Customer Reviews for

The Seduction of Elliot McBride

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    The Seduction of Elliot McBride is book 5 in the Highland Pleasu

    The Seduction of Elliot McBride is book 5 in the Highland Pleasures (or Mackenzies) series and the story centers around Lady Ainsley Mackenzie's brother, Elliot McBride, and her dear friend, Juliana St. John. When Juliana is jilted at the alter, Elliot is quick to jump at her suggestion that they marry and insists on completing the ceremony that same day. Little did Juliana know that Elliot had actually come to the wedding in order to stop it and claim Juliana as his own. The couple travels to their newly purchased ramshackle house in the wilds of northern Scotland, where they struggle to overcome Elliot's PTSD, blackmailers and assassins from Elliot's past in India.

    We only get cameo's from the fabulous Mackenzies family but Jennifer Ashley did it again. She's created another troubled character that has made me fall hopelessly in love. If there's ever a character to rival my darling Lord Ian, then it's going to be Elliot McBride. Ms. Ashley is truly gifted in portraying these strong men with their personal demons, for which we in the modern age have diagnoses and acronyms yet are simply termed madness in the 1880's. She is equally adept at creating strong, determined, and fiercely loyal ladies to love and support these dear lads.

    Jennifer Ashley is rapidly becoming one of my top authors no matter what genre she writes and she has series in quite a few writing as either Jennifer Ashley or Allyson James. She creates worlds that pull you in and make you never want to leave. The characters are well written and endearing. Her Highland Pleasures is at the very top of my historical romance list and it should be on yours as well.

    The next installment of the Highland Pleasures series is The Wicked Deeds of Daniel Mackenzie coming out in October 2013.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    4.75 Another fabulous book in The MacKenzie series. Jennifer Ash

    4.75
    Another fabulous book in The MacKenzie series. Jennifer Ashley never fails to deliver an emotionally charged book. Elliot and Julianna have loved each other from afar since they were children. Elliot leaves England around age 18 to join the Raj and after to make his fortune in India and is gone for years. Julianna only hears of Elliot thru Ansley her best friend and Elliot's sister. While in India Elliot disappears for almost a year and when he returns he's a broken man but determined to be well again and make Julianna his. 
    Elliot is a troubled soul and Julianna is a strong highland lass. Together they show each other how to heal and live life. You will fall in love with every character in this book. You will laugh and cry during this emotional ride and read some of the hottest sex in this series. I loved it and I can't wait to read Daniels book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Another Success for Jennifer Ashley. I love the entire series b

    Another Success for Jennifer Ashley. I love the entire series but my favorite is 'The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie'

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE OF THE SERIES!!! Wow, I wasn't planning o

    MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE OF THE SERIES!!! Wow, I wasn't planning on liking this one the best, but it has stolen my heart and tugged on all my emotions. How my heart ached for Elliot and the PTSD, which back when this story is taking place, wasn't known. I loved the strength of Juliana and the patience and love she shown Elliot. I don't want potential readers to think this story is depressing, far from it. It is about people overcoming the most tragic of events in their lives, or at least attempting too. I loved this story so much. Trust me, you will be on a roller coaster of emotions, which ends with a warm feeling. A lot of the character's from previous stories make an appearance, as they have in rest of the series. The love making is inspiring, well written and not the erotica type. (ljb)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Gotta love a man in a kilt!

    At first I thought it was going to be like Ian's and Beth's story ( which is one of my favs) but it definitely stands all on its own!
    Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lovely romance

    Another fantastic addition to the series. I was unsure of the author straying away from the main family as main characters but the story is fantastic regardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    I loved it. I loved how it begins and how it ended you will love

    I loved it. I loved how it begins and how it ended you will love this book and you would keep reading it over and over again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Super

    This is such a fantastic book . Juliana and Elliott's story is a longtime love story and the trials they go through to help Elliott recover or cope with his trauma from being in prison in India.... All the stories and characters in each of the Highland Pleasures Series book were great ! Worth reading over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    OK

    Story could have been great but a lot of pages were sex scenes or thinking about sex scenes - seems a cheap way to put pages in a book. I like more character and more story development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    highly recommend

    very good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Well written but depressing ....................................

    Well written but depressing ...............................................................................................................................
    First off I don't get the title. What seduction? She had him from hello. Secondly-- I don't mind explicit love scenes but I do hate repetition. Every time they had sex you got a blow by blow description---no pun intended---from the first button to the last gasp. This was repeated every few chapters with of course some location changes--indoor --outdoor --dining room --bedroom etc.etc. And third--and this is just a personal peeve -- I don't like torture described in detail. That's why I read romance novels I guess. I hope the last is not a spoiler but if I had known torture was described I would have skipped this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Review

    I can't believe I wasted money on this dumb book. It is so cliched. I'm not saying that I'm a great writer but I can definetley write better than this nonsense. As usual the main female character is super annoying and Elliot was too. The author ends each chapter with what they thought was suspense even though it was all really just stupid. I would never reccomend this book for its weak plot as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Loved it!

    Another great book in the MacKenzie family series. Her men always seem tormented in some manner but love saves them. Can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Wonderful book! I love these Scots!

    This was a touching story about true love! I especially liked the female character. She was strong and understanding and pretty darn couragous herself. Wonderful book, and look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but not great

    While an engaging read, this work does not equal the others in the Mackenzie series. It is interesting to note that Ms. Ashley has dealt with OCD, HFA (high functioning autism), and, now, PTSD. She is getting full use of the DSMV-IV.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Excellent

    Jennifer does it again. I highly recommend this book, in fact the entire series. Looking forward to Daniels story. Would love to read more about the McBrides, maybe Sinclair, a widower with 2 children looking for a governess thats a keeper, oh the literary possiblities..Keep up the excellent work Jennifer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    To peter

    Yep i mean i still kinda like alex but i dont think that we should date again until tommy gets his head glued back on... so whats the question! Wait was that the question.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Great Story

    This was my new author find to start 2013- it was a great story and I intend to read many more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Never never never disappoints!!!!!

    Best series, each book keeps you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I have yet to read a book of Ms Ashley that wasn't good . This b

    I have yet to read a book of Ms Ashley that wasn't good . This book I started this morning and had to read it to the end. Was disappointed I had no more time to be with Juliana and Elliot. They were a wonderful
    couple. His struggle to be well and neither of them realizing they had cared for the other since childhood. The Highland setting was wonderful and characters from prior books were there. Highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3