wonderful ride. Mia is blind, I have a blind sister and I was really impressed by how well she wrote from Mia's point of view :D I plan on recommending this book to many people. I can't wait until the next book in this series comes out. Robyn is a wonderful writer, the story was very well developed and the characters were very believable. I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE SECRETS OF MIA DANVERS by Robyn DeHart is an exciting Regenc

    THE SECRETS OF MIA DANVERS by Robyn DeHart is an exciting Regency Historical Romance set in 1889 London. The first in a new and exciting series, "A Dangerous Liaison"novel. Mia Danvers meet Jack the Ripper and survived! While, Mia is blind her other senses are not,she hears,Jack the Ripper killing one of his victims and reports the event to Alex Foster, Eighth Duke of Carrington,the owner of the estate she has been secluded on for the past nine years by her family after a tragic accident left her blind. Filled with suspense,danger,mystery,secrets,and passion. Fast paced and action filled,you will not want to miss a moment of "The Secrets of Mia Danvers". This author's autistic voice and with Jack the Ripper on the lose and after Mia, his first ever witness, makes for some exciting,hair raising reading. Does leave you to wonder,the question as to who the Ripper is and a few other unanswered questions. But the plot will have you wondering who he really is and why he chose to cut his victims as well as why servants, except for one aristocratic Lady. The characters are engaging as well as realistic,the depth of Mia's blindness,her seclusion,and her heightened other senses are explored. I am eager for the next installment in this exciting series. Ms. DeHart has written another winner with her intriguing plot,her vivid details,and her multifaceted characters. Oh, did I forget to mention the passion and the love aspect,well let me tell you that is not missing either. Loved it! A must read and highly recommended for not only historical readers,or romance readers but for suspense readers and mystery readers as well. Received f or an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: MILD
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR,Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    I couldn't wait to get to the next page...the story is sharp, th

    I couldn't wait to get to the next page...the story is sharp, the characters are well developed. The heroine, Mia, is an amazingly strong woman, and Alex is everything a girl could ask for in a man.
    I don't want to spoil the story for anyone, but I'm sitting here after reading it and going crazy that I have to wait till November for the next chapter...but am so looking forward to it. Robyn has proven herself a true storyteller. I hope everyone reads this book so that we can all be anxiously awaiting the next part of the story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    This is the first book in the Dangerous Liaisons series by Ms. D

    This is the first book in the Dangerous Liaisons series by Ms. DeHart, but I now intend to read every single one that comes after in this series…it was that good!  First, I love historical romance, and second, I love the addition of mystery or intrigue into the story.  The legend/riddle of the old serial killer, Jack the Ripper, was never solved, although theories abound as to what happened to him.  Ms. DeHart has added more mystery to the mix with this series.  I loved this story about Mia, the blind witness to one of the Ripper’s murders, and Alex, the duke whose property Mia was given free quarters on for her life span due to Alex’s father’s promise to Mia’s mother in his will.  The love that blossomed between them during Alex’s protection of Mia while hunting for the Ripper was sensuous and heart warming.  I recommend this first book in the series highly. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    I was hooked from the beginning. Mia Danvers was blinded in an

    I was hooked from the beginning. Mia Danvers was blinded in an accident at the age of 16. After her father dies her mother and sisters hide her away in a cottage with her governess Rachel. One night Mia is a witness to a murder, using all of her available senses to remember the horrible crime, she rushes to the home of Alex, the Eighth Duke of Carrington. Alex having been told lies about Mia doesn’t believe her story until one his maids is found dead. Intrigued by this determined woman, Alex and Mia begin working together and in the process fall for each other. A very entertaining and exciting mystery, I love it and the aspect that Mia is blind adds a different twist on the story. Looking forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    I've never read DeHart before and it irks me to great extent tha

    I've never read DeHart before and it irks me to great extent that I had this story in my TBR for as long as I did before buckling down to read it. The first in the Dangerous Liaisons Series, I couldn't have asked for either a better introduction to both the author and the series. I even cheated a little by not reading this too fast because I just knew that I didn't want it to end, but also it had to and it did. 

    Sometimes when a story suggests that someone's lost their sight, most of the time they don't mean that the person is completely blind and instead suffers from vision loss and can still see shapes, colors and light. Well, Mia Danvers is completely blind, no shapes, no colors, nothing after a very unfortunate horse riding accident when she was 15. At the advent of her 16th birthday, her mother and two sisters take Mia to the Carrington estate and literally drop her off in a cottage on the edge of the property to manage on her own. I couldn't have been more shocked about that. Just when I thought that was bad, it got worse. Hold on to that thought, I'll get to that in a few. Thank goodness Mia's former nanny and now only companion, Rachel, stays with her in an effort to have not Mia completely alone - with no one and no money. 

    The Eight Duke of Carrington, Alex Foster, is new in his role. He's taking over both the title and the responsibilities from his older brother whose misdeeds lead to his accidental death - oh the tragedy of it all. But the good news is that Alex is also former military leader who's penchant for order is perfect for his role as the Duke. As the middle son, he never thought that the title would be his nor did he ever dream that part of his future would include a hand selected bride. Part of his duties is making sure that everyone in his household and on the grounds are taken care of. Nine years after living on the Carrington estates, while walking home from town one day, Mia is a witness to the murder of one of his household staff. Lucky for her that Alex's protective instincts shift into high gear. 

    After convincing Alex that she's not insane, as he had been led to believe, Mia's able to convince him that yes, she can identify the killer. Not by what he looks like but by the scent of his clothing, the cadence of his voice, the smell of the tobacco that he smells, and a plethora of other little things that a sighted person would not pick up on in such in quick manner. Even I needed some convincing but by the time Mia was through proving herself to Alex, I was telling Alex she knows what she's talking about. Now this story starts in 1880 and the murders happen in Whitechapel. If you remember your history you can guess who the murderer might be. This is one of the best villains I've read in any genre of romance in a long while. DeHart does write from the murderer's point of view and gives us a small glimpse into crazy (because he is) and I absolutely adored it because she pulled no punches and everyone was up for fair grabs. Nice!

    I loved Mia and Alex. They were a well suited pair. Mia is as independent as she can get considering the time she lived in. She was able to move about without aid and had very little, if any, fear in trying something new. Had Mia lived in the elite society instead of her little cottage, I don't see how she would have flourished as she did with Rachel's help. The dictates of that society would have stifled her ability to grow and try something new. Rachel was a true blessing in her life and I wish we knew even more about her. She and Rachel grew from their start as nanny and companion to a lovely settled relationship where they were true friends. But I digress. 

    Mia's attraction for Alex was such a refreshing change because none of it was based on looks. She was attracted because of the way that he took ownership and made her feel safe. As she depends on her other senses, she paid attention to the way he spoke, the way he touched her - all those little things that get lost in the visual. I saw her falling for Alex and it was a nice build and not in any way rushed. 

    LIkewise, Alex's attraction to Mia wasn't based on the way that she looked either. She's too thin, too tall, and she's not had a new dress in years. But her determination to take care of herself and her inability to not let him get away with talking down to her were all things that made her appealing. She was pleasantly spunky to both his frowns and his bad attitude. 

    There are so many wonderful secondary characters, including her selfish family who told everyone that she'd died, I want to tell you about, I want to tell you about, instead I'm just going to tell you that you should put this review down and go get a copy of the story. You're going to like it. 

    Happy reading folks!

    Rating:  A

    *ARC provided by publisher (InterMix) via NetGalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    This was a great book. I think Mia is a wonderful character tha

    This was a great book. I think Mia is a wonderful character that even with her disability didn't let it stop her from doing the right thing. Using her other senses and Alex as her mouth piece the story came together in a wonderful way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it! What an amazing twist on the "Jack the Ripper&q

    I loved it! What an amazing twist on the "Jack the Ripper" story line. Mia Danvers is a blind woman who has been on her own since she was very young. Alex Foster is the Duke of Carrington whose family responsibilities are tremendous. And then there's Jack, who inadvertently brings these two people together with mysterious plot twists and turns. This is the first book in the "A Dangerous Liaisons" series and it was AMAZING! I absolutely love Robyn DeHart's style of writing and I can't wait to read her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Jack the Ripper was the name that was given to an unidentified s

    Jack the Ripper was the name that was given to an unidentified serial killer in 1800's London. He typically murdered female prostitutes, mutilating them after slitting their throats and removed some of their internal organs. This case, has been widely discussed, researched, and even been highly subjected to speculation; from some people thinking that the killer was a doctor to the possibility of other worldly influences. As you can tell, the killer was never caught. However, this case has inspired several works of Fiction; such as Robyn DeHart's novel The Secrets of Mia Danvers.

    The Jack the Ripper case has always fascinated me and, after reading this book, I am even more intrigued. I felt like I was transported back to that time and place. It kept me so intrigued that I forgot some of my other responsibilities just so I could keep reading until the end. Who knew a historical romance, with a main character who is blind, could be so hot!? As most of you know, I've never been a fan of historical romances, but Robyn DeHart has changed my mind in the past, and she has done it again with this book.

    One thing that is really hard to accomplish is having description when your main character is blind. But, this author did it expertly. I absolutely fell in love with the characters. Alex was not only swoon-worthy and romantic, but he was a bit of a rebel as well. He was so sexy that it was kind of inappropriate for the time period. He was gorgeous AND sweet.

    Even though it didn't end the way I was expecting, this book was expertly written and had me entranced through every page; I could not stop reading! It was so well written that I was sad when it ended, but I can not wait for the sequel. I hope and pray to Mother Nature that there will be a sequel... The author informed me that it comes out in November, so we're safe.

    Pick up your copy today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    I loved this story, this is a historical romance/suspense/myster

    I loved this story, this is a historical romance/suspense/mystery. I haven't read too many books where one of the main characters is blind, especially set back in 1800s, very interesting. Loved Mia and Alex and the secondary characters (I don't want to give anything away). You grow to love the people and want HEA for all! Well except Jack. This has something for everyone, can't wait to see what happens in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1