Customer Reviews for

Seduction: A Novel of Suspense

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The most stunning novel I've read this year is SEDUCTION by M.J.

    The most stunning novel I've read this year is SEDUCTION by M.J. Rose. I've not read tons of historic fiction, but it is a genre I am finding I very much enjoy. I've found many of the historical books have a contemporary feel to them. This is not the case with SEDUCTION, I immediately felt transported back in time. Rose's writing style was haunting, aged and authentic.




    SEDUCTION moves back and forth between Victor Hugo's story taking place in the 1840's and present day. While reading Hugo's story I was mesmerized and I wasn't pleased when I would begin the next chapter where I was back in the present with Jac. Here's the thing, I wasn't pleased when I left Jac's story back to Hugo either. I found myself completely engrossed in each of their stories never wanting to deviate being equally fascinated by both stories as I was trying to figure out the connection. 




    This was my first book by M.J. Rose I've read and I am now a fan! I was incredibly taken in by SEDUCTION, a suspenseful fictional account of Victor Hugo using an outline of his real life. He is living in Jersey in political exile from Paris. His eldest daughter drowns. In an effort to know she is alright Hugo enters the word of séances evoking a sinister entity. 




    The present day story is about Jac L'Etoile, a mythologist who is suffering from a great loss and looking for an escape. Jac receives a request to help her old friend, Theo. Her adventure takes her to Jersey, for the first time...or is it? She is hoping to discover the island's Celtic history, but while there she and Theo begin searching for the lost journals of Hugo and suddenly everything begins to intersect. 




    SEDUCTION had me totally engrossed, it's beautifully written and made my heart race making it difficult to put down. I am in awe of how talented M.J. Rose is as a writer, her writing is brilliant! I could gush and gush about this novel! Once you think you know what's going on you will soon realize you don't! Phenomenal! A suspense filled novel from beginning to end! I am highly recommending this!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book Info: Genre: Paranormal Reading Level: Adult Recommended fo

    Book Info: Genre: Paranormal
    Reading Level: Adult
    Recommended for: People who like a reading experience that is sensual, with beautiful language, paranormal, romantic fiction,
     those interested in past lives and reincarnation
    Book Available: May 7, 2013 in hardcover, Kindle and Audiobook formats
    Trigger Warnings: attempted murder, human sacrifice

    My Thoughts: From the first line, “Every story begins with a tremble of anticipation,” I knew I was going to love this book just as much as
    I've loved this whole series. I picked up the first three books in the series three years ago after reading and loving the Butterfield Institute
    books (which are not related to this series, but which I also loved), and really enjoyed them, so I was so excited last year to be able to
    read an ARC of The Book of Lost Fragrances from NetGalley, and even more excited earlier this year to learn M.J. Rose was forming a
    “street team” of fans to spread the word about her remarkable stories.

     “Now wait a minute, Katy,” some of you are saying. “These sound a lot like paranormal romance to me, which I know for a fact you hate!”
    Well, yes and no. There are definitely elements of romance in these books, but it is subsumed to the story itself. There's an underlying
    and long story arc through these books about various people searching for meaning in their lives by seeking out information about their
    past lives. There are elements of erotica, however understated, in the Butterfield Institute books, but the Reincarnationist series … it's
    very difficult to place them into a specific genre. But the stories all deal with finding information about past lives, and how current lives
    intertwine with past lives, and how unfinished business from past lives can affect one's current lives, so there is a lot of metaphysics
    and a lot of the supernatural. It's really quite fascinating.

    While the first three books in the series are only loosely connected, although containing the overstory, Seduction is a direct sequel to,
    and continues part of the story from, The Book of Lost Fragrances . While you could read these two books without having read the first
    part of the series, I strongly recommend that you read the entire Reincarnationist series from the start or you might end up with a
    misapprehension concerning Malachi.

    The language in M.J. Rose's book is lovely, lyrical, sensual. It's like rubbing a soft piece of velvet against your skin, or petting the soft
    nose of a young foal. It's something to revel in and enjoy. This particular book delves into mythology, the Celts, Victor Hugo, reincarnation,
    past-life regression and many other fascinating ideas and thoughts. Character development for Jac and Malachi is mostly done in
    previous books, but the new characters we meet are as well-developed as I would expect from M.J. Rose. The only issue I had was with
    the language used by Victor Hugo and his associates; I do not think they would use “got” and “get” the way we do in modern days. I think
    their language would be more precise and grammatically correct. But that was a very minor issue.

    This book—this whole series—will appeal to people who are interested in reincarnation and past lives, who enjoy a well-told story with
    beautiful language, who enjoy a reading experience that is sensual and lovely. Genre-wise, I think fans of literary fiction, paranormal
    suspense, and romantic fiction will all enjoy these stories. Definitely check them out. I know I've loved the lot of them.

    Series Information: Seduction is the fifth book in the Reincarnationist series.
    Book 1: The Reincarnationist ; I read in 2010 or 2011, but didn't review. 5 stars
    Book 2: The Memorist ; I read in 2010, or 2011, but didn't review. 5 stars
    Book 3: The Hypnotist ; I listened to audiobook in 2010 or 2011, but didn't review. 5 stars
    Book 4: The Book of Lost Fragrances ; read and reviewed March 2012. Review linked here where formatting allowed.
    If you like this author's style, you can also check out The Butterfield Institute series.
    Prequel: Lip Service ; I read in 2010 or 2011, but didn't review. 5 stars
    Book 1: The Halo Effect ; I read in 2010 or 2011, but didn't review. 5 stars
    Book 2: The Delilah Complex ; I read in 2010 or 2011, but didn't review. 5 stars
    Book 3: The Venus Fix ; I read in 2010 or 2011, but didn't review. 5 stars

    Disclosure:  I received this e-galley from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

    Synopsis: In 1843, novelist Victor Hugo’s beloved nineteen-year-old daughter drowned. Ten years later, Hugo began participating in
    hundreds of séances to reestablish contact with her. In the process, he claimed to have communed with the likes of Plato, Galileo,
    Shakespeare, Dante, Jesus—and even the Devil himself. Hugo’s transcriptions of these conversations have all been published. Or so
    it was believed.

    Recovering from her own losses, mythologist Jac L’Etoile arrives on the Isle of Jersey—where Hugo conducted the séances—hoping
    to uncover a secret about the island’s Celtic roots. But the man who’s invited her there, a troubled soul named Theo Gaspard, has
     hopes she’ll help him discover something quite different—Hugo’s lost conversations with someone called the Shadow of the
    Sepulcher.

    What follows is an intricately plotted and atmospheric tale of suspense with a spellbinding ghost story at its heart, by one of America’s
    most gifted and imaginative novelists.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    M.J. Rose¿s Seduction was so incredibly written that it kept me

    M.J. Rose’s Seduction was so incredibly written that it kept me under its spell the entire time.  Rose's writing is beautiful, like poetry, and incredibly evocative.  Now when it comes down to trying to summarize the plot, I find it rather difficult to explain without losing so much of its essence.  

    There are really three different plots unfolding throughout the book, but they are intricately interwoven. The first story line (chronologically-speaking, anyway) takes place in Celtic Britain on the eve of Roman invasion.  Owain, a Druid priest living on what would later be called the island of Jersey, faces the ultimate test of his faith, one that will have repercussions well beyond his own lifetime.

    The second story line features famous author Victor Hugo, who lived on the island of Jersey in the 1850s and faced a spiritual and psychological battle on his own after the death of his beloved daughter.  He left behind a record of that struggle, and over one hundred and fifty years later, Jac and Theo try to find it and make sense of it.

    Jac L’Etoile, who was featured in The Book of Lost Fragrances (which I have not read but definitely plan to) is at the heart of the third story line, and she is the tie that binds all of the stories together.  Having experienced a troubled childhood, Jac always suffered from strange hallucinations.  As a teen she was sent to a special treatment center where the staff practiced somewhat unorthodox treatment methods.  Her therapist Malachai became a life-long mentor.  He was a staunch believer in reincarnation, but Jac was never convinced that her hallucinations were the result of past-life flash-backs.  She did, however, become fascinated by mythology, and as an adult, she built her career on it.  She wrote a book and hosted a TV show where she tracked down the origins of myths.  This myth-seeking leads her to the island of Jersey, which is deeply steeped in Celtic mythology, after receiving an invitation from Theo Gaspard, a friend from her days at the treatment.  Will Jac lose herself in the memories of the past, or will she be able to harness her special gift and move forward in the present?

    Confused yet?  I promise it will all make sense when you read the book.  Many questions are raised here about memories, the ripple effect caused by one single event, past lives, and what makes us who we are.  
      

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through F

    I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through First Reads.

    I have enjoyed M.J. Rose's Reincarnationist Series from the beginning.  The common thread through the series has been Malachai Samuels, of the Phoenix Foundation, a society dedicated to the study of past life experiences and reincarnation.  Malachai was more heavily involved in the first three books, which all had different main characters.  Book 4, The Book of Lost Fragrances, introduced Jac L'Etoile, a former patient of Malachai Samuels who was being plagued again in her adult life by what she believed were hallucinations.  Malachai was more loosely involved in Book 4.  Book 5, Seduction is also centered around Jac L'Etoile.  Seduction is probably third place for me in the series.

    Part ghost story, and part reincarnationist theory, Rose’s writing does not disappoint.  She has a style of writing that keeps you turning pages.  Her imagery is vivid, you can see the places and people she describes, feel as if you have been there.  And, she has to be one of the only writers I know who can create a main character I actually dislike, and still keep turning pages and wanting to know what’s coming next.  I do not like Jac.  I think she is stuffy, self-absorbed, and I cannot for the life of me picture her as pretty or attractive.  But – the story itself is so good, and the writing so vivid this still gets 4 stars.    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Seduc­tion by M.J. Rose is another novel in the Rein­car­na­tion

    Seduc­tion by M.J. Rose is another novel in the Rein­car­na­tion­ist series. This is the fifth book in the series and deals with past lives as do the other books.

    Vic­tor Hugo, famous French nov­el­ist, has lost his 19 year-old daugh­ter to the sea. In a self imposed exile on the Isle of Jer­sey, the griev­ing father has started to par­tic­i­pate in hun­dreds of séances try­ing to con­tact his lov­ing daugh­ter. In the process Hugo claimed to have talked with such lumi­nar­ies as Plato, Galileo, Shake­speare, Dante, Jesus and even Lucifer.

    Jac L’Etoile who seems to have no rest from life’s dra­mas arrives on the Isle of Jer­sey hop­ing to inves­ti­gate the island’s Celtic roots. Jac’s friend, another trou­bled soul by the name of Theo Gas­pard, hopes she’ll him dis­cover Hugo’s lost con­ver­sa­tions with the “Shadow of the Sepulcher”.

    Seduc­tion by M.J. Rose is a detailed and some­what haunt­ing novel. This Gothic tales touches on rein­car­na­tion (as do the other books in the series), love and loss, pain and fam­ily secrets.

    Half the book takes place in present time, the other half in the past in which author Vic­tor Hugo is a major part of. While I do enjoy Ms. Rose’s work and writ­ing style, the fact that Hugo was in the book was a major draw for me.

    While there is some romance in the book, as well as a few para­nor­mal ele­ments (not the nor­mal genre I read) they are sub-stories to the main nar­ra­tive. As the other books in the series, this one also deals with find­ing about past lives and how they affect indi­vid­u­als to this day.

    While the book can be read as a stand­alone book, I felt that it was more of a direct sequel to the pre­vi­ous one, The Book of Lost Fra­grances. The char­ac­ters in the series grow with each book and I believe that the reader will enjoy Seduc­tion much more if he/she read the pre­vi­ous novel.

    The nar­ra­tive will appeal to those who liked the pre­vi­ous book, I have very lit­tle inter­est in the para­nor­mal and/or incar­na­tion but I do enjoy a good story. The book is well writ­ten and Ms. Rose keeps devel­op­ing the char­ac­ters in each novel. At the end of the book the author pro­vides a very infor­ma­tive chap­ter about Hugo, his exper­i­ments with the para­nor­mal and what is his­tory and what is fic­tion in the narrative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Historical fiction is ¿my thing¿, and I have been a huge fan of

    Historical fiction is “my thing”, and I have been a huge fan of M.J. Rose since I first read her book “The Reincarnationist”. I am also a fan of books that deal with the paranormal, time travel, memory travel, ESP etc. No one does this particular genre better than M.J. Rose.

    I was thrilled to read her latest book, Seduction”. It did not fail to delight me, and as usual when I read her books, I could not put it down. Last year when I read “ The Book of Lost Fragrances” I did not think that M.J. Rose’s writing could get any better, but she has proven that she has with this, her latest book.

    Jac L’Etoile is the main character in this book. She is a mythologist, and she is skeptic who tries to stay grounded in the world of science and reality. Her character will utterly captivate you! Jac has ‘gifts’; she has visions that are often precipitated by scent, visions that speak of memories, and ESP . As a skeptic, Jac has struggled to live with her gifts and she tries to deny her talents, and does not want to acknowledge them. Her family was well know perfumers in times past and scent is the main sensory tool for Jac (more on that in “Fragrances”). You might consider reading “The Book Of Lost Fragrances”. Reading ‘Fragrances’ might help you to ‘flesh out’ Jac’s character which in turn might make reading “Seduction” even more enjoyable for you. That being said these are truly stand-alone books as well and you will enjoy reading them in what ever sequence you choose.

    The plot of “Seduction” moves between the present (on Jersey, the largest of the Channel Islands) and the 1840’s during the life of Victor Hugo. Hugo has moved from Paris to Jersey after the death of his beloved daughter, Leopoldine. She had drowned in the Seine River when she was 19. Unable to recover or find any consolation Hugo is introduced to the world of mediums and séances. He spends many years trying to contact Leopoldine through the use of séances, mediums and trances; with Hugo carefully transcribing his ‘conversations’ with the in a series of long lost journals. One of Hugo’s communicants is, perhaps, the most troubling, as well as the darkest. An evil entity who calls himself the “Shadow of The Sepulcher”. He fears he may have gone too far and eschews the mystic world for a time.

    Jac, who in the present, is struggling to deal with some of her own personal demons is invited to Jersey by her one time love Theo Gaspard who asks for her assistance as he investigates Jersey’s long lost secrets of an ancient Celtic culture. Additionally, Theo’s grandfather believed that Hugo had been entangled with the dark spirit of the Shadow of the Sepulcher (aka the devil?). Theo knows of some neolithic monuments and some hidden water side caves that he believes are important to his research about the Celtic societies and his grandfather’s belief in the dark evil of the ‘the shadow” that, he feels, may have somehow cast a long tinge of shadow over the spirit of islands.

    I think that it is difficult to blend two, nearly separate, stories, as well as expertly blend fact and fiction, and yet Ms. Rose manages it with great aplomb. There were just a few moments in the book when I felt that the stories were a bit too separate, but in mere sentences I felt the continuity once again. Rose has such a talent for superlative story telling! I love how historical facts are expertly interwoven with her fiction. You have to go and review the real history behind her work to understand how factual some of her work really is !

    I look forward to each of her books with great anticipation, and her writing seems to just keep on getting better! Her characters are well developed and captivating, her plots are well constructed and beautifully connected. Yes, I really AM a fan and I do believe that this book will appeal to readers who love great fiction in general, historical fiction, paranormal fiction, time travel, and romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    I am a fan of M.J. Rose's books and this one did not disappoint

    I am a fan of M.J. Rose's books and this one did not disappoint me in one bit. The suspense had me with my nose in the book until the wee hours of the morning and only then did I stop because I had to sleep. This book is full of suspense and intrigue.




    I like how M.J. takes a historic novelist and weaves a spellbinding story of his life. Can you imagine what it was like for him to lose his daughter due to drowning, he must have been devistated and then he start taking part in seances and claims he is having conversations with many people of the past including the Devil.  One thing I enjoyed about this book is how it is told from three different views in three different time period. You have Victor in the 1800s, the Druids, and Theo in modern day.    




    Seduction will take you on twists and turns and is not for the light hearted.  Another thing I liked was the weaving in of history along with the mystery. I have to say there is some sex in this book, as well as ghost stories and mystical things so this book is not for everyone.  All in all I enjoyed this book and will continue to read more books by this author. 




    I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There are a handful of authors who create a sort of dichotomy i


    There are a handful of authors who create a sort of dichotomy in me when it comes to their books, meaning I don’t care so much for some and can’t stay away from others. M.J. Rose is one of those authors in that I don’t really get pulled in by her Butterfield Institute series or her other novels—just not my cuppa—but I’d walk miles to get the latest in the Reincarnation series. The quality of writing is top-notch no matter what the book is but there’s just something about the latter that takes it all to a new level.

    For the initiate, it’s not really accurate to refer to the Reincarnation books as a series because the first three are standalones while Seduction is a sequel to the fourth book, The Book of Lost Fragrances; the reader just starting could read the first four in any order but should read The Book of Lost Fragrances before Seduction. All five share the common theme of reincarnation and, of course, all are a blend of past and present.

    Victor Hugo, author of Les Miserables and numerous other works, would appear to be the most unlikely of candidates for belief in spiritualism but, in fact, he did engage in it, including many seances in an effort to reach the spirit of his beloved daughter. Part of Hugo’s political exile was spent on the Isle of Jersey and this is where he began his participation in the world of spiritualism. It is here that mythologist Jac L’Etoile finds herself experiencing a life that is far different from her own and, in so doing, we learn much about this man that makes him real, someone with hopes and tribulations we don’t normally consider with those historical figures who have become larger than life.

    Jac has a sensitivity to smell and Ms. Rose evokes those aromas that surround Jac with a sense of being there that made me occasionally believe I was detecting these scents myself. That’s just one of the ways this author brings her characters to life and, whether they’re villains, heroines or just normal people, you don’t forget them. I can’t ask anything more of an author when it comes to character development. Ms. Rose is not too shabby with plotting either and I simply love the deft way she mixes history with romance and intrigue, keeping the reader entertained and never overwhelmed by all the twists and turns. Seduction is a story you won’t want to miss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    The writing in this book was like a delectable treat, each page

    The writing in this book was like a delectable treat, each page a different layer of expertise waiting to lifted from the page. Rose does have a way with words. Nothing overly pretentious or any attempts at pseudo intellectual space filling drivel. Instead it was a steady stream of confident and beautiful prose.
    The author mixes the boundaries of fact and fiction. Intermingling the life of Victor Hugo with the fictitious plot.
    The fact that the main character Jac relives the past lives of others, as opposed to her own, isn't reincarnation as one knows it per se. It wasn't delved into enough and left me with unanswered questions. Why does she see the trodden path of others? How is she linking into that memory? I wonder where the author is going to take that particular gift or experience in possible future books.
    There are two storylines, the Gaspard's grandfather and his obsession with the occult and finding V.Hugo's written account of what he discovered during his stay in Jersey. At times I felt that was a little ambititious with one story vying for more attention than the other. It made some of the scenarios seem a little out of sync with the rest of the book..
    In the end I think the title of this book gives an indication of the real meaning and message in this book. Seduced by the devil? The devil within or just the subconscious desires that rear their heads. The forbidden desires that need to be silenced by others and those that have them by hiding behind a mysticism that can neither be proven or disproved.
    I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    I loved this book! I thought it was one of her best books if not

    I loved this book! I thought it was one of her best books if not the best so far.!!   The very idea of past lives is very interesting 
    and she makes you really think about it and the believe it's possible. I'm definitely reading this again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    A delightful weekend read. Beautifully written, with gripping c

    A delightful weekend read. Beautifully written, with gripping characters. An utterly enchanting thriller that rouses your senses and leaves you wanting for more. Pure entertainment. A must have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    MJ has done it again. Marvelous love story that takes you back i

    MJ has done it again. Marvelous love story that takes you back in time to the beginning of a love that transcends countries, families. Sensual, riviting this book will stay in your mind long after you have finished reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Wonderful story

    This book takes you back and forth through the centuries, Paris as it was then, and the mind of the great writer Victor Hugo. It gives insight into the past and the deepest levels of human communication and awareness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have mixed feelings about this book. I received a free copy fr

    I have mixed feelings about this book. I received a free copy from GoodReads First Reads in exchange for review. A couple friends have recommended M.J. Rose to me for awhile now but, when I requested this book, I wasn't aware that the story is a spin-off from a series. The book does stand on its own but I don't think I should have starting reading Ms. Rose's work with this book.

    I was fascinated by the perfume-making, and wanted more of that storyline than was provided here. I may give the rest of the series a chance just so I can read more about that aspect of the main female character, Jac L'Etoile. It was cool and new, something that's not been a million times.

    Every page drips with Gothic Romanticism. Highly recommended for fans of the genre. I found it difficult to relate to the characters, especially Lucifer because I expect Lucifer to be more of a b'dass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    What is the power of seduction, is it a willing lover, calling y

    What is the power of seduction, is it a willing lover, calling you to their bed, or your hearts desire. For many people they would believe the devil is in the details. In this book the author looks into the desires of the heart and mind. This is an interesting take on a mystery. One set in the 1850's with notable character of Victor Hugo, looking at his desire to see his lost daughter. The other set in modern times, with Jac L'Etoile, longs for an explanation to the hallucinations that have plagued her since the death of her mother. Both following Celtic ruins and ghost stories. Set in the mysterious sea bound island of Jersey. A third section in 56 ad with the Celtic people, looking at the seduction of grief, and the guilt of the individual. This a deep and meaningful book, with in sites into Psychology, Anthropology, Archaeology, and the A cult. The History and the people of Jersey, and the individual struggles of men over time like Victor Hugo. With fresh snippets of information about art, jewelers, and perfume that make the reader dive into the well developed characters, and hope for the best of out comes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    I received an advance copy of this book from Net Galley. I thou

    I received an advance copy of this book from Net Galley. I thought I'd read all of The Reincarnationist series, but apparently I missed the one before this; however, the author gives enough backstory so that I wasn't lost when reading this novel.

    I had mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand, I've always been fascinated by reincarnation ever since I saw the movie The Reincarnation of Peter Proud on TV years ago and read the book Audrey Rose by Frank De Felitta. The three other books I've read in The Reincarnationist series were very interesting and enjoyable, and so was this one - at the beginning. Somewhere in the middle of the book, the story seemed to take another path, like it had lost its way.

    The mysterious and Gothic setting was very appealing to me, and I liked the supernatural elements included in the book; however, the story could have been shortened, and the storyline with Jac and Theo seemed to drag. Before it was over, I really didn't care for either of them. I was expecting an electrifying ending, but that was also disappointing and just left me questioning the point of the whole book. With the other two storylines, Victor Hugo and Owain and Gwenore, I knew they had to be connected somehow and had my suspicions but, again, the explanation at the end was very anticlimactic.

    Maybe if I'd read the book before this one, I'd feel differently but, overall, I felt the story lacked development and the purpose of some characters and connections wasn't made clear.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Lovely

    Cant believe this series over!! Sad...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1