Customer Reviews for

The Seduction of Miss Amelia Bell

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    I have been anticipating Edmund┬┐s book since he first appeared i

    I have been anticipating Edmund’s book since he first appeared in Colin’s story,having the monsters chased from his room. Even though Edmund isn’t related to the MacGregor’s by blood, he is the son of Colin’s wife Gillian. He was readily adopted into the clan at age 4. Edmund has grown to be a man of honor and courage, just as his adopted father. He and his cousins are determined to stop the progress of a treaty that would join England and Scotland. This band of brothers were fighting hard and covertly.

    Amelia was to be married. Her father assured her that marrying the Chancellor of Scotland, she was helping the family. Amelia adored her father and agreed, even though she didn’t like the man they chose. In fact, the only people who liked him was her mother and her uncle the duke. Extremely accident prone, Amelia was made to feel that she was worthless by most everyone. Her mother was especially cruel. Amelia’s only solace was her friend Sarah, a servant and although Amelia didn’t care about that, her mother did. Amelia dreamed of being away with a brave and true man, like the beautiful statue of David in her mother’s garden, someone who could slay all of her giants and protect her. But that could never happen.

    Edmund and his cousins decided that the quickest way to stop the last of the signatures on the treaty, was to kidnap the niece of the duke, she also happened to be the fiancé of one of the signers, quite a boon! Disguised, they invited themselves to Amelia's engagement party. The kidnapping was successful. Little did Edmund know that Amelia would affect him the way she did. What started off as a kidnapping for a great cause, soon turned into two people discovering that there was more to life than a cause, a country, or what others had planned for them.

    Though this book focused on Edmund and Amelia, it also included love interests and an HEA for other characters. This book flowed so smoothly, that when the new romance happened, it was perfect timing and you didn’t feel deprived from the main characters. I adore the men that Paula writes. They are the men that I dreamed of loving as a child; bold, strong, loving and caring, with just a hint of bad! Oh and did I mention really gorgeous?

    I thought at first that I didn’t like Amelia very much. Oh, I had the giggles during a few of her misadventures, and felt sorry for her during others. But when she turned wishy-washy I thought, “oh no!” I just don’t like that. Then I thought about her life. Her mother treated her as if she were worthless. Her only solace was her secret friend and at times her father. I understood. What do I love about Paula’s books? Not only do they entertain me with the hottest men I’ve ever dreamed of, but she makes me think! She intricately weaves history in with fiction. She makes it come alive, to the point that I find myself laughing and crying, gasping… holding my breath along with the characters. They become real!

    Without question Paula Quinn’s books are on my auto-buy list. I buy not only the written book, but also the Ebook! Print for my Keeper Shelf and one that I will read over and over again. My advice is to quickly buy at least one for yourself! You won’t be disappointed. The Highland Heirs series is a stand-alone series and it isn’t necessary to read either the MacGregor or Children of the Mist Series prior to reading this book, however, if I were you I would read the whole series when I finished. Why? Because this is a fabulous series, that’s why!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    THE SEDUCTION OF MISS AMELIA BELL by Paula Quinn is an exciting

    THE SEDUCTION OF MISS AMELIA BELL by Paula Quinn is an exciting Scottish Historical Romance set in Eighteen century Scotland. First in "The MacGregors: Highland Heirs" new series and what a beginning!

    "A Highland rogue and an Adventurous Lady"

    This is the tale of Edmund MacGregor, a Highlander,who wishes to keep the sovereignty of his nation(Scotland) and Lady Amelia Bell, who is the niece of the 2nd Duke of Queensberry, and MacGregor clan nemesis, and who is betrothed to Lord Chancellor of Scotland, Earl of Seafield, whom she doesn't want to marry. What a tale!

    Fast paced and passion filled! What an adventure!

    Filled with passion, romance, danger, a kidnapping for ransom, the quest to save Scotland from English rule, revenge, danger, a kidnapping for ransom that turns into so much more. Oh, did I forgot to mention love and passion! The secondary characters are entertaining and engaging as well. I loved Sarah, Amelia's best friend and ladies maid and Edmund's cousin, Luke. They make a wonderful couple. Then you have Malcolm, another cousin, can't wait to see who will capture his heart, but I think I might know who that will be,hopefully. Than there is Darach, the youngest MacGregor, oh he is adorable.

    The neighboring clan, the Buchanan's. Oh and you have Lady Amelia's papa, who loves her dearly, and will do what he has to, in order to save his beloved daughter. And her mother, who I disliked immensely. What a not so lady, she was or is! I would have like to see her get her upcomings.

    I absolutely loved this tale of intrigue and romance. A must read! I can hardly wait for the next installment. Ms. Quinn is a true storyteller. I would highly recommend "THE SEDUCTION OF MISS AMELIA BELL" to anyone who enjoys Scottish Warriors, Highlanders, a struggle with emotions, drama, and feisty Lasses. Received for an honest review.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A sweet, hot, and absolutely fantastic historical romance, The S

    A sweet, hot, and absolutely fantastic historical romance, The Seduction of Miss Amelia Bell was a wonderful read. I loved this book! It was lovely from start to finish and I enjoyed every bit of it.

    Amelia was a wonderful heroine. She was very loyal to those she cared about and often thought of their needs first (which was both admirably selfless and frustrating, when she got into her head that she needed to sacrifice herself for their happiness). She was stronger than she first seemed, particularly when she decided it was time to fight for what she wanted. I really liked her. I thought she was a lovely character.

    Edmund was also great. He was so sweet and intensely loyal to what he believed in, but even more so to those he loved. He had his own code of honor and was noble enough to follow it no matter what. He was perfect and I absolutely adored him.

    The romance was lovely. Amelia and Edmund were so sweet together. I loved how they instantly had a connection and simply understood each other. And, the chemistry between them was sizzling from the moment they met. There was definitely some spice to go along with the sweet. I thought they were a wonderful couple.

    The plot was fast paced and I was hooked the entire way through. There were a few twists that kept me riveted. I loved all the secondary characters and I'm excited to read their stories in the upcoming books. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was perfect.

    The Seduction of Miss Amelia Bell was a fantastic historical romance. I absolutely loved this book and I enjoyed it from start to finish. Romance lovers, this is a book you won't want to miss.

    *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    Captivating Scottish adventure! OMG! What a great medieval Scott

    Captivating Scottish adventure! OMG! What a great medieval Scottish romance to enjoy! I have just finished reading Paula Quinn’s first book THE SEDUCTION OF MISS AMELIA BELL in her new series The MacGregors: Highland Heirs. This book had every element to please me, a highlander, passion and adventure. If you have read her previous series Children of the Mist; then you will be delighted to read Edmund’s story, eldest son of Colin MacGregor and Gillian, her two main characters in her fourth book Conquered by a Highlander. It’s an amazing introduction to her new series that you really don’t want to miss. Edmund shared his family’s love of Scotland and the only way to save his country, was to dissolve the treaty. To do so, he needed to kidnap the young and beautiful Amelia in exchange for a ransom. On the other hand, to respect her parent’s wish, Amelia accepts to be betrothed to the Lord Chancellor of Scotland, a man she doesn’t love. Then the adventure begins…Will the captor fall in love with his charming captive? Will he be true to the new woman that entered his life or to his beloved Scotland? This story is fast paced, very well written and fun to read! Some scenes have a touch of humor! Let yourself be pulled into Edmund and Amelia’s romantic Scottish story filled with tenderness and passion. Beware, once you start to read it, there is no way you will be able to put it down! Paula Quinn is a very descriptive writer of little details that makes Scotland’s history fascinating to discover. I highly recommend this book THE SEDUCTION OF MISS AMELIA BELL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks! Man that was one amazing h

    5 out of 5 for this reader folks!




    Man that was one amazing highland read!  Everything that I treasure in a historical/medieval/highland romance novel was present.  You will find friendly banter among the warriors (speaks volumes of the kinship they feel towards on another), a feisty and easy to love heroine and her down to earth sidekick, one HOT leader who is captivated by this feisty heroine but has to stick to a code or sorts as opposed to falling in love with her, action packed battle, dreadful antagonists and a setting so beautifully described you are left with a stunning image in your mind.  PERFECT MIX! :)




    The Seduction of Miss Amelia Bell by Paula Quinn is the first book of her new The MacGregors: Highland Heirs series.  I have not read anything previous of Paula Quinn's but I will say that I am bumping up her series on my TBR list.  This series is a spin off of her previous series that feature the children of previous couples.  I an excited to go back and read all about how they came to exist!




    Edmund MacGregor is the epitome of a highland warrior.  He is brave, strong, handsome, feared, deceptive as required, patriotic, and will do anything and everything he can to prevent a treaty from being signed allowing England to official own Scotland ... even kidnap the daughter of a duke and the betrothed to a Chancellor who will be in attendance to this signing.  Hoping to use this woman to force his enemies hands, it is quite ironic that it turns out it is his hand that is forced .... in love.




    Amelia is a sweet beauty who lives her life loyal to her family.  Haunted by "bad luck" she is somewhat looked as an disaster in the making but absolutely treasured by her father.  When she is told to marry for the benefit of her country, she is prepared to do her duty.  When she meets a visitor and experiences a stolen heart stopping embrace with him, her whole world is about to be turned upside down.  Especially when her visitor kidnaps her and shows his true intent.




    Throughout this novel we experience a wonderful story of how these two fight, embrace, admire, regard, love, and understand each other.  You can see where the conflict of "how can we be together" arises and how they get to a point where they know they want to overcome it.  Supported by cast of secondary characters that add their own spice to this story, these two go on a remarkable journey together.




    If you love a good highlander novel, you have to check this book out!  I was absolutely satisfied by the time the last page was read!  LOL




    HAPPY READING! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    Give me a book that involves romnce and Scottish Highlanders, an

    Give me a book that involves romnce and Scottish Highlanders, and I’m a happy woman! “The Seduction of Miss Amelia Bell” by Paula Quinn definitely hits the mark with this great historical romance. The characters are great, and both Amelia and Edmund are people who you can relate to and root for. I love Amelia’s passionate nature and her rebellious side. You can’t help but like her. Edmund is the typical rogue at first, until he falls hard for Amelia. The writing style is great, and there is the perfect mixture of romance and action going on. I hate romance novels that are like one giant orgy, this one has some steamy sex scenes, but evens it out with an actual story line that is easy to follow. The sexual tension between Amelia and Edmund is thick, and as a reader you’re on the edge of your seat waiting for and wanting something to happen between them. The wait is worth it though, because when they do finally hook up, it is a steamy scene. I like that the writer also followed Amelia’s servant Sarah’s life in this novel. It wasn’t all about Amelia and Edmund, it also brought other characters stories into this novel. 




    I would definitely recommend this novel to all lovers of historical romance novels. Paula Quinn definitely has a knack when it comes to writing well-balanced romance novels. If you get a little hot thinking about Scottish Highlanders in their sexy kilts, than this novel is definitely for you!




    I give “The Seduction of Miss Amelia Bell” a FIVE out of FIVE stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    Paula creates characters that sweep you up and place you within

    Paula creates characters that sweep you up and place you within the MacGregor Clan. We were
    1st introduced to Edmund when he was a small boy in "Conquered by a Highlander". It was
    heartwarming to read of the man he became. Romance, Honor, and Family are integral themes
    throughout all of Paula's books and she never disappoints. Her stories flow seamlessly and her
    characters leave such a mark that you don't need a cliff note to remind you of who they are or where
    you last encountered them. You can read this book as a stand alone, but I highly encourage you to go
    back to the beginning, "Laird of the Mist", and get to know the MacGregors and the Grants. You will find
    yourself wearing a genuine smile as you read and will also find yourself dreaming of going to Scotland to
    see for yourself the landscape theses heroes and heroines have loved on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1